We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shire Woodstock
Nearby Hotels
506 On The River Inn(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$179
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$362
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Braeside Lodging(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Woodstock Motel(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
$118
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveler rating
293
207
37
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
207
37
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the rivergrocery store right across the streetin townshort walkrocking chairswould stay here againrestaurants and shopscorner roommorning coffeeroom was largegas fireplacefour posterfirst floornew englandlocation is greatking bedbeds were comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 554 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We first learned about the Shire Motel from a travel book back in 1998. We had such a wonerful experience that we've been returning for about three times a year, every year since. We have never been dissapointed. In addition to the owners, who are warm, friendly, and helpful people, every single person on the staff we have encountered over the past 9 years has been the same. As if that weren't enough, the motel has the best view in Woodstock, overlooking the river and the farm and hills beyond. The motel grounds are kept beautifully with flowers and hanging flowering plants. There are tables and chairs on a communal deck overlooking the river where you can enjoy your morning coffee or relax anytime. There are also Adirondak chairs on the lawn by the river. The rooms are immaculate and beautifully furnished with four poster beds. The location is perfect; a 1/2 mile walk from the center of town, with a grocery conveniently located accross the street. Since rooms have refridgerators, we sometimes save money by going to the grocery instead of eating out.
At one point we considered buying a vacation home in or around Woodstock because we love the area so much, but with its consistent top quality and excellent value over 9 years, we have decided that it makes much more sense to make the Shire our vacation "home".

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank PBS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

While the motel is okay and the town of Woodstock is lovely, I agree with the other reviewers about the rude staff and management. A call to the front desk to ask why the the air conditioning was not working properly was handled abruptly and with no concern for my discomfort. Although the motel is advertised as non-smoking, guests on an adjoining porch were smoking and when I called to request that they be asked not to do so, I was dismissed and told it was okay as long as it wasn't in their room and if the smoke bothered me I could close my window. My husband and I were also asked by management if we were lost and what were we doing on the propertly when we were leaving our room to go to our car! My husband, said "We are your guests!" We were standing outside our car trying to decide where to go for dinner and somehow that indicated to management that we didn't belong there? Perplexing! Very bad people skills - both staff and management should attend a hospitality school. Very strange in Vermont where almost everyone in the tourism industry is pleasant , friendly and helpful. The rates are high for a motel, and no matter what you are paying you should be treated with welcome and respect. Unfortunately this was not the case. I would like to stay here again but would not do so unless the property was under new management.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aquamarinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2007

The two rooms we occupied were clean, and nicely decorated. One room of our rooms had a very pretty view of the river. Contrary to the experiences in other reviews of this property, the staff was very nice. We thought the rate was reasonable. If we're ever in the area again - and we plan to be - we would have no problem staying at the Shire again.

The town is a great place to wander around, with nice little shops and friendly people. We had breakfast at the Mountain Creamery Restaurant. The service was a little slow, but the food was wonderful so we would definitely eat there again!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princess1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2007

In a few words, we have never encountered the level of rudeness and overall apathy on the part of hotel staff. When we attempted to speak to the owner about problems with our room, she was even ruder than the rest.
We decided to leave early, even though we had to forfeit some of our money, and stayed at the Woodstock Inn. Yes, it was much more expensive but we were able to salvage our vacation and came away from Woodstock Vermont with a more positive experience than we would have had we stayed at the Shire Motel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karitmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2007

My husband and child stayed for 4 nights over Christmas vacation week and had a delightful time. The rooms were nicely decorated (not your typical motel; more like B & B rooms) and very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Louann at the front desk helped me plan days of fun that our little girl would enjoy. We definitely had a nice vacation and will return to this hidden treasure in Woodstock.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews