We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Arco de la Villa
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing view!!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2009

I spend 2 nights in Arco de la villa's only single room in September 2009. This hotel is simply the best you find in Zahara - and this actually says a lot even though it's a small village! The view from all the rooms is breathtaking! The front desk and staff are present 24 hours, and they are very friendly, helpful and informative, even though they only speak spanish! The room was big and cosy, it had a flatscreen tv and a large clean bathroom. Breakfast could be enjoyed in the restaurant, and the hotel has an elevator as well. All rooms are situated at level -1 and -2, and front desk and the restaurant is at level 0. This unfortunatelty means that the rooms on the level -1 are very noisy! I had room 1 next to the staircase and the elevator, and just on top of my room was the front desk, where there were activity all 24 hours. You could hear a buzz all night from some kind of generator... But none the less was this a great hotel experience, and I would easily provide this hotel with one or two more stars! Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeikaAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    43
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Stayed a Sunday night in mid-October '08 and felt that it was, overall, a good value. View from the room was truly spectacular - almost like flying it was so high up. The only issue we had was related to noise level due to (1) the cafeteria being directly overhead and (2) construction work (no power equipment - just talking and hand work) going on at base of the hotel structure, directly below the guest room windows, starting around 7:30 a.m. Keep in mind that because of the hotel's physical setting the main level with reception and restaurant are on the upper level with the guest rooms on two lower levels. On balance, the noise from above is during the day (Sunday was, I think a busier time than usual) and the noise from below is not all that bad and temporary in nature. We'll stay there again.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger_Samson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Easily the best choice in Zahara, Arco de la Villa has a commanding view of the town. The room was simple and basic, but clean and a good value for the money (only around 50-60 euros IIRC). The room also had a really nice view of the reservoir near Zahara, and is within walking distance of the Moorish castle and the town, which was my favorite pueblo blanco (or "white village") in Andalucia.

P.S. Breakfast at the hotel rocks - it doesn't get any more traditional Spanish style than that.

  • Liked — Great value, nice view in Zahara
  • Disliked — Very basic, although clean, accomodations
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfLover_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC Canada
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2007

We spent 2 nights here. All rooms have a view over the valley and lake. It is close to the town square and restaurants (3 minute walk). Parking is available on the roof. The restaurant is below the parking, then 2 floors of rooms below that.

Our only suggestion would be ask for a room on the bottom floor(which is the farthest away from the restuarant). Why? Because if you are on the floor right under the restaurant you get all the noise of the chairs on the tile floor right over your head.

Rooms are basic but clean and we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast is included and is the basic Spanish meal with bread, coffee and jam or olive oil.

  • Liked — the view and location in the village
  • Disliked — noise from the tiled floor in restaurant above
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljlp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zahara de la Sierra
6.3 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
608 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#2 of 4 in Grazalema
142 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Las Truchas
Hotel Las Truchas
#3 of 3 in El Bosque
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hotel del Carmen
Hotel del Carmen
#1 of 1 in Prado del Rey
86 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
#9 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
45 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Villa de Algar
Hotel Villa de Algar
#2 of 2 in Algar
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arco de la Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arco de la Villa

Property: Hotel Arco de la Villa
Address: Camino Nazari, s/n, 11688 Zahara de la Sierra, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Zahara de la Sierra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Zahara de la Sierra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Arco de la Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Arco de la Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing