We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a special treat!”
Review of Cloudland Farm

Cloudland Farm
Ranked #13 of 30 Restaurants in Woodstock
Price range: $31 - $48
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Cloudland Farm offers farm-to-table dining right on the farm where many of the ingredients were grown. Everything is made from scratch and all ingredients are locally sourced. The menu changes daily. Dine by the fireplace during the winter, or come early and enjoy the porch before dinner during the summer months. BYOB. Reservations required.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Such a special treat!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I picked Cloudland based on TripAdvisor and Yelp reviews, and am so glad I did. My fiancé and I enjoyed a meal there this past weekend, and it was just so delicious. The dining room is gorgeous, and not too crowded or loud, but still lively.

The evening we were there, the menu included lots of cider-infused dishes, including a pasta starter, ham entrée and sorbet in the dessert. You could taste how fresh every component of the meal was. Dinner here just felt very special, and if we're in the area again I'm sure we'd come back.

(PS Yes, the drive from the main road to the farm is a bit scary in the dark, but well worth it!)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KateinNY295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CloudlandFarm, Owner at Cloudland Farm, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Cloudland. We are thrilled that it was a special evening for you both. It has been apple season here in Vermont so Chef had fun planning a menu using apple cider. That was the first time he made apple cider sorbet and we're glad you enjoyed it. We hope you can dine with us again when you visit Vermont.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    21
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Really cool !”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A wonderful experience. Nice people running a really good restaurant. BYOB is always a plus. An adventuresome drive to get there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raymond p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SIMPLE SOMETIMES IS BEST”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you're out with friends that can be hard to please be careful- these guys make one menu a week and have a pre set with one set of choices. One app/salad/entree/dessert...that's it. What they serve is very good though, on the five occasions I have been there. Bring your own booze and dine in an elegant log cabin that is something out of architectural digest. Solid time

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Vermont Experience”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My friends and I had a great evening here. I've been wanting to do a farm-to-table dining experience for a while. This did not disappoint. The dirt road that leads to the restaurant offers beautiful views and you know you're on your way to something special. Once you get there, you can have drinks (BYOB) on the porch, which overlooks a beautiful pasture. Once seated, we were quickly brought bread and then the sweet corn soup with feta and tomatoes. It was amazzzing! Then came the Osso Bucco over succotash. I wasn't sure what to expect, but it was lovely, so incredibly tender. Soon came dessert, which was beet ice cream and some kind of chocolate souffle. It was good, but not the best of the night - that belonged to the soup. Our servers were very attentive and friendly. The only negative side of the evening was how hot the dining room was. Though it is spacious, it is not air-conditioned and it was a humid, hot day. Dining was a bit uncomfortable, but soon forgotten after the wonderful food and service. If you are looking for that unique farm-to-table experience that Vermont offers, this is it!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lcny2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Vermont Terroir”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This restaurant typifies the best of the Vermont dining scene: great location with view that showcases the surrounding landscape; architecture that feels genuine to the locale; personal and attentive service; and dishes, while maybe not the most refined, feel crafted and sincere, and have a complex earthiness that can be identified in Vermont and Northern New England meats, produce, dairy products, beers and spirits. The Cloudland Farm beef used in the osso bucco entree had a depth of flavor that one rarely experiences in meats from the grocery store or big city steakhouses. Our daughter loved the buttery richness of the center bone marrow spread on the farm's rustic bread. The sweet corn soup tasted like a liqufied version of roadside stand corn that is one of the highlights of New England summers. I, for one, really appreciate what the owners and staff have created with this place. Thanks!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kreino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cloudland Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing