We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel & restaurant in lovely area”
Review of Al Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Lago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed at the Al Lago for two nights, on our way from Seville to Marbella. It is a top-class hotel (at a very modest price) with a lovely restaurant. The rooms are beautifuly styled and large, and the restaurant is brilliant.

The area is wonderful for walking, cycling (see www.grazalemaguide.com) and also for visting the beautiful towns and villges in the area including Ronda.

Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_Trip_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 163 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2011

We spent two nights at Al Lago and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The hotel overlooks the lake and we had a stunning view from our bedroom window. The room was spacious and and very tastefully furnished. The en suite bathroom was thoughtfully arranged and had lovely locally made toiletries. We ate in the restaurant both nights and would heartily recommend Stefan's creative approach to Spanish cuisine using locally sourced produce. Mona really knows how to look after her guests and make them feel welcome. All the staff were friendly and gave good service. The local area has much to offer in the way of walking, birdwatching and visiting pueblos blancos. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanaryXer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed three nights at Al Lago and it was one of the highlights of our three-week holiday in southern Spain... The restaurant was lovely, the food was exceptional, our well-designed and decorated room was spacious including a balcony and a view of the lake; and the staff were particularly friendly, warm and helpful. This restaurant and b&b make a great destination for anyone traveling to visit the white hill towns of the Andalucia!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank take_a_camera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

My Girlfriend and I receintly spent the weekend at Al Lago to celebrate her birthday.
The hotel is beautiful and very nicely finished.
On Arival we even got a complementary bottle of bubbly and a birthday card with my partners name in it waiting in the hotel room.
the food and wine was fantastic and the scenary around the vilage an hotel was breathtaking with views of the Lake from the bedroom window.
All in all a wonderful relaxing weekend with great servince and friendly people.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vintox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed at al lago for a week and indulged the relaxed atmosphere, great food and stunning environment close to the lake and Grazalema area. Owners were too kind and hospitable and know loads about the region. In one word: excellent!

Alphons Gerritsen

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sorprentas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Picturesque location, food to die for, welcoming staff, comfortable and charming accommodation, you can't go wrong! I can't wait to return, and would recommend heartily to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fizgiggery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

We spent our first four days in Spain at Zahara de la Sierra, enjoying a comfortable stay and great food at Al Lago!

Our spacious room was nicely decorated, and had a very comfortable king-size bed. French doors opened to a small balcony, with views overlooking the lane in front of the hotel, the hotel terrace with some lovely big trees, and the lake below. We appreciated the built-in closet and drawers, as well as ample counter space in the ensuite bathroom. There were also plentiful horizontal surfaces in the room, so it was easy to spread out, yet stay organized – a table near the entry for dropping keys, cameras, etc., two nightstands, a small table beside an easy chair, and a wall shelf (where candles and several paperback books were provided). A couple of suitcase racks would also have been helpful, as we prefer not to lay our suitcases on the floor.

The buffet breakfast provided in the dining room had everything we needed to get us going for the day, including great “café con leche” and fresh juice. We loved the décor of the dining room, especially the artwork and the “pop” of colour from the gauzy orange curtains. (Mona definitely has a way with design!) There was also a small reading nook/lounge area for guests to sit, with books and brochures about the local area.

We had two dinners at Al Lago, one on our arrival night, for convenience (loved the paella!), and also on our final night, when there was an Indian tasting menu featured. Both meals were terrific!

The hotel’s terrace was a wonderful spot to enjoy late afternoon coffee or cerveza. The view overlooking the lake is beautiful, and sitting in the warm sun enjoying the breeze rustling through the trees is so relaxing! We didn’t eat any meals out there – because we visited in October, mornings and evenings were a bit too cool for meals al fresco, and we were out and about during the day and did not have a chance to eat lunch at the hotel; but in the warmer months, a meal on the terrace would be heavenly!

All the staff we met were friendly and seemed to be happy in their jobs and to have us as guests (even at the end of the tourist season). The owners speak English, but that’s a bit “hit and miss” with the rest of the staff. No matter – this is Spain after all, and smiles and their few words of English and my (very) few words of Spanish worked just fine.

The only thing we felt that was lacking was wireless internet in the rooms. There is apparently a wired connection, but either we brought the wrong cable or else we had some kind of computer issue, because we had no luck accessing it. A wireless signal is available in the bar and out on the terrace, and late one evening, when I was waiting for a confirmation for the next destination for the following day, I was able to get a strong enough signal to check my email from the balcony of our room.

The hotel’s location at the edge of town is perfect – no need to navigate the very narrow village streets in an unfamiliar rental car. Ample parking is provided just below the hotel, and it is a short (although quite uphill) walk into the village, and up to the castillo (*highly* recommended!) Zahara was the first of several pueblo blancos we visited, and one of the most beautiful, and we would definitely recommend Al Lago as the place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krp329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zahara de la Sierra
6.4 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
639 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#3 of 4 in Grazalema
148 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
#4 of 4 in Grazalema
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marques de Zahara
Marques de Zahara
#2 of 3 in Zahara de la Sierra
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arco de la Villa
Hotel Arco de la Villa
#5 of 6 in Zahara de la Sierra
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Molino El Vinculo
Molino El Vinculo
#3 of 6 in Zahara de la Sierra
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Lago

Address: Calle Felix Rodriguez de La Fuente 11, 11688 Zahara de la Sierra, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Zahara de la Sierra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Zahara de la Sierra
Price Range: $81 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel with spectacular views of Zahara´s lake. We have a well known restaurant open for lunch and dinner, serving local produce (some from our farm). The cuisine is rustic with innovative touches featuring local specialities such as wild boar, pork cheeks, paellas and in summer a wide array of fish. We also have vegetarian and vegan options, daily specials, home made desserts and an extensive wine cellar featuring many local bodegas.In addition Al lago has as a bar serving drinks, tapas and baked goods all day long. Breakfast is a buffet of fresh fruit salads, cereals, yoghurts, fresh juice, cold cuts and patés, boiled eggs, Andalucian tomato puree, breads and hot beverages.All our spacious, thoughtfully decorated en-suite double bedrooms have their own balcony with wrought iron doors, large beds, flat-screen satellite TV, built in wardrobes and rain showers. There is wifi in public areas and guests can use the hotel computer if need be. Al Lago has free on road parking and access is by recently asphalted road. We are surrounded by fabulous walking country with the Garganta Verde and many other hikes on our doorstep. Located on the edge of a typical white village/pueblo blanco into which you can wander and enjoy local bars and shops. A paradise for walkers, birders, cyclists, foodies, botanists, painters and horse riding enthusiasts. The architectural wonder of Ronda is half an hour away and other lovely white villages close by. Roman ruins, oilve oil mills and wine bodegas can be visited in the area also. For swimming the playita (spring fed mini lake) and local pool are open from mid June until Mid September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Al Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing