We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal, presentation and service”

The Prince and the Pauper
Ranked #4 of 30 Restaurants in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
173 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, presentation and service”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just a short walk from the Woodstock Inn, this small intimate restaurant offers a 3 course fixed price dinner for $49.00 but you can also order ala carte. You can get anything from pizza to filet mignon and you can sit at the bar or relax in a banquette. They have a fantastic bacon wrapped house pâté, which we had and then ordered 2 entres , had no room for dessert. Our waitress was terrific. Friendly but not overbearing, helpful and knowledgeable, also funny. She had been there 13 years. If you are in Woodstock, VT. try it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    136
    44
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great service, food, and setting”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a great meal here. We sat at the bar, and the service was fantastic. The drinks were tasty, and the food did not disappoint. While the entrees and appetizers were top notch, I would strongly recommend trying the pizza. It was some of the best I have had outside of New York. The food prices were very reasonable, but the drinks can add up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatUNH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Kudos To The Owner”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Based on my review, the owner of the P & P gave me my money back for my gift certificate. You have to give thumbs up to such an admirable gesture, thank you Chris!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Meal!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just visited Woodstock, VT for the first time and it was lovely. Did some searching on tripadvisor before going and we knew that we wanted to dine at The Prince and The Pauper. We were able to get a reservation and could not have had a more enjoyable meal. The waitstaff was very friendly and helpful with the menu selections. If they have the Prixe Fixe menu - it is a great deal. The app beef satay was delicious and the veal was wonderful. Highly recommend if you're ever in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Libby1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard, Vermont
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always the finest”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Without doubt, the finest food with no exceptions after 30 plus years. When in Woodstock
The P & P is a must for the very best dining experience....cozy bar and a fun place to be.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 724Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prince and the Pauper also viewed

 

Been to The Prince and the Pauper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing