We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the two of us...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 15 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 7th anniversary by visiting Woodstock and staying at the Canterbury House for only one night. We chose the Monks Tale for our room and it was perfect. The room was warm and cozy and the bathroom was lovely with its blue toile theme. We appreciated having the ability to come and go as we pleased with our own entrance and enjoyed having a private bathroom with a claw foot tub. Although the air-conditioning was not in place for such a warm weekend, the room cooled down in the evening and made for pleasant sleeping conditions. The bed was very comfortable as well.
Bob and Sue were excellent hosts. Even though we already had our itinerary planned, they helped make the weekend flow even more smoothly, from mapping out a bike route to Quechee Gorge to researching the Sunday service schedule at St. James. The French toast breakfast with bacon and fresh fruit was delicious and helped fill us up in preparation for our hike up Mt. Tom later that day. Despite being the only couple in attendance, our breakfast conversation with our hosts flowed easily as we swapped many entertaining stories. Since checkout was at 10:30, Sue and Bob offered their office as space for us to change from church to hiking clothes and made sure we had full water bottles before saying good-bye. For being one of the less-expensive inns in Woodstock, they sure delivered an above-average experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank road_trip_yes_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 69 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2012

This quaint B & B is very well located, a few minutes from Woodstock main street. Bob is a wonderful host with a fertile sense of humour. He and his wife could not be better accommodating and the breakfast environment is something to look forward to. We are from Australia and were thrilled to meet the hosts and fellow guests from NY and NJ. We would recommend this inn to anybody contemplating a stay in Woodstock vt.

Room Tip: the rear room has an outside entrance so you might ask for inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livininthe70s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Canterbury House for two nights so she could enjoy the Spa at the nearby (and much pricier) Woodstock Inn and we loved it! The innkeepers, Bob and Sue, are so friendly and attentive, they made us feel at home as soon as we walked in the door. My wife had a 9:00 AM appointment at the spa on Sunday morning and, even though breakfast is usually served at 8:30, they told us to come down at 8:00 so she would be able to get there in time for her appointment. They also gave us great ideas for things to do in the area while we were there. They even provided me with a bottle opener and a glass one night so I could sample some of the local beer that I bought in the village.

The inn itself is located very close to the village center so we were able to keep our car in the driveway for the entire two days and walk everywhere. It was only about a 10 minute walk to the shops and restaurants in the village so it is in a great spot.

We stayed in the Squire's Tale and we were very pleased. It is in the back of the house so you don't hear any street noise and it has a large sitting area so you can spread out and relax. The only small complaint we had about the room was that the bathroom door is a split door and it was loud to open and close so it could wake someone up if you used it at night. But that is a small issue for an otherwise beautiful and comfortable room.

In summary, it's a beautiful inn in a great location with wonderful hosts. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amory67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Bob & Sue know how to welcome guests in a friendly non-intrusive manner into 'their' home that becomes 'your' home.
They are forthcoming with useful local information on an area of which they are proud and involved. Yummy breakfasts where you meet and chat with fellow travellers.
We are more than happy to recommend Canterbury House B&B for your stay in Woodstock

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

A warm friendly place to stay. Like being at home!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We had a wonderful time. This was our first time staying at a bed & breakfast and didn't know quite what to expect. Bob and Sue were warm and welcoming. Sue's breakfasts were delicious with generous portions and we enjoyed the conversations with the other guests as well as Bob and Sue. Loved the Woodstock area in general - lots to see and do. Would love to come back in the fall to view the foliage. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Squires Tale room which was very comfortable. This was on the second floor, with a tv a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We have stayed in Woodstock, Vermont for years but had never stayed at the Canterbury House. It is just what you would hope a B&B would be. Period decorated, quaint and immaculate with friendly but not intrusive hosts and a breakfast that can take you all the way to dinner! We met some wonderful people at breakfast, which just adds to the B&B experience. We will definitely stay here again when we visit Woodstock.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B_Frequent_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
4.4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
296 reviews
2.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
454 reviews
0 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Charleston House
The Charleston House
#7 of 15 in Woodstock
161 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 15 in Woodstock
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 43 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1129
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: $85 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing