We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 'retreat' location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Hotel Benahavis
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Benahavis
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We wanted a quiet spot, space for comfortable sunbathing and the ability to walk from the hotel to a choice of restaurants. The Gran Hotel Benahavis certainly delivered on all those points. Breakfast buffet was good and plentiful, lunch from the pool bar was nice and reasonable value, dinner in the restaurant was great. Our room, number 222, was spacious and the bathroom large, everything was perfectly clean. The pool and surrounding areas were clean and the beds (with padded cushions) were lovely and comfy for full-day sun worshipping sessions! Our disappointments were getting twin beds rather than a double, having to pay to store own items in the minibar, and having to pay for each 24h use of wifi... these are relatively small things that take the edge off when staying at a 4* hotel. Overall, a good hotel in a fabulous spot, 10 mins drive from the coast road.

Room Tip: Those facing onto the courtyard are nice, some outward facing ones have views of mountains tempered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 790 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have stayed here many times, as it is good value for money and great for visiting Benahavis. We had a large bedroom and bathroom, which was very clean and well equipped. The breakfast seemed to have improved and apart from the terrible coffee was good, with plenty of choice. The Receptionist was extremely efficient and very polite. One improvement I would suggest is wifi in the rooms at no charge, as these days it really is expected.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank lmainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel six times since 2010. Whilst the hotel is looking a little tired, there is some effort to keep up appearances. This year we noted new sun loungers and cushions around the top pool and new cushions to the lower pool.
In our view this is still a good hotel and really good value, in these hard times.
The buffet breakfast can be very acceptable but when the hotel gets really busy, which it does at weekends, there seems a lot of pressure on the basics such as orange juice. As this comes from a machine it's of variable quality.
The big advantage of Benahavis is the number of restaurants and bars in the town itself. As such it would be a disappointment to anyone who chose to stay at the hotel for dinner. This September we noted only two or three couples at most taking dinner at the hotel, despite the best efforts of the hotel to set the courtyard tables for dinner.
The hotel is in a lovely setting and there is always space around the pool. We shall continue to holiday at the Gran Hotel and would recommend it to anyone who wants to get away from the hustle of the Costa but still wants that in reasonable distance - provided of course that you have a car.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank tynevalleytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is our second stay at this hotel, last one 5 years ago. Found the hotel this time looking a bit tired and in need of a bit of work. We stayed in room 224 which was overlooking the courtyard and village which was lovely. The room was big and kept beautifully clean. The bathroom was showing a bit of tiredness in that the grouting in the corners needed redoing and the towels were very thin and showing wear. However it was near the end of the season and I suppose you have to expect a bit of wear and tear. The rooms do have a fridge but you are charged €5 per day if you put anything of your own in there. Also if you want to use the Internet there is a charge of €3 per hour!

We stayed bed and breakfast only as there are so many restaurants in the village. Breakfast was the same every day but there was always something for everyone. Personally didn't like the tea and coffee being dispensed from self service machines. The orange juice dispensers weren't always kept topped up either.

The swimming pool in the top section of the hotel was also showing wear and tear and the tiles in the corners of the pool were very dirty. The sunbeds were very comfortable and plentiful. If I had to have a moan about the pool area I would say it needed more sun umbrellas as there is little shade. The pool bar was always open. The glasses used at the pool bar were plastic and weren't in very good condition but maybe due to us being there at end of season. The pool towels were also in very poor condition.

The hotel is situated in a lovely location and we noticed since our last visit that Benahavis has had an enormous amount of work done and it really is beautiful.

The 2 main things I would say to anyone visiting Benahavis is firstly a car is a must and secondly you must be quite fit and able as to get up to the village restaurants there are a lot of steps to get there - I counted them - 127!!!!!!!!

The restaurants in the village are all very good but I would say that if you are a vegetarian you would be very limited.

A test for me is always - would I go back to this hotel again? I think probably not. I think it is more 3 star than 4 and does need a bit of tender loving care! However, if you want a quiet hotel tucked away in the mountains with nothing but birdsong and good restaurants then give it a go.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dot1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We live in Mijas Pueblo and this was our first time to Benahavis. This hotel came well recommended and certainly exceeded our expectations. The location is just perfect and made it such a tranquil retreat. We thought all the staff were not only very efficient and were happy to ensure you had service with a smile. We arrived early and Angela, the receptionist, processed our check in very quickly, and kindly gave us (we think), the best suite in the hotel. It was fabulous. The Spa was well run and organized, carefully limiting the number of people in at one time. Paricular thanks to the Pool bar staff, Narcisa, just never stopped smiling. One of the evenings the entertainment was Duo Rafael y Tatiana and they made sure the late night guests had a memorable night.
All in all excellent weekend away. We will definetly be back in the not too distant future. Thanks to all!

Room Tip: I just asked for a nice suite with good views and I got that and more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice location with good outside areas pool and bars ( they were open in September!!) Very spacious room - despite being an engineer I could not get the air con to work, bathroom soap dish and shower head holder fell off the wall when touched but hey, its a bit tired it could do with a revamp and it really should not advertse itself as a four star but despite all the it has a certain charm and if the Amannhavis is full I will stay here again

Room Tip: Book in the Ammanhavis ( Park in the Gran Hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BathTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel is in a nice location within a short walk to the local village with some great eateries.
The hotel itself is nice with varied clientele including locals. The rooms are ok and the food particularly the breakfast is good. We have an eight year old daughter and although not a package holiday hotel there were other children for her to play with.
The slight disappointments considering it is a 4* hotel include; no English TV channels, no porters so you get your own bags to your room, there is a mini bar in the room but if you put anything of your own in the fridge they charge you 5 euro per day and the kids menu is limited.
All in all a relatively good hotel just lacking in some detail.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benahavis
0.2 mi away
Amanhavis Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
11.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
4.6 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
3.6 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#12 of 69 in Marbella
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Benahavis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Benahavis

Address: Huerta de Rufino S/N, 29679 Benahavis, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benahavis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Benahavis
Price Range: $66 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Benahavis 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the exclusivity of this unique hotel 4* SPA located in Benahavís, a natural heaven. The Gran Hotel Benahavís SPA is the perfect place for those who want to forget it all and immerse themselves in elegance, comfort and luxury. With 4 stars rating the Hotel offers many facilities and services beyond guest’s expectations. Let our idyllic gardens and outdoor pools seduce you, savour its exquisite cuisine, rest in its large rooms and pamper yourself in our SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Hotel Benahavis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benahavis Gran Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing