We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Grist Mill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grist Mill House
Ranked #13 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Scituate
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Having stayed at the Grist Mill House on several different occasions, in each of the three rooms, enjoyed a full variety of the breakfasts that Peter Pickett creates (and we think they compare favorably with the ones I create--and we're very picky), I think we're finally at the point where we can wholeheartedly, without reservations on our part, recommend this B&B. But there are caveats--you cannot be attached to t-v, you cannot be dependent on your cell phone, you cannot require your own separate baths, you cannot be bothered by creaky and sometimes uneven floors. The graciousness of host and hostess (Carole), their willingness to assist in helping you in any way they are able, including very carefully considered dining recommendations, make stays here a true delight.

Room Tip: Each room has its own character--our most recent trip we stayed in the one room (Ruud) we had never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surf City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

What a treat! The Grist Mill is out of the way in horse country about 5 miles from Woodstock, vermont. What makes it special is it was built in 1779. It has WIFI but no TV. The open area has huge ceiling beams and beautiful floors. There are only 3 rooms but well appointed. The atmosphere was quiet and relaxing

Breakfast consisted of coffee/tea, scones and fresh fruit.

The best part was the room rate. All in all a wonderfull place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbell22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed in the Kedron room which was very quirky with its bunk bed and sloping ceilings, but also had a fantastic view overlooking the brook with its therapeutic sounds.

The property has charm and has been beautifully restored with all its beams, low ceilings etc and therefore has vast appeal. It is a short drive in to idyllic Woodstock so it is a good location and also reflects the excellent value for money. This was certainly one of the more picturesque places we stayed in New England.

A few contrary points are that the bathroom is shared between all three bedrooms so that could be up to 8 people which could be interesting! On our bed was a very pretty handmade quilt but there were instructions basically saying not to use it, it was merely for decoration...
I would also say that the owners very much reminded me of the main characters in "One Foot in the Grave"!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyACMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We just finished our seventh trip to New England to enjoy the fall foliage and escape the Texas heat. Thankfully we discovered The Grist Mill on our second visit. This was our sixth stay with Peter and Carole and, like every other time, was superb. They know the area extraordinarily well and always pass on great suggestions.
Each visit we are greeted as old friends, not simply customers. As we entered I looked around the familiar surroundings and told my wife simply,"We're home." Such is the feeling we have for the Inn and Peter & Carole.
Check out the Millers House across the street (part of the inn) for a longer term stay with with a large or multiple families. Extraordinary!!
Only 360 days left until we return. We can't wait!!

Room Tip: Kedron is our favorite but we have stayed in all three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aggiejed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
561 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We had the Kedron room on the second floor which is a small room but very relaxing. If you have this room open up the back window and listen to the flowing brook below. After I listened to the rushing waters awhile my eyes closed and I had the best night's sleep I have ever had at a B&B. In the mourning we went downstairs to a wonderful breakfast. Peter, our host, said he makes a great hot chocolate and believe me he does! Peter and Carole are so nice and very helpful as to what to see and do in their area. It's affordable and relaxing, clean with wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA, USA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was the most interesting B&B we stayed in during our leaf peeping trip to New England in 2010.It was a nice change from Victorian decor. The mill is beautifully restored, the owners welcoming and helpful and the breakfast was delightful. The bathroom is shared but that wasn't a problem during our stay. The stairs are very steep and this wouldn't be a good choice for people with mobility problems. The floors squeak, especially in front of the bathroom, and the doors don't fit well so I thought noise might be a problem, but we barely noticed the other guests, however only two of the three rooms were occupied. It might be different if they had a full house. My biggest issue was the lack of light in the bathroom at night. I took a shower pretty much in the dark! I would prefer a bedspread I could sit on or put my luggage on rather than heirloom quilts that need to be protected.
Still, it was spotlessly clean and we enjoyed the owners (Peter wore bermuda shorts and a bow tie) and the opportunity to stay in a piece of history.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sherive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

a beautifully restored historic home run by the most caring and hospitable couple I have ever encountered. Peter even wore a bowtie to serve us the most elegant breakfast complete with real silver flatware and candles. A must on your trip to Woodstock VT especially for leaf peeping season.
3 groups/couples could rent out whole home for themselves.....what an amazing getaway!

Room Tip: kendron room has a loft bed but it is small...just the bed...fun for an older child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ridethrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
0.0 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
0.0 mi away
The Charleston House
The Charleston House
#6 of 16 in Woodstock
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grist Mill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grist Mill House

Property: Grist Mill House
Address: Rt. 106, P.O. Box 54, South Woodstock, Woodstock, VT 05071
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing