We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem with fantastic food, great accomodation and wonderful staff.”
Review of Al Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Lago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2010

A truly lovely hidden gem that we could thoroughly recommend, we had two nights stay at Al Lago. The only place to eat at Zahara is here you will not be disappointed the food was fantastic. Stefan,Mona,Tony & Victoria were all very attentive and could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn54England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Al Lago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 158 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2010

A group of us had a meal here to celebrate a birthday and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The food and service were first class and the choice of wines was also excellent. Mona, the owner, was very friendly and accommodating and even arranged for a special dessert for the person in our group who was celebrating his birthday. All in all a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErikaManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Al Lago is a beautiful hotel... the dining terrace looks out over the lake, and the rooms are nicely done. Mona, one of the owners, was extremely friendly and gave us advice on what to see and how to get there. The one thing I would mention is that although their website claims that the rooms look out over the lake, there are actually large trees blocking the view of the lake, so you couldn't see the view from our room or from any of the rooms on our floor. I'm not sure if you can see over the trees if you are on the top floor.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sashasmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

This hotel is in a truly stunning location right at the top of the Lake. The owners Stefan and Mona Crites are super hosts. The rooms are great and the food in the restaurant is first class. If you are looking for somewhere with class look no further.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malcjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We spent four lovely nights at Al Lago, beautifully situated in the typical Andalucian village of Zahara, overlooking a reservoir. Mona and Stefan take great pride in their hotel and restaurant, and it shows - good service, four comfortable, spotlessly clean rooms, and a wonderful small restaurant (try the lamb or the stuffed local trout). Al Lago is the kind of small inn where the owners' personal touch is evident throughout.
Since Stefan is American and and Mona is British, English speakers will have no problems here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chandulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Zahara de la Sierra was such a lovely find on our recent mini-cycling tour of the Serrania de Ronda. And this hotel was the icing on the cake. Overlooking the beautiful lake, a gorgeously stylish hotel, with amazingly good service into the bargain. We were really warmly greeted, shown to our room, and offered drinks in our room straight away. The room itself was wonderful, with views over the lake, and a fabulous bathroom - very spacious, with a bath, and a walk-in shower. The staff took great care of us in the bar, the restaurant, with local information, and even taking care of our bikes for us. We had a problem with lost passports and credit cards, which the owner handled extremely calmly with us, even going to the trouble of driving us to the next village to hunt for our lost passports. Service was well beyond the call of duty. Full marks to Al Lago. Great hotel, restaurant and hosts. We had a fantastic and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank etwickenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I am glad to see that Al Lago is now listed in TripAdvisor - I tried to write a review last Ocober after we visited. We were visiting English friends who now live outside of and they suggested we meet here for a night on our way back from Cordoba. Beautiful setting overlooking the lake. The outdoor restaurant is a great place to kick back with a glass of wine or for dinner. As another reviewer mentioned, Stephan who is American is a good chef - we had a leisurely dinner outside. His wife Mona is very friendly and accomadating also. Mona and Stephan recently remodeled the hotel and the rooms are good sized, neat, clean and have great bathrooms stocked with upscale toiletries. Our room had a wonderful view of the lake.

Mona will set you up with maps of local hiking trails which unfortunately we didn't have time to do.

Make sure you walk up into town - one of those typical Spanish white washed villages. Above the town is an abandon castle with incredible views of the lake, town and surrounding areas. The ride over the mountain to Grazalema is fantastic. It was closed for paving when we tried it but saw enough before we had to turn around to realize just how pretty it was. Also visit the olive oil factory on the edge of town.

A truly great place to get away from the crowds down on the Med and experience real Spanish living.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SaxyfromAubrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zahara de la Sierra
6.4 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
620 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#2 of 4 in Grazalema
145 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel del Carmen
Hotel del Carmen
#1 of 1 in Prado del Rey
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
#4 of 4 in Grazalema
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marques de Zahara
Marques de Zahara
#2 of 3 in Zahara de la Sierra
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arco de la Villa
Hotel Arco de la Villa
#5 of 6 in Zahara de la Sierra
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Lago

Address: Calle Felix Rodriguez de La Fuente 11, 11688 Zahara de la Sierra, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Zahara de la Sierra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Zahara de la Sierra
Price Range: $81 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel with spectacular views of Zahara´s lake. We have a well known restaurant open for lunch and dinner, serving local produce (some from our farm). The cuisine is rustic with innovative touches featuring local specialities such as wild boar, pork cheeks, paellas and in summer a wide array of fish. We also have vegetarian and vegan options, daily specials, home made desserts and an extensive wine cellar featuring many local bodegas.In addition Al lago has as a bar serving drinks, tapas and baked goods all day long. Breakfast is a buffet of fresh fruit salads, cereals, yoghurts, fresh juice, cold cuts and patés, boiled eggs, Andalucian tomato puree, breads and hot beverages.All our spacious, thoughtfully decorated en-suite double bedrooms have their own balcony with wrought iron doors, large beds, flat-screen satellite TV, built in wardrobes and rain showers. There is wifi in public areas and guests can use the hotel computer if need be. Al Lago has free on road parking and access is by recently asphalted road. We are surrounded by fabulous walking country with the Garganta Verde and many other hikes on our doorstep. Located on the edge of a typical white village/pueblo blanco into which you can wander and enjoy local bars and shops. A paradise for walkers, birders, cyclists, foodies, botanists, painters and horse riding enthusiasts. The architectural wonder of Ronda is half an hour away and other lovely white villages close by. Roman ruins, oilve oil mills and wine bodegas can be visited in the area also. For swimming the playita (spring fed mini lake) and local pool are open from mid June until Mid September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Al Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing