We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Billings Farm & Museum
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A scenic stroll from the village center of Woodstock, Vermont, Billings Farm & Museum is regarded as one of the finest outdoor history museums in the country. Combining a fully-operating Jersey dairy farm with educational exhibits and interactive programs and events, Billings Farm & Museum is committed to providing education and enjoyment to visitors of all ages. From meeting our award-winning Jersey dairy cows, draft horses, and sheep, to exploring the carefully restored 1890 Farm House, sampling Billings Farm cheddar, and taking part in hands-on activities, there really is something for everyone. Daily livestock programs and hands-on activities, afternoon milking, audiovisual presentations, museum shop, dairy bar. We are open Apr 1-Oct 31., 10-5; weekends Nov.-Feb., & Christmas & Feb. vacation weeks 10-4.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This place gets such top billing in the area, but it seems to us just a fancy place to take the children when its wet - I can't think of any other reason to go. I don't like the way they take the calves from the cows as soon as they are born.....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GetawayAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    103
    19
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
168 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Relaxing place to visit”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stopped here on our fall foliage tour. It was so beautiful, relaxing, and even educational! We enjoyed touring the barns, seeing the animals and seeing someone actually cook on a wood burning stove! The maple walnut ice cream was delicious! It must have been made from the jersey cows they milk. I'm not sure if there's a fee because we were on a tour and our excursions were included in our tour price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for families. Great for any age. Extremely well done.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is what you expect when you come to Vermont, a wonderful farm that's been in the family for generations and is still there to let you see all its history. Okay, just because the Rockefellers were involved makes it just a wee bit special but actually just all the more interesting. The farm is conveniently just outside Woodstock, VT, a great place by itself, and is very well run. Can't recommend it strongly enough.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank andrewhmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must see in Vermont”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you love dairy cows you will love this place. The museum and various buildings on the site are wonderful. Children of all ages will truly enjoy the visit. It was great to learn how several families kept the rural countryside and simple farm life in Vermont; bringing it to life. Minimal entrance fee - well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveBcrofton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakehurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend an afternoon!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A fantastic museum about Vermont farming and an open farm house to tour. Lots of friendly and informative staff to explain about the different aspects of farming. We went during the Harvest Festival and there was a barn dance and old fashioned wooden lawn games and cider pressing, lots of activities for families with small children. Or you can just walk the grounds and enjoy the animals, chickens, cows, horses, sheep, and of course beautiful Vermont!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billings Farm & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Billings Farm & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing