We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive”

Red Rooster at The Woodstock Inn and Resort
Ranked #7 of 30 Restaurants in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 106 South Street
Woodstock, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have eaten her several times. The food has varied from excellent to poor. The service also has varied from excellent to poor. When this restaurant is good, it's really good, but I will share my worst experience, we had a group of 8 and the service was unbelievably slow. We waited for over an hour and half once we were seated and ordered, to get our meals. The staff was apologetic, and kept us happy with more drinks.... Well when we got the bills for each couple, we were horrified at the prices per drink!! I think they kept us waiting just so we would drink more and have to pay their exorbitant prices!! Unbelievable!!! The food we were expecting to be expensive, but when it came, the food was awful. I think it really depends on what staff is working, as to what type of experience you will have. The Sunday brunches are nice, but again, bring your wallet... Nothing is what I would call affordable! The atmosphere is very nice however. Not a restaurant that kids will enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravlr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    105
    51
    25
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Farm-Fresh and Delicious”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Granted, it is a restaurant in a historic Inn, but it is a great one at that. Wide variety of choices. Interesting children's menu. Breakfast was just okay, but lunch and dinner were excellent. Do not miss the cheddar ale soup if it is on the menu. Far superior to the famous one at Simon Pierce. They have their own farm, or as they call it a "garden," and you can taste the fresh ingredients.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacoba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Connecticut, United States
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Super friendly service. Delicious food. Ate here three times. Twice for breakfast and once for dinner. Newly renovated and beautiful views. The people bend over backwards to accommodate. They remember you and your likes and dislikes and what you did the day before. There was a draft and they saw me give my daughter my sweater. They offered to not only turn up the heat, but to go back to our room and get another sweater/jacket. The food is unique and beautifully prepared. I had a house made pasta and my husband had the swordfish special. Both were lovely. So was the homemade bread. The breakfast buffet was ample with many yummy choices like apple french toast and Woodstock sticky buns, including the standards like omlettes and all your eggs and cereals. I would definitely eat at the hotel again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarrieM525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great for breakfast (omelette station good, very fresh and tasty choices), good for dinner but I expected a quieter setting compared to their pub, but it was not particularly quiet!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DayTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

we had lunch and breakfast here while staying at the hotel. Slightly odd feel about the place - bit too clinical, they could do with making it feel a little warmer. however the food and service was great. Can definitely recommend their chowder for lunch and fabulous blueberry pancakes for breakfast - yum! Quite pricey though...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JimzoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Rooster at The Woodstock Inn and Resort also viewed

 

Been to Red Rooster at The Woodstock Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing