We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shire Woodstock
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Vernon, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Convenient location, clean and quiet”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a Sunday and Monday night in August. We were in Room 404, a 2nd floor luxury king room with a porch overlooking the Ottauquechee River and the fields of the Billings Farm and Museum. We enjoyed relaxing on the porch rockers in the evening. The room was clean and comfortable, with two wing chairs and a gas fireplace, which we did not use, but would be lovely in the winter and fall. The window a/c unit was a bit noisy. We did not feel comfortable leaving the windows open, because they fronted on the porch, which we shared with the rooms on either side of us. A Keurig coffeemaker was in the 1st floor lobby with a selection of coffee and tea. Shampoo, conditioner, soap, and a hair dryer were supplied. I missed having a full-length mirror. The lighting in the room and bathroom was more than adequate. Parking was right outside our building. Since we were set back from the road and overlooked the river, it was very quiet.

Mac's Market across the street is a full-service grocery store. The town and its many restaurants and stores was an easy 5- to 10-minute walk. The Billings-Marsh-Rockefeller National Historic Site is a 20-minute walk. The location is great and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samanthasopoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    190
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
126
230
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is our second trip to the Shire. Very reasonable price for this area! Couldn't touch a B & B anywhere near this price. We looked hard the first time around. Now, The Shire would be my first choice hands down. Full of charm, four poster beds, adirondack chairs along the river. Fabulous! And since we are usually on a motorcycle, it's great as it's in walking distance to town, restaurants. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. The place is immaculately kept, inside and out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J0niB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

The best placed we have stay at on our trip. Don't let the picture scare you. The front of the property is on the street level. Room is comfortable, clean and convenient to All the attractions. Walk to restaurants and shopping. Great place to stay for day trips. G.M. Is friendly and helpful with dining suggestions,ect. Enjoy..

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent two nights at the Shire Riverview and really enjoyed our visit. Our room was very clean, and comfortable. We had a nice sitting area in our room and at our front and back doors (over looking the river). We watched Cedar Waxwings from our back porch). The room contained a small bar fridge so we could buy food at the grocery store across the street and have light meals sitting on the deck. We parked our car and walked everywhere.

The staff were very helpful and everything was just as advertised!

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor and could park our car right in front of the unit. We also had ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane_BOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The four of us decided to do a weekend getaway to Woodstock Vt. When I started checking hotels I came across the Riverview Motel. What a find! We had an end room overlooking the river. We took advantage of the generous deck and lovely view. Our room was large, clean and charming. The location is perfect...close to town and all that Woodstock has to offer. The staff was courteous and helpful. We would certainly choose this Motel on a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghackett3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Shire for five nights and I was once again very pleased with the experience here. I had stayed here several times in the past while traveling on business through the years and this property has remained SUPER CLEAN, comfortable, and nicely appointed. The gardens are beautiful, too! Owners are very friendly and accommodating. Our room had a porch overlooking the Ottaqueeche River and the view and location were perfect. The gas fireplace in our room was perfect to take out the chill after a guided fly-fishing trip. This property is within walking distance to town and all services. Our riverview location was quiet, private and I can't say enough about this place. I have stayed at the Woodstock Inn as well and for the difference in cost, would have to say, save the $ on lodging and enjoy the wonderful restaurants in this area. Shire and Melaza, we'll be back soon!

Room Tip: Loved the riverview building - room 404 was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpruceitupInteriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

MY wife and I stayed ah the Shire Riverview Motel in Woodstock recently. The room was an excellent value for the area. It was very clean and comfortable and the refrigerator was a nice addition (kept the wine and water ice cold). The staff was very friendly and the place is very motocycle friendly - you can park right outside your room and its walking distance to a wide variety of restaurants and shops. Will stay there agian.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krish095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
414 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
288 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shire Woodstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shire Woodstock

Property: The Shire Woodstock
Address: 46 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1126 (Formerly Shire Riverview Lodging)
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shire Woodstock 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent hotel in the Village of Woodstock, VT. Each of our 43 rooms is uniquely furnished in traditional New England style and many of them have a beautiful view of the Ottauquechee River which flows behind the property. Hospitality is our priority and we want you to feel at home here at The Shire Woodstock. Our General Manager lives on the premises and is available to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We have some rooms with fireplaces, some with Jacuzzis and a limited number of "dog friendly" rooms. All of our rooms have Cable TV, wifi and a small refrigerator, as well as individual heating and air conditioning. Join us for a relaxing, quiet vacation in a place steeped in tradition-The Shire Woodstock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Shire Woodstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shire Riverview Hotel Woodstock
Shire Riverview Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing