We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific food”
Review of Melaza Bistro

Melaza Bistro
Ranked #4 of 30 Restaurants in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: American, Latin, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our goal is to provide you and your guest with a casual fine dining experience where classic New England cuisine meets with subtle tropical flavors. !Let Melaza be your Place for Dining.....Enjoy Melaza's relaxed and refined atmosphere featuring outdoor seating on the front patio and back terrace. (Weather permitting). We offer Gluten Free, Tapas and Diner options.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Terrific food”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I went here for dinner with my wife and daughter. The staff was very friendly and the food was great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripper1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    88
    33
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
204 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a family dinner here, and the food was outstanding. Don't come here if you're in a big hurry, but if you have time it is well worth the wait. We had the beef empanadas as an appetizer and they were really good, almost like pastry (wish I'd ordered 2), then some very tasty bread. For our main dishes we had the chicken sofritos (served with rice and fried plantains) and the vegetarian "piononos", both of which were top-notch. It's not a big place so reservations are recommended, the atmosphere is open and friendly. We had a great meal and will definitely be back on our next trip through Woodstock.

Helpful?
Thank Chaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food-Not to be missed in Woodstock, VT”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We are locals of this area and we try to eat at Melaza Caribean Bistro every week. Owner and Chef David does a great job prepairing fresh & flavorful appetizers (tapas) and entrees every night. We always look forward to trying his Specials and always enjoy all of the offerings on the menu. Some of our favorites include the roasted pork shank, the chicken 'au limon' and the seared sea scallops. One of my favorite appetizers is David's Fish Tacos that is not to be missed. If you have room for dessert, I suggest the Key Lime Pie. I believe it's his grandmother's recipe from Puerto Rico. The food here is always excellent and consistent every time we go here. Needless to say, the service is also excellent. You will enjoy the delightful Caribbean infused flavors in all of the unique sauces. If you are in the Woodstock neighborhood, check it out. Melaza Bistro will not disappoint you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stormywinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Woodstock, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We love Melaza's. The food is fantastic, Caribbean/Puerto Rican cuisine. It's on the pricy side, but so is all of Woodstock. But it's a very comfortable place to dine and the staff is very friendly, especially the owner. Best Mojitos around!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthWoodstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had to go back for seconds:-)!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I went to Melaza for Valentine' Day and planned on having a sort of tapas style meal but the specials sounded so great we had a regular meal with a fabulous "tapas special"... it was so good, in fact, that we had to go back a couple of nights later and have that tapas meal we had missed out on so that we could have more of those lovely little things. This place is a real treat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vthorseco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melaza Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing