We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely brook,a great night's sleep!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grist Mill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grist Mill House
Ranked #13 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Waterloo, Indiana
Level Contributor
524 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“A lovely brook,a great night's sleep!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We had the Kedron room on the second floor which is a small room but very relaxing. If you have this room open up the back window and listen to the flowing brook below. After I listened to the rushing waters awhile my eyes closed and I had the best night's sleep I have ever had at a B&B. In the mourning we went downstairs to a wonderful breakfast. Peter, our host, said he makes a great hot chocolate and believe me he does! Peter and Carole are so nice and very helpful as to what to see and do in their area. It's affordable and relaxing, clean with wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terrsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was the most interesting B&B we stayed in during our leaf peeping trip to New England in 2010.It was a nice change from Victorian decor. The mill is beautifully restored, the owners welcoming and helpful and the breakfast was delightful. The bathroom is shared but that wasn't a problem during our stay. The stairs are very steep and this wouldn't be a good choice for people with mobility problems. The floors squeak, especially in front of the bathroom, and the doors don't fit well so I thought noise might be a problem, but we barely noticed the other guests, however only two of the three rooms were occupied. It might be different if they had a full house. My biggest issue was the lack of light in the bathroom at night. I took a shower pretty much in the dark! I would prefer a bedspread I could sit on or put my luggage on rather than heirloom quilts that need to be protected.
Still, it was spotlessly clean and we enjoyed the owners (Peter wore bermuda shorts and a bow tie) and the opportunity to stay in a piece of history.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sherive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

a beautifully restored historic home run by the most caring and hospitable couple I have ever encountered. Peter even wore a bowtie to serve us the most elegant breakfast complete with real silver flatware and candles. A must on your trip to Woodstock VT especially for leaf peeping season.
3 groups/couples could rent out whole home for themselves.....what an amazing getaway!

Room Tip: kendron room has a loft bed but it is small...just the bed...fun for an older child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ridethrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

It was beautiful, and clean, and service was good, but for some reason we didn't feel totally comfortable. We felt like we were slightly intruding in their home as we were not sure which areas we were 'allowed' in and also were not able to make our own cup of tea or coffee. We may have felt this way because we were the only guests. This place is almost perfect we just needed to feel more at ease.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimandlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

This 4 day get away with friends for the GMHA Fall Foliage ride IS my vacation. And what a great one it was! We actually stayed at Carole and Peters other house, right across the street, "The Millers House". It is BEAUTIFUL!! Yes, it is "No Shoes" and "No Smoking"... but remember, this is a home built in 1779!!! Let's appreciate all their hard work in restoring it and follow those very simple "house rules." My friends and I stayed 3 nights and were thinking of excuses not to leave, we loved it so much. It felt like HOME from the minute we stepped inside. Thank you, Carole and Pete for preserving a beautiful piece of our American History! Hope to see you again next year!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtoretirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

If you don't mind being served a list of do not's as you enter the door, this is a nice place to stay. Take your shoes off is strictly enforced, and I don't mean taking them off inside the door--one must remove the shoes on the uncovered doorstep and leave them there. I took mine off inside the door and was sharply reprimanded that THRE ARE NO SHOES IN THE MILL! Then--I was welcomed!! DO not sit on the bed--it has a handmade quilt on it--etc, etc, After the list of rules you are most welcomed. . .I will never stay there and will urge 4 of my friends who are going to New England this fall to find a more hospitable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sylvia60992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh,nc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

We loved staying at the Grist Mill Inn. Our great hosts welcomed us and made us feel at home right away. As we were the only ones in the house at the time, we had full run of the top floor. Bedrooms were comfortable and bathroom big and stocked with whatever you needed, Living room comfortable, but who cares when you can spend the evening or mornings outside on the deck looking out at the landscape and creek. Although there weren't alot of restaurants close by our hosts sent us to a neat place for a great burger dinner, about 10 minutes up the road. Breakfast with all things fresh and home baked was supurb! We felt very much at home here. Unfortunately, we only could stay the one night, moving on to the next town, but for all the 8 b&b's we stayed at on our trip, this was our favorite.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swneilsoRaleigh_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
0.0 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Charleston House
The Charleston House
#6 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
0.0 mi away
Woodstocker Inn
Woodstocker Inn
#4 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grist Mill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grist Mill House

Property: Grist Mill House
Address: Rt. 106, P.O. Box 54, South Woodstock, Woodstock, VT 05071
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing