We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shire Woodstock
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was our second time staying here. Our room was clean and we had a deck off the back overlooking the river. Wonderful place to enjoy coffee and watch the geese. The rooms have an eclectic style of furniture that feels more like home than a motel. The staff is very friendly. Love that you can walk to the main part of Woodstock to shop and enjoy the great restaurants. Looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 537 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

Loved this place! Amazing location, AMAZING view, goregous rooms, with lovely decoration and amenities. Had hight hopes of the Shire Riverview Motel having read some good reviews, but didn't want to expect too much, based on the fact that it was a Motel. We absolutely loved our stay here and didn't stop talking about it for days. Relaxing on the ground floor porch in a rocking chair, listening to the river and watching the Otter's in the water was fantastic. Such a peaceful place. There is a supermarket right across the road - walk over, get some dinner and sit back and relax as the sun sets. Would love to visit again!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Shire is a delightful find. Its ho-hum exterior hides a motel with special touches. We especially enjoyed morning coffee in the rocking chairs on the patio overlooking the river. The room was very clean, modern upgraded bath, with fluffy towels! The heating system was a bit of a mystery, but shutting it off and enjoying open windows solved that problem. It's an easy walk into the village. It was worth a few extra dollars to stay so close to town, we felt we got our money's worth. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheRidesABeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Woodstock, VT is a beautiful small town. We were just passing through, but I booked this hotel in advance. It was not fancy in the least but we weren't looking for fancy. The inn keeper was very friendly and helped us find a decent restaurant to dine in. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a Sunday and Monday night in August. We were in Room 404, a 2nd floor luxury king room with a porch overlooking the Ottauquechee River and the fields of the Billings Farm and Museum. We enjoyed relaxing on the porch rockers in the evening. The room was clean and comfortable, with two wing chairs and a gas fireplace, which we did not use, but would be lovely in the winter and fall. The window a/c unit was a bit noisy. We did not feel comfortable leaving the windows open, because they fronted on the porch, which we shared with the rooms on either side of us. A Keurig coffeemaker was in the 1st floor lobby with a selection of coffee and tea. Shampoo, conditioner, soap, and a hair dryer were supplied. I missed having a full-length mirror. The lighting in the room and bathroom was more than adequate. Parking was right outside our building. Since we were set back from the road and overlooked the river, it was very quiet.

Mac's Market across the street is a full-service grocery store. The town and its many restaurants and stores was an easy 5- to 10-minute walk. The Billings-Marsh-Rockefeller National Historic Site is a 20-minute walk. The location is great and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samanthasopoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is our second trip to the Shire. Very reasonable price for this area! Couldn't touch a B & B anywhere near this price. We looked hard the first time around. Now, The Shire would be my first choice hands down. Full of charm, four poster beds, adirondack chairs along the river. Fabulous! And since we are usually on a motorcycle, it's great as it's in walking distance to town, restaurants. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. The place is immaculately kept, inside and out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J0niB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The best placed we have stay at on our trip. Don't let the picture scare you. The front of the property is on the street level. Room is comfortable, clean and convenient to All the attractions. Walk to restaurants and shopping. Great place to stay for day trips. G.M. Is friendly and helpful with dining suggestions,ect. Enjoy..

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
456 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
352 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#2 of 8 in White River Junction
319 reviews
9.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Lebanon
373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shire Woodstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shire Woodstock

Address: 46 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1126 (Formerly Shire Riverview Lodging)
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: $151 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shire Woodstock 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent hotel in the Village of Woodstock, VT. Each of our 43 rooms is uniquely furnished in traditional New England style and many of them have a beautiful view of the Ottauquechee River which flows behind the property. Hospitality is our priority and we want you to feel at home here at The Shire Woodstock. Our General Manager lives on the premises and is available to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We have some rooms with fireplaces, some with Jacuzzis and a limited number of "dog friendly" rooms. All of our rooms have Cable TV, wifi and a small refrigerator, as well as individual heating and air conditioning. Join us for a relaxing, quiet vacation in a place steeped in tradition-The Shire Woodstock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your The Shire Woodstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shire Riverview Hotel Woodstock
Shire Riverview Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing