We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall GREAT Woodstock Stay!”
Review of Braeside Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Braeside Lodging
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I stayed with colleagues for business and we all had a great stay. The location was great, the price was right, and the staff were super accomodating. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4REALTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 126 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2009

This is a tough review to write, as nothing was really so negative about this place. For sure, it's a great value for the area, no question about that. Everything else was just average.

It's about 1.5 miles from town, so not too bad. It's really just your average, roadside place. The woman who checked me in told me that internet was spotty (turned out I wasn't able to access it at all), which may be more the area than the motel, but still important to me. There was no way to make tea/coffee in the room, something I really appreciate having & pretty basic for the place to provide. They had some in the office, but when I went to get some that night at 10:00, they were closed & didn't answer a knock on the door. I didn't want to ring a bell to disturb them, but simply having coffee/tea in the rooms would be great.

The room itself was fine- very small though we were 3 people with 2 beds. But they were clean & that's the important thing. Beds could use an upgrade as well as well as the bathrooms. No soap or shampoo either, but we did have a small fridge in our room.

All in all, it was a fine stay - a bit more attention to the services for guests would have helped, but a great value for the area and fine if you're not staying too long.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Woodstock is one of our favorite places to visit, and we always stay at the Braeside. It is a lovely, charming motel in a beautiful, pastoral setting. The first time we stayed there we arrived at night -- when I walked out of the door in the morning, I literally laughed at how beautiful the view was. Lovely Vermont! It is located about three or four minutes by car from the Woodstock village green, so it is like staying in town but with a better view.

The rooms are always very clean, the pillows are great, the beds are comfortable, the heater is great (in fact, had to turn it down in December) and the hot water is plentiful! Most rooms (all?) have a mini-refrigerator, and dogs are welcome (there are two or three rooms designated as pet-friendly). In fact, we stayed here the first time years ago because we were traveling with our dog and had been turned away from other motels in the area. The owners are exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable about the area -- they will point you to the good restaurants! On a practical note, the WiFi service is terrific -- got some work done before heading out to enjoy the Vermont snow.

Overall, a lovely, peaceful, comfortable place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MemberNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

other inns in Woodstock were over priced so we stayed just outside of the town .. it was very much like an old fashioned motel - where you park outside of your room. basic room with no coffee or fridge !! small old fashioned bathroom .. staff were friendly ...

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank janefromcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Woodstock is really expensive for hotels. This is a small motel a few miles east of town on the road to Quechee. It is very clean, friendly and safe with lovely views from the windows. Beds are ok, bathroom is standard motel; the place is quiet. It has no frills whatsoever - apart from free wifi - not even coffee! But a good choice for the money

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

The owner of the motel was super friendly and helpful. The room above average size, really homie and extra clean. Great place to stay.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank adiggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

We were very pleased with our stay at the Braeside Motel. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful (gave good advice about nearby attractions to visit, and much-needed advice about driving in some unexpected Vermont snow to us Southern girls!)

The property was very clean and well-maintained - nice furniture and comfortable beds. Also, the motel is especially affordable for the area. It is easy to find, and close to the adorable Woodstock village center. I would definitely recommend this place to friends traveling to the area.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank klw9a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
5.6 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
334 reviews
3.2 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
433 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
304 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Lodging

Address: 908 E Woodstock Rd, PO Box 411, Woodstock, VT 05091-3645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: $139 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Braeside Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immaculate, 12-room motel is set on a quiet hillside, only one mile from Woodstock's historic downtown. Discover why many Woodstock visitors return time and again to the Braeside! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Braeside Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing