We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place down the road from Woodstock town!!!”
Review of Braeside Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Braeside Lodging
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay! Clean, comfortable, close to town, quiet, and cosy! What more can you ask for? If you don't want to pay the expensive price of the hotels and motels right in town this motel is right down the street and overlooks gorgeous rolling hills with cattle grazing. A great place to stay if just crashing for the night or the week! Down the road from Quechee which has some quaint stores and restaurants. Rooms are quiet and clean. It is a little older but nicely kept. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3sons314416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Braeside Lodging
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 124 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

We just spent a night arriving late and unplanned. We were welcomed warmly and spent a very comfortable night with excellent Queen beds, good shower, excellent coffee and good widescreen television.

Excellent location just outside the pretty Woodstock with enough restaurants for dinner and breakfast to keep anybody happy.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

i read the review previously - regarding the booking proces...i could not disagree more.
the owners of this quaint motel could not have been any nicer to deal with. all rules/rates are clearly stated. my husband and i stayed in a beautiful king room (we were told they were recently done over, which clearly shows!). the location is great, the room was great, and the owners were so helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flintlock35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My fiance' and I stayed at the Braeside last week and found it to be Exactly what we wanted & Needed. The rooms were spotless and had all the little "necessities" (Keurig coffee maker, flat screen TV, wi-fi, etc.). The King-size bed was Incredibly comfortable, and this from a couple with sleep "issues". The couple that own & operate the Braeside are just so friendly and helpful....it was comfy, cozy and and a quiet "homey" escape! Right down the road from downtown Woodstock, and, in the other direction, minutes from Quechee Gorge. We will Most Certainly be Back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinkerbellfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I did not stay at the Braeside because I couldn't get past the booking process which, in my opinion, was ridiculous. I made a verbal reservation but told the owner I would get back to her that evening to confirm since she explained that there would be a $25 cancellation fee per room should I cancel, and no refund at all of one full night charges if I cancelled within 15 days of the booking date. The same day, in the evening, I left her a message to book the 2 rooms, but got no response from her. The next morning I sent a email stating I left a message the prior evening to book the rooms and, again, asked her to book 2 rooms. Once more, no response to my email from the owner. Later that afternoon, after hearing nothing as to a comfirmed booking, I emailed the owner and told her any reservations she was holding should be cancelled. I assumed, since I didn't hear from her, the rooms were no longer available and made a booking elsewhere. Now, I received a response!!! She stated that I had a confirmed booking when I left the phone message and she charged my credit card for one full night for each of the rooms. She said she sent a booking confirmation via email that evening, which I did not receive, and tried to tell me the computer fire wall or spam interfered, which it did not --- all email correspondence between us was sent and received with no problem, from the point of my cancellation email.. I asked her to forward the confirmations from her sent folder that she said she sent that evening. . Again, no response from her. Instead I received two confirmations a few hours after I told her to not to hold any reservations!. These confirmations stated that you can only cancel by US Mail --- how ridiculous!!! I send a letter to cancel these bookings, which should not have been made in the first place, since I received them hours after I sent the cancellation email. She reversed the credit card charges less $50.00 as a cancellation penalty. My credit card company tried calling her to discuss the charges and she hung up on them!!! It is the responsibility of the hotel or motel to send a confirmation of a booking. In many years of travel planning throughout the world, I've always received a booking number via phone or an email confirmation whenever I've made a reservation. I shouldn't have to review my credit card charges to find out that I have a booking!!! If I hadn't emailed her to cancel the reservation she was holding, I would have been charged for two full nights,since I was totally unaware of the booking and would have been treated as a "no show". None of this would have happened if she had the courtesy to return my phone call, or at the very least , respond to my email request for a booking confirmation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank frankvickib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived very late to this quaint motel and there was a note on the door for us and the lights on with towels on the bed waiting. It was very clean, nicely appointed and comfortable. The owners were very nice and gave us a great breakfast recommendation. I would definitely recommend this motel and it is a great, affordable accommodation just outside of Woodstock.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We found the Braeside Motel in Woodstock Vermont in our AAA tour book. When we called and asked for AAA rates The owner stated they didn't do AAA rates as they felt they offered the lowest rate. I am not sure the $139 rate we had to pay for this room was worth it and obviously if they don't offer a AAA rate they should not be included in the AAA tour book. Room was clean and ok but nothing special.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
5.6 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
324 reviews
3.2 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
423 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
299 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Lodging

Address: 908 E Woodstock Rd, PO Box 411, Woodstock, VT 05091-3645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: $139 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Braeside Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immaculate, 12-room motel is set on a quiet hillside, only one mile from Woodstock's historic downtown. Discover why many Woodstock visitors return time and again to the Braeside! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Braeside Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing