We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Grayson, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great romantic getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Went this past weekend with my girlfriend. It was a fantastic experience. The Woodstock Inn is a hotel the way they used to be. Friendly attentive staff and warm atmosphere. We were only able to stay for the weekend, but everyone was great. While we did not have time to enjoy the area long, there were shuttles to get you around, and everything was within a short distance of the Inn. We had dinner in the Red Rooster, and were impressed with the food. Highly recommend staying here when in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks for visiting, and for the nice review! We're glad you enjoyed your romantic weekend at The Woodstock Inn, and look forward to welcoming you again soon, when you can stay a little longer and take full advantage of everything the area has to offer!
Yours truly, Rick Reno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    213
    86
    35
    22
See reviews for
252
586
23
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This resort has an amazing spa, good food and great all-around service. I am 5 months pregnant, and to celebrate my birthday, we came here. I could not ski or do much of the outdoor activities, or bars, so we spent much of our time at the spa. I will say the staff is great here. My only complaint is that it's really for either families or older (60+) couples. Lot's of locals come to the restaurants. Not much to do in town. Spa treatments are expensive, but worth it.

There are different types of rooms too. We got lucky and upgraded to the bridal suite - which was amazing. The fireplace rooms are definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Fireplace rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velocigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for visiting, and for sharing your impressions of The Resort. I'm glad to see you enjoyed The Spa and the fireplace in your room! We look forward to welcoming you and your new baby soon, when you can take full advantage of all the wonderful outdoor recreation in the Woodstock Area!
Yours truly, Rick Reno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

As a frequent Vermont-vacationing snob (in a good way!) I've visited almost every town in this beautiful state, and Woodstock has to be one of the prettiest, surrounding the attractive Woodstock Inn. The second time I stayed here was even better as it was the first weekend in November and a cold one. The main lobby fireplace is such a relaxing spot after a day of travel and there are quite a few common rooms to sit and enjoy the setting. Concierge staff are very accommodating to anything you may need at the inn or nearby attractions (please take advantage of their free admission to Billings Farm -terrific place). I stayed in the tavern/fireplace wing, a favorite just to have a real fire in your room is special, especially in the cool months. Dinner was very good in Richardson's tavern, it a casual atmosphere with lit lanterns and fireplace. The village by the inn has a large variety of shops- there is something for everyone. The one thing I would have liked to try was their spa (next time). The staff very friendly and great products to try. I would encourage anyone visiting Vermont to stop here first, through the covered bridge and across to the green.

Room Tip: The tavern wing an excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hi Karen-
Thank you for visiting, and for the wonderful review! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, and agree that a room with a real fireplace is a great treat! We wish you could be here today to watch the woods fill up with snow, and look forward to seeing you again soon… and this time let’s not overlook The Spa!
Yours truly- Rick Reno
Training Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
247 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was my 5th stay in the Woodstock Inn and while there I booked another stay for January. The Inn is just beautiful and the people who work there are very professional while still being very down to earth. We stayed for 4 nights and had a fireplace room. There was an ample supply of firewood at all times. We ate at both restaurants and both were great. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojoruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for visiting, and for the nice review! There's something special about a room with a real, old-fashioned fireplace; and we're glad you also enjoyed dining in The Red Rooster and "The Tavern."

We're all looking forward to welcoming you back to Woodstock in the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed at the Inn on business this fall. The fire in the lobby fireplace is such a "warm" welcome. The front desk staff could not have been friendlier and more efficient. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The dining room staff is very professional and attentive. The down side to the resort from a conference attendees point of view is noise distraction. The meeting room we were in must abut a service area because half way through the presentation, it sounded like staff were setting up a bar and at times quite disruptive. That being said, the meeting rooms are state of the art and very attractive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tine1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Woodsotck Inn & Resort, and for your thoughtful review. We pride ourselves on our "warm" welcomes and are glad to hear you enjoyed both the fire and the friendliness of our staff!

Thanks also for your comments about our meeting spaces. We'll address your concerns with our management team, and strive to make your next experience here ven more rewarding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We are currently staying at the Woodstock Inn and it is beautiful. The staff could not be any nicer. We are in a fireplace room and highly recommend it in the winter. The one caveat I have is we are in Room 113 on the first floor that faces the side and there is a very loud hum outside our window that goes off frequently. I would not recommend this room. We don't know if it's the elevator mechanism or what it is, but if you are sensitive to sound (like I am) this loud intermittent hum will drive you nuts. I'd suggest getting a room on the second floor or to make sure you check outside your window to see what mechanics are lying in wait.
The only other item that we thought would be a nice touch is the restaurant. I had hoped they would have given it a bit more ambiance given it's such a highly rated restaurant. If they would just put white tablecloths on the mission style tables it might make the place feel more like fine dining. The food is great, but the ambiance is lacking. There is no warmth to the restaurant and nothing that makes it feel special. I would recommend eating in the Tavern instead which has tons of ambiance and warmth due to the dark wood and the fireplace. Again, my experience is based solely on the winter season.

Room Tip: Do not choose Room 113 due to the loud hum outside the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misssaintsomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for the complimentary review. We're glad you are enjoying the Tavern Wing room and its wood-burning fireplace, and the friendliness of our staff!

Please know that we appreciate your comments; our management team will discuss and address them.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you to Woodstock again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Afraid I have to disagree with Dana. We just returned from a 4 day stay celebrating our 30th anniversary (our 4th stay in as many years. Yes there was a Saturday wedding at the Inn, but hardly noticeable. Staff could not have been nicer and went the extra mile. Our waitress, Ashley a delight!. A wonderfully romantic weekend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fcramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Happy 30th Anniversary! We are delighted you had an enjoyable return to Woodstock, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
1.8 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
0.5 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
17.8 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Inn and Resort

Property: Woodstock Inn and Resort
Address: Fourteen The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091-1283
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodstock Inn and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large and luxurious traditional Vermont inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Woodstock Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing