We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms with a great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shire Woodstock
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Oswego, New York
1 review
“Great rooms with a great view”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stopped in Woodstock with my wife for 2 nights on our way back to NY from visiting family in Maine. We had reserved a balcony room with a king size bed in the luxury river house. The room was well furnished, clean, and had a wonderful view. We will definetly be staying here again in the future. The only area for improvement that we recommended was to replace the hair dryer in the room as it does not provide much flow. Oh well, bring your own I guess.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 2014rush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    187
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
122
224
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We've driven through Woodstock for years and years and I've always wanted to stay here, after reading many positive reviews, I decided to book a room for an overnight. I'm so glad I did! Not only was the room super clean and comfortable, but our stay in Woodstock couldn't have been better. We'll stay here again if given the chance!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mhuber11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I came to Woodstock with two family members who were visiting from Florida.Given the hotel choices right in Woodstock (I like conventional hotels;not so much B & B),The Shire looked looked like the best option.The planned stay was for 2 nights and required 2 rooms.Both rooms were very comfortable and clean.Also appreciated the complimentary Wi-Fi.One of the rooms had the view of the river;liked that very much.However,I must offer one small negative remark on something.May I respectfully suggest that you attempt to add a few more selections to your cable/satellite service?Having a nice LED flat screen TV is great,but,please at least add ESPN and CNBC to the selections.I discovered that other hotels nearby simply use the local cable company as opposed to a "pick and choose" model often offered to hotels.Aside from that,I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view room when possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dwight M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My family has lived in Woodstock for many years and we have stayed at the Shire many times. For us there is just no other choice, though of course there are many choices... Great rooms, great location, reasonable prices, free wifi, refrigerator, usually a lovely river view and a personal touch when you check in. Not to mention the great coffee and the gorgeous hanging flower baskets in the summer. Simply the BEST place to stay in Woodstock.

Room Tip: We love 111 and 108, ground floor kings with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie05091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I spent the better part of a week here with in late July my wife and 2 sons. We had a great room with a river view and deck access. We had a wonderful view of the peaceful river, the active farm fields across the way, and and rolling pastured hills in the distance. The room was large and clean and just perfect for our family. The location is outstanding with the beautiful downtown walking distance away, and even more stunning attractions just a short drive away. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and interacting with them was a net positive on the whole trip. We will definitely be back again, both in the summer/fall, as well as during ski season. Just wonderful.

For the good-weather attractions, be sure to check out the Marsh Billings Rockefeller park and be sure to hike the carriage paths to the outlook on Mt Tom and to "the Pogue" while you are there. Also, a leisurely sightseeing drive through Pomfret is totally worth it. The other local attractions and restaurants are great too, but these really stood out.

Final thoughts, the Shire Riverview was a great home base for a great Vermont experience. The people and place are wonderful.

Room Tip: River view is the way to go IMO (it is named "Shire Riverview" after all :-) )
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Amazingly helpful staff. While older, a terrific property that is close to everything in Woodstock and fairly priced. We enjoyed our time there and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't need the Woodstock Inn vibe. Great for families. Thanks much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our stay was wonderful. The rooms were well worth the price. They were clean, nicely decorated, within walking distance to town, and the staff friendly and helpful. Would stay here again anytime. The view from the window,overlooking the river, was so peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skllewellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
2.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
401 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
301 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
0.0 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
2.2 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 16 in Woodstock
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shire Woodstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shire Woodstock

Property: The Shire Woodstock
Address: 46 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1126 (Formerly Shire Riverview Lodging)
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shire Woodstock 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent hotel in the Village of Woodstock, VT. Each of our 43 rooms is uniquely furnished in traditional New England style and many of them have a beautiful view of the Ottauquechee River which flows behind the property. Hospitality is our priority and we want you to feel at home here at The Shire Woodstock. Our General Manager lives on the premises and is available to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We have some rooms with fireplaces, some with Jacuzzis and a limited number of "dog friendly" rooms. All of our rooms have Cable TV, wifi and a small refrigerator, as well as individual heating and air conditioning. Join us for a relaxing, quiet vacation in a place steeped in tradition-The Shire Woodstock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Shire Woodstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shire Riverview Hotel Woodstock
Shire Riverview Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing