We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Guest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shire Woodstock
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have been staying at the Shire Riverview for many years- sometimes several times a year. When we first stayed we were so pleasantly surprised that we continued to go there every time we traveled to Vermont. The rooms are beautiful. We always stayed upstairs overlooking the stream. I think their attention to detail is amazing. The Staff have always been friendly and helpful. Walking to the village takes 5 minutes. Woodstock is the most beautiful village in Vermont- in my opinion. Everyone should go - and everyone should stay at the Shire Riverview when they are there. They will never be disappointed.

Room Tip: second floor on the stream if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 536 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Shire is like stepping back in time. It fits right in with the village square and the covered bridges of Vermont! This is our 5th trip to Woodstock and we have stayed here 4 times out of the 5. The rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculate. It is every bit as quaint, cozy, and welcoming as the very large and very expensive Inn around the corner. The view of the river and mountains is very picturesque and you feel like your right back in Colonial America! You can walk everywhere and it was a relaxing and very enjoyable trip to Vermont!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Luxury House with a gas fireplace this time----but found the rooms in the main part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Woodstock for a cozy weekend getaway and stumbled upon the Shire and had a lovely stay! Our room had a fire place and jacuzzi which was very relaxing and much needed. The town is adorable and a perfect weekend vacation. Check out the Shire!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roadtripper356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Good location, clean room, comfortable beds, beautiful view, and great value. If you're looking for fancy, romantic, historic (and expensive) go to the Woodstock Inn. If you're just looking for a great place to stay within the town of Woodstock and near to a bunch of the Vermont ski areas, the Shire Riverview is the perfect place (and if you want, go to one of the Woodstock Inn restaurants for dinner).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JSMLandW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I've stayed at the Shire Riverview once before, but I was delighted when I found out they offered pet-friendly accommodations. Our room was pretty, with nice views of the river (hence, Riverview). Our bed was very comfortable. The room was immaculately clean and very cozily decorated. It was a lovely room. I was so happy that they let you keep pets there. I didn't know what to expect from a pet-friendly room, so I was a little worried that it wouldn't be that nice. BOY WAS I SURPRISED by how nice it was. I would totally stay here again, in the same room, with my dog. Great value! Close to town! Pet Friendly! The Shire Riverview hits it out of the park.

Room Tip: If you don't have to pick the pet-friendly rooms, I wouldn't. They are down a set of exteri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dap30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Dear Travelers -

If you are anywhere near Massachusetts, New Hampshire or especially Vermont, go spend a day in the lovely little snow village-y town of Woodstock, VT, a short trip from Hanover, NH (Dartmouth) and from Killington (skiing) on the other side. It is a charming town with a few great restaurants and the Yankee Book Shop, one of New England's (if not 'the oldest') oldest independent book store's.

And where to stay?!!!! The Shire Motel is absolutely great! They have nice rooms and they are affordable. You can experience Woodstock, walk to The Prince and the Pauper (a fantastic restaurant), cross the street to Bentley's for more cocktails, and then walk "home" two blocks in the falling snow, to your lovely room at the Shire - all without having to stop by the bank and take out a loan - which is what you have to do if you walk two blocks the opposite way from the center of the town (disclaimer: author likes that other establishment as well, but it is expensive and the Shire is not which again, is a delight to not have a thousand dollar bill after two days!)

I have stayed at the Shire several times over the last decade. They are always nice and work with me to find the perfect room and again, it is in the heart of Woodstock, park your car, relax in your charming room with a view of the picturesque stream running right out your room's window and then trek two blocks through the snow off to all the shops and restaurant's!

I highly recommend the Shire and thank them again, for their kind hospitality every time I make it to Woodstock, VT.

Happy traveling!

- Troy Farlow

Room Tip: Rooms facing the stream are a bit more expensive, but lovely. If you are looking for just a place t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Troy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had room 352 and friends had room 351. Our room had a gas fireplace and a soaking tub. The fireplace was the heat sroufe for the room and worked very well. The heat was so strong you could get the room from 60 to 80 in 20 minutes and it was great for drying wet ski gear hung over the back of a chair by the hearth. The coffee service was very nice (Keurig).

We skied at Killington on Saturday and took advantage of the hotel's discounted lift tickets. The only draw back was that the office does not open until 8 AM so if you need something earlier than that you just have to wait. We also use the market across the street which was super convenient. We walked to town for dinner both nights. Casul dinner at Bentley's on Friday and fine dining at the Princre and Pauper on Saturday. Both were perfect! On Sunday we went to Billings Farm, shopping downtown and the Creamery for lunch. It snowed during our stay and Woodstock was picture perfect.

Having our friends across he hall in room 3512 was likehaving out own suite. They complained of noise from the apartment above (TV on all night long) and said they would not stay in that room again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
446 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
296 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
0.0 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shire Woodstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shire Woodstock

Address: 46 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1126 (Formerly Shire Riverview Lodging)
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: $151 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shire Woodstock 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent hotel in the Village of Woodstock, VT. Each of our 43 rooms is uniquely furnished in traditional New England style and many of them have a beautiful view of the Ottauquechee River which flows behind the property. Hospitality is our priority and we want you to feel at home here at The Shire Woodstock. Our General Manager lives on the premises and is available to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We have some rooms with fireplaces, some with Jacuzzis and a limited number of "dog friendly" rooms. All of our rooms have Cable TV, wifi and a small refrigerator, as well as individual heating and air conditioning. Join us for a relaxing, quiet vacation in a place steeped in tradition-The Shire Woodstock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Shire Woodstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shire Riverview Hotel Woodstock
Shire Riverview Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing