We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Plus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shire Woodstock
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Comfort Plus”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The bed was so comfortable and the room was beautifully decorated. The manager was very friendly and so helpful. He recommended a restaurant down the street that we walked to and it was fantastic. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    190
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
126
229
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I had made reservations at a motel in Woodstock Vt and was not able to confirm a few days before, like I always do. I arrived at my "reserved" motel to find the place was all locked up..no one around.....What to do?? We drove back into town and with luck, stopped at the Shire Riverview Motel to get a Beautiful, clean and spacious room...It had a beautiful view of the river and mountains..Tanya at the front desk was very gracious and friendly. It was a much better room than I would have had at the "closed" motel..I'm glad the other place was closed. I really enjoyed my weekend in Vermont. The Shire Riverview IS the place to stay in Woodstock VT...
Elaine Vachon

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luna9711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Far more than we expected! Clean and comfortable with an amazing view of the river. We sat in chairs riverside each evening relaxing and just being in the moment. Very affordable!

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the end near the river-the best room in the place I believe. Also the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PW49092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stopped over in Woodstock on our way to NYC. Originally sought a B&B, but they were outlandishly expensive for a one-night quick sleep... so we checked out the Shire Riverview, on the advice of a local. It was excellent! For $98, we got a very spacious room with all the amenities, including a SUPER comfy king-sized bed and a gorgeous view of the "shire" behind the inn. Not only that, but the next morning I needed to print a parking coupon for NYC from my laptop... the front desk staff were very accommodating, and let me use their printer! Overall rating: EXCELLENT. We will be back. Woodstock is VERY beautiful too!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We loved our stay at the Shire Riverside, from the spacious room with the Charles Bronson furniture to the windows looking out on the river and the fields and hills beyond. The staff was friendly, helpful and available even on Christmas Eve.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thosnone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Our room was very clean, with a beautiful four poster bed and a perfect view of the river. It is a close walk into the village where there are cute little local shops. I highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Wv
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Our visit to beautiful Woodstock, Vermont, included a stay at the Shire Riverview hotel. The room had 2 queen sized beds, nicely decorated and plenty of room for 3 adults. Very clean. The back of the hotel looks over the flowing river. There were a few downsides that need mentioned, First, no coffee pot in the room. One is expected to go outside and up the stairs to the second floor for coffee which is a single shot Keurig. Delicious coffee, but when it is 40 degrees out and having to stand in line for coffee....hmmmm. No pastries or cereals. Secondly, no clock in the room. I had to personally ask for one, which they did send up. Thirdly, for 3 adult women only one little container of shampoo and conditioner, .5 ounce each. Although there were 3 soap dispensers in the bathroom, they were all empty and no longer in use. Last, no elevator. When reservations are made, ask if your room is on the second floor just in case someone in the party can't do steps. I was OK with this although it required several trips up and down to get our belongings. I felt it was overpriced but it was fall in Vermont and most places seem to hike up the prices this time of year. In conclusion, the Shire is a quaint motel, walking distance to town, clean and neat, with quiet rooms. They do accommodate your requests promptly and are very friendly. Dislikes are trite and I would recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the morning coffee if steps aren't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N2b8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
414 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
288 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shire Woodstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shire Woodstock

Property: The Shire Woodstock
Address: 46 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1126 (Formerly Shire Riverview Lodging)
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shire Woodstock 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent hotel in the Village of Woodstock, VT. Each of our 43 rooms is uniquely furnished in traditional New England style and many of them have a beautiful view of the Ottauquechee River which flows behind the property. Hospitality is our priority and we want you to feel at home here at The Shire Woodstock. Our General Manager lives on the premises and is available to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We have some rooms with fireplaces, some with Jacuzzis and a limited number of "dog friendly" rooms. All of our rooms have Cable TV, wifi and a small refrigerator, as well as individual heating and air conditioning. Join us for a relaxing, quiet vacation in a place steeped in tradition-The Shire Woodstock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Shire Woodstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shire Riverview Hotel Woodstock
Shire Riverview Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing