We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2009

We just spent three nights at the Woodstock Inn. Both our room and the exterior of the hotel were absolutely beautiful. Highly recommend getting a fireplace room in the winter months .. it was worth it! Guest services was very accommodating and called us a couple of days before check in to see if they could help make any dinner or activity reservations. We loved the location .. the inn is walking distance from all the shops and restaurants in the historic downtown Woodstock and there are so many fantastic outdoor activities within a short distance. We did dine at the Red Rooster on Friday night. While the oysters rockefeller were amazing, the rest of the meal was only mediocre and probably not worth the price. There are so many other great options in town and in the area to check out. The buffet breakfast was good (if you like a buffet format) and Richardson's Tavern is a great, cozy option for late afternoon or after dinner drinks. I did not like the kitschy gift shop or jewelry display in the reception area .. made the hotel feel too large and commercial. All in all, these were very small negatives. We were tremendously happy with our stay and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bankstreettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,198 - 1,204 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2009

We decided to visit with 6 other friends for a short midweek getaway. One of the couples has been to the inn before so we were all very excited.

The reservations people were very helpful and kind as we must have called them 10 times before we booked. The midweek ski package is GREAT!

When we checked into the inn late due to weather there was no bellman in site. A tall girl at the front desk seem very put out to have to check us in.

The next day a very perky girl at the desk explained about the package and shuttle service. Much more delightful experience.

The people at the ski area were great. The ski shop was very helpful as this was my first time skiing.

The only downside was the dining options. Very limited and the couple that had been before said it had been much better in the past.

That night we had dinner in The Red Rooster. Honestly if I had wanted to dine in a New York restaurant I would have said in the city. The food was ok, but WAY over priced for what it was. We cancelled our reservations for the rest of our stay and found some other great options like Simon Pearce, Kedron Inn and Simon Pearce. If we go back again we will eat out. Breakfast was good it you like a buffet.

Overall it was nice especially with the skiing package. We won't dine there again, but we will go back hopefully this summer.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liketotravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed at the Inn for the last couple of days of December and New Year's Eve with our two children (ages 6 and 5)---The room (a suite) was plainly decorated, clean and had a terrific flat screen TV---The concierge(s) were cheerful and helpful---New Year's eve hotel events featured a kids party with pizza and crafts, which was really fun. Two concerns for family travelers--First--Prices at the Inn's Red Rooster restaurant for kids meals were out of sight ($12.50 for grilled cheese!) and other in-hotel options were not much better---Service at the Red Rooster also was very slow and inattentive--- You'll want to check out other alternatives for the kids--even if that means a short drive--Second, the concierge booked a couple of outside services (i.e. sleigh ride) for us but didn't tell us that 3d party service providers expect to be paid in cash (no credit cards)--Head to the ATM before undertaking any out of hotel event and ASK the concierge to confirm payment policies. Kid's skiing at Suicide Six was great fun, although you'll want to drive and park on your own---The hotel's shuttle there was not particularly fast or reliable---Hope they fix that problem---Overall, a great --but not inexpensive---famly getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

I love this hotel. Its a great place for a fall or winter weekend.
I am not a huge fan of B&B's, which a ton of places are in VT - so the Woodstock Inn is perfect for me. The rooms are simple, yet classy. The decor is understated and attractive.
The bar is really cozy, and a fun place to spend an afternoon drinking and watching football. My only complaint about the bar is that they don't serve food. It makes no sense since the restaurant has a full kitchen right down the hall.
The rooms with a fireplace are a plus, and the town of Woodstock is my favorite in all of Vermont. The location of this hotel is perfect, right in the center of town.
The service is not anything special, but you do not really need that much here.
I'd recommend this place to anyone looking for a cozy relaxing New England weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Aspen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

We went to Woodstock Inn & Resort last minute. We generally stay at the Equinox in Manchester, but since their upgrades to the hotel, we couldn't justify $800/night. So we tried Woodstock Inn. Upon arrival no bellman which was a bummer since we had plenty of bags to unload. No problem. We checked into our fireplace room which was a nice perk. We booked the post fall foliage special and were upgraded to a fireplace room for a nominal fee which was great. The room was small but efficient. Updated and decorated simply. Nice flat screen tv and bath area, but not many toiletries which is not a huge deal. We were here midweed and did not hear a peep from other rooms, we doubted that they were even booked, which was a plus. It was really quiet and pleasant!
Red Rooster restaurant was odd. The restaurant was decorated for a hip happening hotel in NYC not Vermont. It was oddly out of place and because of that, we felt out of place as well. The fountain in the middle of the restaurant had a "Las Vegas" feel to it. They missed the mark when they designed this restaurant, but they sure did put a pretty penny into it. Too bad, because if/when we go back we wouldn't eat here again. Plus we felt that the prices were out of this world for the food quality/quantity.
Too bad Richardson's Tavern does not serve food because this would be the perfect place to grab a sandwich or a burger and enjoy the atmosphere of Vermont.
Overall, we enjoyed the Inn. It certainly doesn't beat the Equinox for charm or service, but it comes close enough that we would consider coming here before shelling out $800/night.

Stayed: November 2008
2  Thank Homergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

My husband and I attended a conference held at this hotel. The conference facilities were very good, and the food served at the conference was excellent! It is conveniently located in the middle of Woodstock, so if you are looking to walk around the village, this is a good place to stay.

The rooms were very well maintained, and ours had a nice couch and desk. The only negative was that I had practically no cell phone reception in Woodstock--so make sure people can contact you via the hotel's phone number.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank J_from_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

The Woodstock Inn is a lovely inn in a charming New England town. It is located in the center of town within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the library. There are many cozy public areas at the inn to enjoy a cup of tea or a glass of wine while looking outside at the pretty grounds. Parking is in the front of the inn, it's close and free. The room we stayed in was immaculate and very comfortable, including a flat screen TV, a small refrigerator, and internet access. The bed was very comfortable. Everything in the room was new and fresh. This Inn deserves every excellent review it has received

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank takemeout15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
1.8 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
462 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
358 reviews
17 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
540 reviews
17.7 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
0.5 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Inn and Resort

Address: Fourteen The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091-1283
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: $260 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodstock Inn and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vermont's Most Beautiful Address. Woodstock Inn & Resort is a year-round destination in the village of Woodstock, Vermont that embraces the vision of Laurance and Mary Rockefeller. With a legacy that’s deeply rooted in the Woodstock community, the Inn is cherished for its preservation of New England history, heritage, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Woodstock Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing