We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place for the weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“nice place for the weekend”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Recently stayed at this B & B for a wedding weekend in early fall. Comfortable accommodations. Bathrooms small but all that is needed is there and clean as a new penny. Great water pressure and top flight towels. Breakfasts were very good and Hosts, Bob and Sue, are lovely. Within easy walking distance of everything in the village which is a big plus when traffic picks up. Good value for the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    13
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
50
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you think you would like the experience of a “welcome home” feeling when visiting Woodstock Vermont, then you definitely want to stay at Canterbury House. You will be greeted by two exceptionally gracious, warm, and unpretentious hosts, Sue and Bob, who will make every effort to make your stay in and around Woodstock memorable.
My husband and I have visited VT on many occasions and accidently found Canterbury House in July 2012. We only needed it for one night at that time so we made sure to stay there again this past weekend. The experience has been the same; we once again had a great stay.
Each morning Sue prepared a fabulous breakfast that not only tasted good but was also presented as if ready for a magazine shoot. The breakfast is at 8:30 but there is freshly brewed coffee available at 7:30.
This B&B is located in town within short walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, etc. It is also a short drive to many other attractions.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable. This time we took the least expensive one that is facing the main road. There was some light traffic, but was not a problem as our room had a window A/C unit, and was quiet with the windows closed. Our room was nicely decorated and worked great for us but, if you are a large tall person, you may find the bathroom a bit small. This is nothing unusual for B&B in an older house, especially those with reasonable prices, but I think that Canterbury House does have some rooms with bigger baths so you may want to ask when making reservations.
There are other similarly priced B&Bs in VT that do provide comfortable sleeping and enjoyable breakfast but they do not have innkeepers such as Sue and Bob. We cannot say enough nice things about Canterbury House in beautiful Woodstock Vermont and can’t wait to go back. Hope you too enjoy your stay.
Kathy & Glenn

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland CT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Canterbury House for Wassail Weekend in December. This was our fourth stay here and we keep coming back due to the exceptional innkeepers, Sue and Bob. Their warmth, enthusiasm and enjoyment of what they do is evident from the moment you enter their B & B. We were astounded that Sue had kept a record that my husband likes hot oatmeal for breakfast which she cheerfully provided for him. The rooms are comfortable and very clean and the living room with fireplace was a relaxing place to read. We like that we can park the car and walk to everything in Woodstock. The delicious breakfasts with Sue's cute Santa sleighs at each place setting and the enjoyable conversations with the other guests made the weekend even better! We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTtraveler002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Canterbury House and would have been happy to have stayed longer. Our hosts made us feel very welcome and were very friendly and accomodating when our breakfast plans kept changing due to a balloon flight being cancelled. The location is perfect, in walking distance to the centre of Woodstock and plenty of places to eat.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is our second time staying at Bob and Sue's B&B and we were just as pleased as we were the first time. The rooms are lovely, breakfasts are fabulous and the location is excellent (you can walk to the town center in 5 minutes). Most importantly, Bob and Sue are excellent hosts and sincerely care about their guests. Conversations over breakfast are a highlight - they can give you a thorough assessment of the area whether it be for restaurants, shops, attractions or if you're thinking about relocation. The town itself is charming and you're within an hour's drive of many major Vermont/NH areas.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but one in particular has a small sitting area with a TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgdillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We enjoyed spending our 3 days (9/19-21) on our 3 week trip. The hosts are very friendly and knowledgeable of not only things to do in Woodstock but all of central Vermont. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable (Parson's room). We like being within walking distance to everything in wonderful Woodstock. The breakfasts were very delicious and we had great conversations with our hosts and other guests which was a very nice way to begin our day. We appreciated the restuarant recommendations...all were excellent! We took moring walks on the trails within the local park which had spectular views overlooking Woodstock.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in rooms away from the busy road as they are much quieter. The Pason room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redrob45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We arrived after a long drive in horrible weather from Boston, following our flight from London, and Bob & Sue couldn't have been more accomodating. Our room was beautiful, lovely and cool and I couldn't wait to get in the beautiful bath tub! Breakfast's were delicious and they had great tips for places and restaurants to see. We just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surbitonsunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
2.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
0.2 mi away
The Charleston House
The Charleston House
#6 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 43 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1129
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing