We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B--Meticulous with Every Detail Anticipated”
Review of Deer Brook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deer Brook Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked Deer Brook Inn after looking at their website and being amongst the listed options for our son's camp nearby for end of the summer pickup. We couldn't have been more pleased. The decor of the inn was beautiful and perfect -- when you think of B&B's -- this is what you think of. Our room was quaint, decorated perfectly, and clean.

David and George, the innkeepers, were so warm, welcoming, informative -- fantastic...Their seamless organization and focus on detail was amazing. We called and said we were going to be delayed--no problem, I came early to the dining room, George poured me a cup of coffee and I was able to enjoy the view and read prior to the actual breakfast without feeling that I was messing with their flow. We needed suggestions for places to visit -- no problem--we were given great ideas.

Woodstock is a little jewel of a town -- with plenty of restaurants and quaint shops. We happened to be there during their summer festival so that one of the streets was filled with stands from the restaurants, artistinal foods and wines, crafts, etc. It went on into the evening -- very fun. Regarding sightseeing options -- two of the highlights for me were visiting the King Arthur Flour Co. Store and Simon Pearce (glass blower par excellence --they have a fantastic restaurant there).

Can't wait to book for next year's camp visit!!

Room Tip: The rooms towards the back of the house tend to be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Betsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 600 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

The decision to book a stay at this B&B turned out to be one of our best. What started out as a whirlwind tour of the Northeast turned into a peaceful, cozy, and delightful experience at Deer Brook Inn. David and George are exemplary hosts, and now our new friends. We are already planning our next trip.

We stayed in Room 1- this is upstairs and in the back of the house, two skylights add a fun touch (the stars are beautiful), the room is clean and bright. As for the noise of passing cars, it is hardly noticeable in this room.

The breakfasts were top-notch- bottomless cups of hot coffee and delicious blueberry pancakes with maple sausage one morning; poached pears, a featherbed egg souffle, and a warm croissant the next morning. Conversations with David and George over breakfast are interesting and fun- we laughed a lot over stories of the woodchuck and various small-town happenings.

The drive into Woodstock takes only about 5 minutes maximum and on the way is the Farmers' Market.

You can't go wrong booking a stay at this Inn. There is a lot to see and do and every single one of David's suggestions are a blast- Sugarbush Farm, Mount Tom, the Distillery, Farmers' Market to name a few.

Room Tip: Room #1 in the back of the house (farthest from the road) is very quiet and sunny- skylights a bonus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattnMeg07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was a stranger to David and George when I first checked in, but after only a night or two at the Deer Brook Inn, we were not only friends but felt a little like family. I have now stayed at DBI many times over the last 10 years and every time is fantastic. The rooms are quaint, the surroundings are beautiful and the breakfasts are amazing!! Plus, you can't get out of there without receiving recommendations from David and George for all manner of wonderful sights to visit around Vermont. It is always a pleasure staying at DBI, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I went to Burlington VT to move our oldest son into his college dorm, and stayed in Woodstock at the Deer Brook Inn the following night. Just some "us" time after the emotional day of leaving our first born at college. What a restful, peaceful, friendly place! George is a wonderful host, and David cooked us an amazing breakfast the next morning before we headed home. We are so glad we stayed there and got to enjoy the company of George, David, and the other guests. It's a cozy, homey place--very welcoming and we will recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatKing2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

George and David operate a splendid B&B. As our gracious hosts at their beautiful property, they were not only welcoming and served up delicious gourmet breakfasts, they have decorated the inn in a manner that is both exquisite and homey - down to personal touches like the rubber ducks in the bathroom.

The inn is sparkling clean and quite comfortable. Located just outside of Woodstock, the location is quiet and away from what can be a crowded town center during peak seasons.

Our room (#2) was comfortable, well-furnished and nice and quiet. The skylights in the bedroom and bathroom provided wonderful light. The building itself is in such good condition that nary a floorboard creaks.Water in the shower was plentiful and hot.

George and David take great care to make sure your stay is enjoyable, including serving as a resource for all the things to do in he area. And George's estimates as to how long it takes to get to specific places were eerily accurate.

We are looking forward to staying her again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grobma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Because our girls go to camp nearby, we usually come to the Woodstock area 2-3 times a summer. We finally, this year, found our "home" in Woodstock. All the reviews are correct. George and David are great hosts; the rooms are quite comfortable; and the breakfasts are out of this world. You can't possibly go wrong staying here - unless, you know, you're going to take the last room on the weekend that we're looking to be there in which case, go away! Yeah, it's one of those places where you're almost afraid to let others in on the secret. But George and Dave are too nice for us to be selfish! See you next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventuresWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were originally booked in the Kedron Valley Inn but because of a power outage were sent to the Deer Brook B&B. David and George were wonderful hosts, the room was great, and the breakfasts were out of this world. We would highly recommend this B&B.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
2.7 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
454 reviews
4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
296 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 15 in Woodstock
471 reviews
4.1 mi away
Woodstocker Inn
Woodstocker Inn
#4 of 15 in Woodstock
667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Farmhouse Inn at Robinson Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Brook Inn

Address: 4548 W Woodstock Rd, Woodstock, VT 05091-3315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: $185 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deer Brook Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and Intimate B&B in Quintessential Woodstock, Vermont. Ten minutes from the Village Green with upscale shopping and top notch dining. Charming c1820 Farmhouse offering five spacious accommodations with luxury furnishings and amenities. Complimentary breakfasts and afternoon appetizers, made from scratch with locally sourced products. Complimentary WiFi and parking. Upbeat and casual hospitality from veteran innkeepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Deer Brook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing