We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A couple of issues but we would go back...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

That's the best way we could think to describe this review. My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days and it was a truly great experience. Very clean and beautiful room with a very comfortable king sized bed. The grounds are beautiful and the outdoor, saltwater pool was wonderful. Also, the spa alone is worth coming for. We've been to Mohonk a few times and the spa here won, hands down. You don't get the view of the mountains like Mohonk, but the signature spa treatment is amazing and for 100 minutes, the price can't be beat. Back to the hotel...

The first issue was breakfast. While a buffet was provided for a few days of our trip, it wasn't provided for the last. This wasn't due to it being a weekend or a weekday and no one could give us an answer as to why they would do a buffet sometimes but not others. The end result is that we now had to eat exactly what was offered at the buffet but now pay for each item a la carte, which costs much more. If they just did buffet on the weekends, I would understand, but to not have a clear reason in place as to why this is done is annoying. The breakfast was very tasty, but in the buffet my pancakes were cold, despite being on a sterno. I'm not sure why that would have been the case.

The other issue was with reserving the fire pit. There is a beautiful area behind the hotel with a fire pit. We were told by the front desk that we could come by any time to request use of the fire pit and were even told that there was no need for an advanced reservation. On our last night, we wanted to use it so we showed up around 8:15, asked if they could set it up, and were told that it was too late for the request and that all requests should be made before 8:00. Obviously, this was upsetting because if we had known there was a night time cut off, we would have requested the pit earlier in the day. They refused to make any exception about this even though we had been given the wrong information from another front desk clerk.

These two issues would not keep us from returning and now that we know about these things, we are prepared for our next trip. The place is located in a beautiful setting right in the town of Woodstock and there is so much to do in the surrounding area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for visiting Woodstock, and for your gracious and candid feedback. We too love The Spa, and we’re happy to see that you think it compares favorably with others in the area. I especially love the way we can incorporate a little bit of The Spa – cool lavender-infused towels, delicious anti-oxidant elixirs, and so on – at the pool for all our guests!

Thank you also for pointing out your small frustrations. Every detail really does affect your overall experience, and we want you to know that we are addressing the issues you point out with our leaders.

We hope to welcome you to Woodstock again very soon!
Yours truly, Rick Reno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Woodstock Inn & Resort a few times and decided to try it again for an overnight stay during our travels. We booked online through their website this time and found the reservation process easy… and accurate when we arrived as all the details were confirmed during our check-in.

We found the staff throughout the Inn to be very friendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff did their job extremely well as the Inn and room were spotless!

That was “The Good”… now here’s “The Bad”:

The building needs some major work as evident by the blown thermo pane seals in the windows of our room. This does two things: It obstructs the view through the windows since humidity and residue collect between the panes of glass making the windows look dirty… and it destroys the insulation ability of the windows.

The Red Rooster Dining Room (refinished some 6 years ago) is like a child that does not know what it wants to be when it grows up. The walls are stark and have no character with very little decorations; there are tavern-style tables throughout with no place mats nor linens, but with Shaker-chairs combined with 70’s retro-style booths. A stand of Birch trees in a large square water feature, plus a few standing lamps fashioned from trees around the room’s perimeter seem to be the only connection to the Green Mountains of Vermont. The entire space just left us with one thought, “What were they thinking?”

The food was lacking in consistency of preparation and finishing, although the Inn’s Red Rooster Dining Room boasts the “AAA Four-Diamond Award”… from which year? We don’t know, but we had dinner there. The appetizers were certainly not memorable. The main course had many glaring errors: The Northeastern Scallops had so much sand in them that we could have created our own beach. The Maine Lobster was almost non-existent in the Russet Potato Hash, but the very few pieces we did find were over cooked and rubbery. The Applewood Smoked Bacon had the texture of jerky that could be chewed for an hour.

It’s interesting to note that the Inn is booked solid each weekend for weddings throughout the entire summer of 2014. We can understand why when one considers the beauty of the property, but fear that if the kitchen staff don’t step up their game, the bride and groom and their guests will be very disappointed after such an important event in their lives.

Would we return to the Woodstock Inn & Resort? Yes. It is still a beautiful gem located in a pretty town in the heart of Vermont. Would we eat there again? Yes, but just breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amluckytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for visiting The Woodstock Inn, and for your thoughtful feedback. We appreciate your repeated business and are happy to hear that you’ll consider returning to The Inn the on your next visit to the area!

We especially appreciate your pointing out areas where we have opportunities to better meet your expectations, and want you to know that your input is important to the ongoing conversation among our leadership team as we craft the future of The Resort.

We look forward to your next visit to Woodstock, and hope to earn the same five-star rating you felt we deserved on your previous visit.

Very truly yours,
Rick Reno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The inn is just beautiful.....the grounds are well manicured and the lobby and hallways were pristine....nicely furnished and very grand.
The fitness center is about 1.5 miles down the road...my husband used it daily and was happy with it.
The staff at the inn was very friendly and on top of everything...I called for maintenance on our ac and maintenance was at our door within 5 minutes.
My only complaint is the bathroom....very very tight ....the sink is a pedestal and the toilet us right next to it...there is a large shelf behind the toilet for your make up etc but you have to climb over the toilet to reach anything. Other then that we loved the inn

Room Tip: Don't get a garden room....bathroom are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robingarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your thoughtful comments about your stay! We take pride in the way we care for our buildings and grounds, and being friendly and accessible to our guests whenever they have concerns. We’re happy that we were able to meet your needs and that you felt welcome here! I hope you’ll return soon, and would suggest you consider reserving your room by phone; our reservations team will be happy to help you choose a room that will meet your needs!

Very truly yours, Rick Reno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here on our first visit to Woodstock for a family wedding. The staff was great and the rooms were just what we pictured when booking through their website. The beds were VERY comfortable. Location is convenient to the center of town and shuttles are provided to the off site fitness center and Billings Farm. The on site restaurant was great for brunch and lunch, we did not have a chance to have dinner there. This is truly the nicest spot in town!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelleybutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for including The Woodstock Inn in your family wedding, and for the gracious review! We are so happy to be part of the memories you and your family will share of this joyous occasion, and hope you’ll all be back to Woodstock to celebrate many, many anniversaries! Next trip, you’ll have to be sure to allow time for dinner at The Red Rooster… we have some outstanding regional dishes, and lots of fresh goodies from our organic gardens!
Thanks again, Rick Reno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a great deal for a booking for the Woodstock Inn through AMEX, so I booked a three night stay. Parking was great, convenient, and at no additional charge. Everyone at the Inn was very friendly - always saying hello, asking where we were from, etc. There is a very nice green in middle section of the inn that's great for relaxing and reading a good book. There was an outdoor pool that was open, but it was May when we visited and still a bit too cool for us to check it out. The Inn is actually pretty long (kind of a U shape) and there was a bit of a walk to our room, but we didn't mind. There was also convenient access to the green from where our room was located. We ate at the Tavern every night of our stay - the food was good, the staff was great, and it was really convenient. The Inn is in walking distance to shops and restaurants in Woodstock. It is also in walking distance to some of the trails to Mount Tom. I would stay here again if we received another deal on the room rate, otherwise the rooms are a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddupont1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thanks for visiting, and for the candid review! We’re especially happy that you found our staff to be welcoming… that’s what we’re here for! You’ll have to come back this summer to take advantage of the warmer weather (great for hiking on Mounts Tom and Peg, or just lounging by the pool!), and the new summer menu in Richardson’s Tavern. Please do keep checking our website, as we have some great summer packages with golf, Spa treatments, and more at very attractive prices!
All the best, Rick Reno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Beautiful 1700s Inn, resort, spa, restaurant and golf course located in the heart of historic Woodstock Vermont. The staff is A1 courteous and gracious. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. This is a place everyone should experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AAOK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thanks for visiting, and for your generous review! Our history and the relationship we enjoy with this beautiful little town are a big part of what makes a visit to Woodstock special, and we agree that the courtesy and grace of our people are really the resort’s foundation. We’ve shared your comments all around, and are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit… we hope to see you again, to experience Woodstock in all four seasons!
Very truly yours, Rick Reno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I went to the Woodstock Inn last weekend for a wedding, and ended up having an amazing time at both the hotel as well as the festivities.

The Inn is located on the "main" drag in Woodstock, walking distance to everything you might want to see in town. We had a King Bed, and it was probably one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. My friend and I actually looked at the tags and are both going to be buying the linens! The bathroom was a good size - just not a big fan of the Spa branded products they provided.

Everyone at the hotel was great, especially the bartenders and housekeepers, everyone always had a smile on their face. We ended up getting breakfast in the room, and it was pretty great for hotel food. Additionally, we visited the spa on the last day there, which was great, and the hotel was more than happy to extend us a late checkout. The Spa was AMAZING - clean, modern, and relaxing - especially the eucalyptus steam room. The massage was also great - I recently had surgery and the masseuse was very accommodating not to upset it.

The rehearsal dinner was hosted at the Inn, and the food was spectacular. They also catered the wedding, which was also great, and again all of the staff was extremely pleasant.

I can not recommend this place enough - it is a bit pricey but well worth it - especially if you are there for a romantic weekend. I wish I had been there longer to enjoy the pool which also looks great!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Digmurlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thanks you for the glowing review! We do love hosting weddings, and it’s especially rewarding to be able to share in such special and memorable events. The best thing about weddings, though, is that they bring new people to the Woodstock area, and give us the chance to show off our beautiful little town. We’re happy to have pleased you, and look forward to seeing you again soon!
All the best,
Rick Reno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
1.8 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
462 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
358 reviews
17 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
540 reviews
17.7 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
0.5 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Inn and Resort

Address: Fourteen The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091-1283
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: $260 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodstock Inn and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vermont's Most Beautiful Address. Woodstock Inn & Resort is a year-round destination in the village of Woodstock, Vermont that embraces the vision of Laurance and Mary Rockefeller. With a legacy that’s deeply rooted in the Woodstock community, the Inn is cherished for its preservation of New England history, heritage, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Woodstock Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing