We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, a little light on the portions”
Review of Osteria Pane e Salute - CLOSED

Osteria Pane e Salute
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great food, a little light on the portions”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Italian-inspired menu at Osteria Pane e Salute celebrates Vermonts seasonal and local ingredients that make it to the wooden farm tables in its cosy dining space. Green-painted walls, vases of blooms and foliage, candle light and a very unique wine selection.

Husband and wife team Caleb Barber and Deirdre Heekin regularly travel to Italy for regional food and wine inspiration; bringing back ideas and flavours to share with their guests and retain the pulse in their passion. The menu reads from antipasti to primi to secondi and is based on slow food principles - simply prepared so that the ingredients shine.

The 4-course $45 Prix Fixe gave us a taste of what was up for grabs on the nights menu. Not before Deirdre talked to us and got a feel of what wine we were wanting. Neither of us know a great deal about Italian wines so an experienced hand was needed.

Our first plates of antipasti were a perfect introduction to the rustic fare this place is known for. A simple caprese salad and prosciutto e mozzarella. Sweet tomatoes, basil from their own vegetable garden and creamy mozzarella drizzled with grassy olive oil.

Both of us end up choosing the same primi dish - pasta con zucchini. Simply prepared and simply flavoured. The pasta was very al dente and had nothing more than zucchini, red onion, grated cacio and olive oil going on.

More flavour made it to the salsiccia - a butterflied roasted Italian sausage served over wilted bitter greens from the home farm. And as much as I loved the rainbow trout with rosemary, red wine grapes, potato and beans, I thought the fish was rather tiny for a secondi dish.

Even the sliver of pear tart - as incredible as it was - didn't make me feel like I'd just eaten four courses. Perhaps my appetite had become accustomed to the over-sized portions of this country?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank heneedsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    17
    9
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best keep-secret in Woodstock?”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Ok, I did not want to write a review because I like to keep little treasures to myself, but after several dinners here this summer, I have to say that this is probably the best restaurant in Woodstock. If you enjoy thin-crust pizza, intimate settings, great wine selection, yummy desserts, creative specials, and a delicious pre-fix choice every visit (not to mention great hosts), then you are in for a treat: Enjoy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nycsundog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Exceptional in every way”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were introduced to Pane e Salute by two in-the-know friends and have to say that all of our high expectations were exceeded. The owners, husband and wife team Caleb and Deirdre, are super friendly and welcoming, extremely knowledgeable about their food and wine, and work wonders in the kitchen. Each of our courses – from the chicken liver pate, to the unbelievable chanterelle mushroom and pancetta pizza, to the fish and beef main courses, to the cherry tart and lemon gelato for dessert – was perfectly prepared and presented. Deirdre is especially knowledgeable about wine and offered two excellent suggestions that paired perfectly. To top it all off, the restaurant itself is beautifully designed and intimate, seating about twenty or so diners. This was one of our nicest dining experiences in quite some time. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank skgbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gem of a dining experience”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We ate here five or so years ago, and planned our trip back to Woodstock so that we could dine here again. We were not disappointed.

First, the atmosphere: charming, intimate, beautifully lit and decorated. We were greeted by name by Deirdre, one of the owners, and directed to our table.

The food: in a word, delicious. We both did the prix fixe menu and enjoyed unusual dishes, cooked with clearly just picked/fresh ingredients. Deirdre made an excellent recommendation for a bottle of wine to have with our meal.

The service: friendly and attentive.

I am bewildered by the bad reviews, because we found everything about our experience to be perfect.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Passion, Pizza, Prosecco”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Sundays can be tricky in small towns...at nice restaurants..but the owners were ready/willing/able. Usually reservations have to be made 1-2 weeks out...we were lucky!

Almost the perfect small, quality restaurant...we'd drive a long way to dine with them again...it's clear they love what they are doing...the range of pizzas is perfect...the risotto and fish were tasty...the super thin crust on the pizza was esp. good...the complimentary Prosecco and ChickPea Calamari salad got everything off to a great start...though, "buyer beware" should you have knee/hip problems or just find it difficult/a pain to walk up a couple of flights of stairs!

Wine choices were fun and varied...and some "exotic" ciders made the drink choices even more enjoyable. A few more dessert options would have been welcomed.

If you're in the Woodstock/Hanover NH area...or just passing thru, def worth a visit. Nothing to really compare it with in the area...sort of like dining in your own home with your personal chef and staff. Very NICE!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PasadenaOldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing