We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bathroom, but room not outstanding for price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2009

OK, let's cut to the chase - our room had the best appointed bathroom of any hotel we have visited - good size, well designed, spotlessly clean and everything in its place. It probably helped that it looked pretty new. The room itself was OK - beautiful linen and comfortable beds, but it had two 4 posted queen beds, which was a little overwhelming in a smallish room. That said, it was a nice room, just didn't quite justify the $250 price.
Service was polite and friendly. Great location close to the centre of Woodstock. But will probably try a locally run B&B for our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2009

To begin with we are long time customers of the Woodstock Inn and have been going there on and off for about twenty years now. We have made friends with many of the long time employees of the inn and when our boys were younger used to have the teenage children of the employees of the inn babysit the boys while we would go to dinner in the dining room.

Well that was then and this is now. The Woodstock Inn today is not the Woodstock Inn that Laurence Rockefeller loved so much that he bought and rebuilt it on the same site as the original inn in the mid 60's. I suppose a lot of it has to do with progress but the rooms have lost their cute and cozy charm with the handmade quilts on the beds and have been transformed into metropolitan cubicles complete with bathrooms outfitted with chrome and glass galore. The lobby sports not the comfortable sofas and overstuffed chairs of yesterday placed before the majestic inn fireplace but uncomfortable sticks of furniture right from the chic catalogs of purveyors of such items. The biggest disappointment of all was the closing of the main dining room which offered one of the most beautiful places in the world to have a nice quiet dinner by candlelight replete with piano in the dining room that was played during a complete and chef inspired 5 course dinner which you would remember for some time to come. I have no explanation as to why the dining room was closed but can only guess it did not "fit in" with the new found Vermont Experience that the Woodstock was trying to impart. The new dining room (the Old Eagle Cafe) is best described as "Vermont Modern" with an ugly granite pool with a faux birch tree in dead center of the room. The menu has been revamped and the wonderful dinners in the old dining room are just fond memories. Its meat, fish and chicken in the new dining room. The seating is best described as "bench style booths" not quite the setting you would expect for a true Vermont experience certainally not the cozy ambiance of the former dining room with its warm inviting candlelit tables with fresh white tablecloth linens and waiters ready to respond to your every wish and need.

We decided that this would be our last visit to the Woodstock Inn, better to remember it the way it once was and cherish the memories of cold winter nights sitting before the majestic and roaring lobby fireplace after a delightful dinner in the old dining room rather than the unfamiliar and rather un Vermont like place that it has been transformed into. Bye Woodstock Inn, I'll always remember you!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyperboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We have been visiting the Inn for many years and this may have been our last visit. Despite it's size, the Inn used to be charming and the best of what one might expect of a large Vermont country inn. Most of the staff had been with the Inn for several years and service was excellent. However, on our most recent trips we found that the Inn is changing to a "resort" and service has deteriorated.
Pros: Welcoming fireplace, tea and cookies in the library at 4:00, golf course challenging and a very accomodating and friendly golf staff, Concierge helpful.
Cons: Very modern restaurant and bar in the lobby look like they belong in a New York City hotel, not Vermont. Breakfast buffet is disappointing, overpriced for $15 (plus gratuity!). My husband wanted a fried egg and it was not available -- we were told we must select from the buffet. Apparently a larger buffet is available on weekends, not sure if the price is the same. Property is being torn up while they construct a $10million spa, even though they have a large fitness facility a mile down the road. With the exception of the Concierge, staff is not friendly and most look unhappy. View from our "mini-suite" was the top of the roof. Inn is attracting more conventions and bus tours.
Some of the shopkeepers in town told us that they have also heard similar concerns from guests of the Inn.
It appears that the owners of the Inn can't decide what they want to be-- a large luxury resort that could be in any large US city, or a luxury country inn in Vermont. We love the town of Woodstock. It is an easy trip from Boston, and the town has many interesting shops, not to mention the wonderful Prince & Pauper restaurant. However, we will probably stay in one of the lovely Bed & Breakfast Inns on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eliza6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

The Woodstock Inn and Resort was a very special place to stay during our trip. It has all the trimmings that you would expect for this type of high-end hotel - the entrance lobby and reception were beautiful, and I can only imagine how wonderful it must be when the open fire is lit.

The staff were all very courteous and friendly, and very happy to give advice and their knowledge on the local area. The room was very spacious, with a King size bed, and a nice big bathroom.
One downside I would point out is that we were charged $4 each day purely to have our room checked - when you are paying the sort of prices that are charged you'd like to think that they could stretch to cover this extra fee.

The area surrounding the Inn is also beautiful, although Woodstock itself did get very busy when we visited on a weekend.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone in the Vermont region, even more so when their Spa opens

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrLinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Stayed one night here. Was able to get a fabulous deal booking directly through the hotel. The hotel had such character. There was a roaring fire in the huge stone fireplace when we walked in. Warm freshly baked cookies and different types of tea and coffee were waiting in the library. Rick, the bartender, was a pleasant fellow who designed a drink especially to my liking. The free continental breakfast was pleasantly wonderful and much more than continental. There were scrambled eggs, sticky buns, fruit, muffins, toast, really anything you could ask for. We enjoyed exploring the different lounges in the hotel as well. The only gripe we had was that the parking lot for some reason was mobbed and the overflow was a bit of a walk away. I look forward to going there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaniceM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

First Visit to the Inn. The lunch alone is enough reason to return. It was a large family gathering with all ages and needs. The space was lovely roomy. The restaurant was very busy but our service was persoanal. The squash soup was so good I went online to get the receipt. The food was outstanding tasty, nicely garnished seasonally appropriate, perfectly presented, each dish was not only correct to its tradition, but perfectly seasoned to taste and served at the correct temperature. I have rarely been as impressed with a restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David04105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed at the Woodstock Inn for Columbus Day weekend (2009). The Woodstock Inn is a nice enough place in a great town. The room was adequate, but could have been better for the $420 per night we spent. For example, there was no mini bar and breakfast was not included. The thing I found most disappointing was the service. It seemed to us that the Inn had just grabbed whoever they could off the street to work in the place. The Restaurant (Red Rooster) staff for the most part was inexperienced and always got the food wrong or was rude. The breakfast buffet staff was also very rude (almost harassing about what room we were staying inn or when we would pay the bill). The bright spot of the service really was the "Guest Services" department. Overall, we had a good time, but I really do think they should drop the "Resort" from the title. When I think of resorts, I think of being completely pampered like when you go to a resort in the Caribbean or Mexico, and this was not even close. I am aware that this is the busiest time of year for all Vermont Inn's, but in my opinion the Inn's should know this and staff appropriately.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAtraveler0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
1.8 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
454 reviews
4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
296 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
536 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
17.7 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Inn and Resort

Address: Fourteen The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091-1283
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: $276 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodstock Inn and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vermont's Most Beautiful Address. Woodstock Inn & Resort is a year-round destination in the village of Woodstock, Vermont that embraces the vision of Laurance and Mary Rockefeller. With a legacy that’s deeply rooted in the Woodstock community, the Inn is cherished for its preservation of New England history, heritage, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Woodstock Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing