We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“506 on the River - Great for families!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
506 On The River Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We always knew we wanted to visit Woodstock, VT. We have heard such great things about it. We finally decided to take a road trip north when our friends told us about this wonderful new family owned Inn "On the River".

We drove into Woodstock, after many hours on the road, with two very tired children and found the hotel without any trouble. It is right on the river, as the name suggests, and just a few miles from town.

We checked in smoothly. The receptionist was very welcoming. We were told that it was "burger" night" in the restaurant. That was a big hit with the kids so we quickly decided that we would not have to go out again, but that we would stay there for dinner.

After unloading the bags we went to the restaurant. Lively jazz was playing in the bar. There seemed to be a bit of a local buzz in the bar. The decor was so cool! Old barn wood and leather couches....it was so inviting after traveling all day. I remember my husband saying he wished that we had a babysitter for the night. It was such a great spot to hang out and have a drink!

Now here comes the family friendly part. The kids discovered an awesome game room in the hotel. They had old pinball machines and air hockey. The kids loved it - so of course - so did we! One of the waitresses said it was a family owned hotel and that the owners have young kids so they understand what families need when they are traveling.

I would highly recommend 506 On the River for any family (or couple) traveling through Woodstock. We even went into the river in front of the hotel with the kids. I am not sure we were supposed to - but we did.

We will definitely visit Woodstock again and definitely stay at 506 On the River Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bushbabykenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 463 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had dinner here recently and it was excellent. We sat at the bar and enjoyed service from Max. The ambiance is intimate and sophisticated. Max also showed us a room after dinner and we would consider staying here when we visit Woodstock in the future. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank SweeneyBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We just stayed for a long weekend. We came up from Rhode Island and brought our dogs. The Inn is beautifully done, with the hospitality of a B&B. The staff really went out of their way. The location is on a river, very scenic. Excellent food, all home cooked. We definitely plan on coming back!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pccailym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had a really nice stay in this new Inn very close to downtown Woodstock. It has a great location, on Rt. 4, delicious food with innovative culinary dishes which were not overpriced, free full breakfast with homemade danishes, warm staff and a game room for the kids. The rooms had new comfy beds, very clean bathrooms and a porch overlooking the Ottauquechee River and nearby hills that bring you close to nature which allowed us to relax. We will definitely stay again and recommend to others!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Real nice and clean new hotel not too far from downtown Woodstock. Very good country breakfast. Only issue, AC did not work overnight, only to learn the wall unit is inop when base unit has tripped its circuit breaker. Unknown to us, but the hotel staff knows, their AC units pop the CB frequently. You have to reset CB on the plug that goes into wall socket. We learned that after we got up. Luckily it was a cool evening and we opened the deck door to have the frogs lull us to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed for two nights and were pleased to find a new place to stay in Woodstock. The room was nicely appointed, with a comfortable bed and a large and well-designed bathroom. The common area is beautiful -- replete with leather couches and quaint decor. The complimentary breakfast is a welcome treat. After a long day, with no desire to look for reservations in town, we opted to eat at the hotel and were pleasantly surprised. The menu is simple but the food is very flavorful and not expensive at all. The staff is welcoming and a pleasure to talk to. Will be back when we travel to Woodstock. The only criticism I have is that the management needs to landscape the back of the hotel. The area abutting the back room porches looked unkept with a large "pond" that looked like a watering hole and appeared to emit an unpleasant odor in the summer heat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

... the Inn is just lovely. Close to Woodstock and Vt's outdoors (skiing, hiking, fly fishing, etc). We didn't stay there but had drinks and dessert with friends and then back for breakfast - delicious! The staff was happy to help with anything we needed. The rooms are nice and our friend's kids loved the playrooms!

Room Tip: River side - upper levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DLJ802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.5 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
358 reviews
15.4 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
292 reviews
1.8 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
540 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
0.2 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 15 in Woodstock
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 506 On The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 506 On The River Inn

Address: 1653 W Woodstock Rd, Woodstock, VT 05091-3128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: $167 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 506 On The River Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
506 On The River Inn lies on six acres of beautiful grounds close to the Village of Woodstock. This newly opened 30 room Inn is beautifully designed celebrating Vermont with unique vintage pieces to showcase a rustic elegance. Warm hospitality, a relaxed elegance and premium rooms with river views and a multitude of facilities make it the perfect place to experience the very best of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your 506 On The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing