We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special find in a quaint town-"The Prettiest Small Town in America"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shire Woodstock
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2010

What a wonderful place we stumbled on last Thursday while on a road trip to see the gorgeous fall colors. We arrived in town without reservations and contacted a few places all above $200 a night. Then we drove by the Shire Riverview and stopped in to get 1 of the last 2 available rooms for about $150 nt. The motel was cute from the outside and when we entered our 1st floor room we not disappointed. The room was very large with 2 queen beds, nicely decorated in the New England style with antiques--and very clean. We had a riverview room--room opened onto a large deck with white sitting chairs. The location is nice, just a short walk to town and special boutiques. We had a great dinner at the nearby Spooners Steakhouse on Hwy4 going towards Taftsville. We are a couple who like traveling and do not choose motels for our stays but this place was a delightful exception and we would reccommend it highly. Great stay!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travelwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 537 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2010

We just completed our annual multi-stop summer driving trip through Vermont where we have always booked luxurious hotels or B&Bs. On trips to Woodstock in the past we have stayed at the Woodstock Inn but we did not care for the recent changes and thought it overpriced for the accommodations. We couldn't find a suitable B&B so our planned stay at the Shire "motel" was an "experiment" in trying something new on the basis of the tripadvisor reviews. Our delightful experience at the Shire Riverview will bring us back again. We can understand the negative comments about the front-desk staff since we found a couple of them to be abrupt and not very helpful but that wasn't the case with all the staff we met and it did not in any way impact on our overall very pleasant stay. The owner was very warm and friendly. It's the only place we have stayed in that doesn't offer breakfast but it turned out not to be an issue. . . we enjoyed walking across the street to the very convenient grocery store and bringing back our food to enjoy on our balcony with a gorgeous view over the river. All the comments about cleanliness and comfortable beds are spot on. We will definitely return if we stay in Woodstock again on your next trip to Vermont.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickytraveler0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

The Shire was SO cute. it had a fantasic view. The rooms were nice and spacious. The bathroom, was very nice. Everything was super clean. The beds and antiques were adorable. The walk to town was very close and very quaint, and there was fine dining and quaint boutqiues to visit in Woodstock. It was very easy to drive to ski areas, such as SuicideSix , and shopping areas. The covered bridges nearby are also adorable. This was a great motel and the staff was very helpful and nice! They even let us arrive very late and check in in the morning!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I don't think any place in Woodstock is very reasonable during Leaf Season, but compared to other places this seemed to fit my budget. Rooms are large and nicely decorated. Not great bed linens, but clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. It is a very short walk to the center of Woodstock, along Rt. 4 (Central Street). My room did not have a river view. On site free parking. Good coffee is served in the morning

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hrssqsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Friendly staff. We stayed in the guest house overlooking the river, the room was very comfortable and clean, had a gas fireplace in one corner. Huge poofy mooshy king sized bed -- very comfortable. Lovely gardens and flower plantings. We had a chance to take our folding chairs down to the lawn by the river and just sit ... so relaxing. A one-serving coffee machine in the foyer with all the fixings...very convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaReigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

This place has a great location and the staff is really really friendly. The room was large, and clean. I am really picky about cleanliness and I thought it was great. Our recomendation, take a room with private jacuzzi and fireplace, they are lovely. It took us maybe 5 minutes or so to walk to the center.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calimero01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

This hotel is close to town. You do have to walk a bit to get to the center but it's less than a mile. The hotel was clean and had beautiful views. I read bad reviews about this hotel before my stay and I was a little nervous but I found no problems with the staff, the room or the location. I'd have to say that everything was perfect. It's a safe, quiet, clean, peaceful and comfortable hotel.
You won't be sorry if you chose to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcellucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
456 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
352 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#2 of 8 in White River Junction
319 reviews
9.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Lebanon
373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shire Woodstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shire Woodstock

Address: 46 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1126 (Formerly Shire Riverview Lodging)
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: $151 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shire Woodstock 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent hotel in the Village of Woodstock, VT. Each of our 43 rooms is uniquely furnished in traditional New England style and many of them have a beautiful view of the Ottauquechee River which flows behind the property. Hospitality is our priority and we want you to feel at home here at The Shire Woodstock. Our General Manager lives on the premises and is available to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We have some rooms with fireplaces, some with Jacuzzis and a limited number of "dog friendly" rooms. All of our rooms have Cable TV, wifi and a small refrigerator, as well as individual heating and air conditioning. Join us for a relaxing, quiet vacation in a place steeped in tradition-The Shire Woodstock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Shire Woodstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shire Riverview Hotel Woodstock
Shire Riverview Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing