We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Benahavis gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Benahavis
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Benahavis
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed at the Gran Hotel Spa late May 2014, seen some bad reviews for the hotel, but I can assure anyone that visits this hotel will have no complaints. The breakfast was very good, and we could buy a three course evening meal for 18euro, the food in the evening was fabulous, the staff were so helpful, and nothing was to much trouble. Benahavis town is small, but please visit, some loverly restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWINNYNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 791 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have been three times since April 2014 and have already booked for August and September. This hotel accommodates for everybody. Everyone makes you feel so welcome and it is certainly a home from home feeling. We had a special birthday celebration on one of our trips and the Hotel were amazing, it was like being with extended family. Nothing is ever too much trouble.
Cannot wait to get back.
If you haven't been to this Hotel before you are certainly missing out on a rare jewel in Spain.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Especially Superior rooms overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Another satisfying trip to this hotel!
All staff we dealt with were accommodating and helpful.
Grounds of the hotel are well kept and everywhere clean.
The rooms are very spacious, a little dated but clean.
Good choice at breakfast with an added bonus of being able to sit outside in the picturesque terrace.

Hotel is situated in a great hotel, very close to Benahavis village were there are many beautiful restaurants! Not had a bad meal yet!
Looking forward to returning!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying in this hotel for about a week. It was one of the best vacations I've ever been on. I wish there was anything I could write to complain about, but my stay was flawless. I found the staff to be extremely accommodating and helpful whenever needed. The entire facility was clean and well kept. We were able to hang around the pool and enjoy the bar all day. At night, we walked the short walk into town for dinner even though I would have been happy never leaving the hotel! The location is fantastic and the hotel had whatever we needed. The rooms are spacious and parking was no issue. I am happy I was able to stay at this hotel and would return to this beautiful place any time!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as a part of our Spain trip. This hotel is located in Benahavis which is a popular for golf. If you are arriving from Malaga airport, this hotel is a 45 min drive.

The rooms were quite spacious and staff were very friendly. There are good spa facilities and ample parking available. A short walk from the hotel enables you to many local restaurants. Marbella is only a 20 min travel.

Overall this is a relaxing hotel, if you have a car then there are no issues with the travel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nirajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, got a very cheap room rate. It's in a great location and Benahavis is a lovely village, but the hotel was extremely disappointing, staff on the front desk were very nonchalant, on arrival they checked us in, and pointed to where are room was, there were two of the on the reception so would have been nice if they had offered help with our luggage or personally shown us to the room. We had booked the best room available which was a suite, which was a fair size, although the bed wasn't large and the sheets had seen better days, the mini bar was empty and there was no tea and coffee making facilities, there wasn't even a bottle of water, also very poor toiletries, no body lotion, no conditioner etc. we then decided to go out to the pool, which is very pleasant, until you try and sit on the sunbeds, which are plastic weave, there were no cushions!! We sat there for an hour which was like laying on concrete and had to leave as it was just so uncomfortable, when we asked where the cushions were we were told they had gone away for cleaning and wouldn't be back till June!!!!!! This was April, how long does it take to clean cushion covers????? This hotel could be fantastic, but is a shambles, hope it improves for their sakes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelaharris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Firstly, Behahavis is a lovely place to stay, seemingly a million miles away from the bustle of the Costa del Sol coast, but actually only about 5 miles inland from San Pedro, Puerto Banus etc. There are many top quality restaurants in the village, as well as several friendly bars, particularly Chico’s, Lilli’s and Bodega bar (open from mid-afternoon and the only source of live UK football that we found).

We dined at El Molino (twice), Amigos, Le Petit Bistrot, Las Canas Viejas and la Cocina and never had a bad (or particularly expensive) meal. We were staying B&B, and the breakfasts were fine, with lots of choice, but always dined in the village so can’t comment on the daytime/evening food at the hotel.

There are several banks & ATMs, two very small supermarkets and a chemist in the village, but there is a large supermarket three miles drive away for those more vital supplies such as beer, wine, spirits etc. Just outside the hotel is a golf driving range and putting green.

The hotel itself is currently up for sale (if you have a spare 10m Euros) and is a pleasing, classical design in a beautiful setting, albeit a 10 minute steep walk up into central Benahavis. There are tastefully furnished public areas, two nice pools with grassy areas and lots of comfy sunbeds, a central piazza area which many of the 95 rooms (on three floors) overlook and a spa. It was fairly quiet when we were there in early April (in fact one of the pools was cordoned off).

Even the standard rooms are very spacious compared with more typical hotel rooms, with large comfy beds, TV (no UK channels though!), free WiFi, safe deposit boxes, fridges, air-con and well-equipped bathrooms. One downside of the standard rooms though is that they only have Juliette balconies, so no balcony furniture. Also there are no tea & coffee making facilities and our air-con wasn’t that efficient, so may struggle in the height of summer. English speaking receptionists were friendly & efficient. There is lots of free parking around, plus an underground (pay) private car park.

There is a pool bar, swim-up bar, lobby bar and main bar (in the restaurant) but when we were there only the main bar, which was quite expensive and lacked both character and characters, was open. A good source of glasses and ice for those balcony/bedroom G&Ts though! The spa facilities are free to guests for one hour each day and include sauna, steam room, spa pool, showers and three jacuzzis. Treatments are extra. There is also a pool table, somewhat out of place, in the main reception area.

All in all a very nice hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains only get the sun in the morning. Ask for a room overlooking the piazza sq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sallylr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benahavis
0.2 mi away
Amanhavis Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
4.4 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#14 of 69 in Marbella
1,567 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
11.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Benahavis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Benahavis

Address: Huerta de Rufino S/N, 29679 Benahavis, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benahavis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Benahavis
Price Range: $70 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Benahavis 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the exclusivity of this unique hotel 4* SPA located in Benahavís, a natural heaven. The Gran Hotel Benahavís SPA is the perfect place for those who want to forget it all and immerse themselves in elegance, comfort and luxury. With 4 stars rating the Hotel offers many facilities and services beyond guest’s expectations. Let our idyllic gardens and outdoor pools seduce you, savour its exquisite cuisine, rest in its large rooms and pamper yourself in our SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Hotel Benahavis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benahavis Gran Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing