We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Kept Secret - Amazing Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Applebutter Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Applebutter Inn
Ranked #9 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Best Kept Secret - Amazing Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed at the Appplebutter at the last minute while traveling through Woodstock. Barbara & Mike were the perfect hosts. They made me feel warm and welcome. It felt like coming home. Upon arriving Barbara had made fresh baked cookies. They had great suggestions of where to go for dinner and attractions to see the next day. The breakfast was delicious. It is a 2 minute walk to the Taftsville covered bridge where I was able to do a nice long run along the river. The rooms are beautiful and there are numerous warm, cozy sitting areas downstairs to just sit back and relax with a good book. I would highly recommend the Applebutter Inn and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
124
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We spent 3 wonderful days at the Applebutter Inn. Barbara and Michael made us feel like we were at home with gracious hospitality. Upon arrival we walked into this cozy and welcoming Inn with the aroma of fresh baked chocolate chunk cookies. Our room was tastefully decorated with a fireplace. The breakfasts was like an opulent feast. Everything baked was fresh and from local farms. Our hosts were also very helpful in answering questions, making reservations and planning day events. I look forward to returning to visit again next year. We highly recommend the Applebutter Inn if you are visiting this area.

Room Tip: All rooms looked inviting. But I especially enjoyed large room with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemarie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I've stayed at the Applebutter Inn a number of times and Michael and Barbara are always the perfect hosts! The ambience is charming, the rooms are lovely and cozy, with all the amenities anyone could want, the town of Woodstock is beautiful and quintessentially New England, and THE BREAKFAST IS TO DIE FOR!! Anyone wanting to get away from the rat race and relax in a charming Inn with charming hosts should spend time here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We just spent two wonderful days at the Applebutter Inn. Barbara and Michael couldn't have made us feel more at home with their gracious hospitality. The breakfasts they prepared were outstanding and incredibly filling. You will not walk away hungry. In addition Barbara and Michael are a great resource for things to do and places to visit. We stayed in the King David room and it was quite spacious. We were even able to use the screened in porch just off the room, which had a nice view of the property. All-in-all we highly recommend the Applebutter Inn if you are visiting the Woodstock, VT area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryG0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We came to Vermont for 3 days XCountry skiing in Woodstock the last week of February, and were disappointed that we were unable to ski due to bitterly cold days and icy conditions on the trails. But we ended up having fun anyway due in large part to our hosts Barbara and Michael. We had one of the larger rooms, very comfortable, with a fireplace. The innkeepers made us feel not only welcome but that they were having as much fun as we were. My wife mentioned in passing that she loved rice pudding. the next morning, our breakfast included rice pudding(and the recipe). We also admired the color of the house next door, and when we left, Barbara handed us the formula for the paint her neighbors had used. Needless to say, you don't get this kind of service and personal attention staying at one of the large hotels in the area, although you do get to pay a lot more.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are upstairs, and like all old homes, there's a long narrow staircase. They do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpugdeeeqazzzxvbbbbmmlkkii88z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Applebutter Inn is the ideal getaway destination; we spent two nights here between Christmas and New Year's and arrived home totally relaxed! Barbara and Michael are the perfect hosts and have created an inviting home-away-from -home for their guests. We feasted on generous breakfasts that included a fresh fruit cup and flaky scone or blueberry muffin, followed by a filling entre, such as crème brulee French toast. Yummy! By late afternoon, when we returned to the Inn from a day's activities, the self-serve coffee/tea/hot chocolate table also offered a fresh baked goody; powdery butter cookies one day, spicy gingerbread bars the next.
Our room, the King David, had a remote-controlled gas fireplace, which was a cozy feature that contrasted with the snow falling outside our windows. In addition, we felt quite papered by the luxurious bed and bath linens and plush, sleep-inducing mattress. An unexpected treat the morning after the snowstorm was to find all the guests' cars had been thoughtfully cleared of the snow and ice: surprise valet service!
We stayed at the Applebutter Inn a few years ago and are so glad we found our way back. We're already looking forward to a third visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankandJanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Barbara and Michael are wonderful hosts. Their inn was comfortable and more than accommodating and the breakfast was INCREDIBLE! It is ideally located just minutes from downtown Woodstock as well as the many things to do in Quechee, VT. I would absolutely, 110% recommend this B & B to anyone looking for a one day or week long stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King David room and although it was small, it had everything my fiance and I needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeA1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
4.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
2.1 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
2.9 mi away
Woodstocker Inn
Woodstocker Inn
#3 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applebutter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applebutter Inn

Property: Applebutter Inn
Address: 75 Happy Valley Rd # 11, PO Box 395, Woodstock, VT 05091-7400
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Applebutter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Applebutter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applebutter Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing