We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but lacking attention to detail.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Benahavis
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Benahavis
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but lacking attention to detail.”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel is in a nice location within a short walk to the local village with some great eateries.
The hotel itself is nice with varied clientele including locals. The rooms are ok and the food particularly the breakfast is good. We have an eight year old daughter and although not a package holiday hotel there were other children for her to play with.
The slight disappointments considering it is a 4* hotel include; no English TV channels, no porters so you get your own bags to your room, there is a mini bar in the room but if you put anything of your own in the fridge they charge you 5 euro per day and the kids menu is limited.
All in all a relatively good hotel just lacking in some detail.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    312
    107
    55
    22
See reviews for
104
480
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Good pool side bar? This is the 3rd time that we have stayed.the view from the bed room was not very good as we where at the back of the hotel, but it was ok. We did not have an evening meal in the hotel as we all went to the village which had a lot of restaurants to pick from.

Room Tip: Don't put water in the fridge yon will have to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 926Jacqui18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We live in Gibraltar and regularly spend a weekend away in Andalusia, more often than not we opt for the hustle and bustle of the Costa Del Sol. This time we chose to go inland and found the lovely town of Benahavis - the Gran Hotel stood out (#1 on Tripadvisor) so we booked a long weekend.

We have a pet dog, usually one of our friends will mind him when we go away - but I noticed something quite unusual when booking - 'Pets Accepted'. I gave them a call to make sure it was true - they said the have 'Pet friendly' rooms available and they would love us to bring our dog along. There was a small cost (€20/night) but the room was perfect for him. A small terrace outside and plenty of room for his huge blanket inside (he's a Labrador).

There were other dogs in the hotel too so we fitted right in, although you could tell that some people are not used to seeing dogs walk through a hotel lobby. There is a huge field outside with ample 'poop' bins - and the other dog owners (and dogs, thankfully) were very nice too. The area has some fantastic areas to explore on foot so ideal for taking your pet along.

We only ate in the hotel for snacks and one evening meal. When we arrived on Thursday night we had a quick drink at the bar and asked for a bar menu - we were told that they stopped serving at 10.30pm but they would happily provide a cheese or ham sandwich. We declined gracefully and decided to head into Benahavis instead. Shortly afterwards the waiter arrived with Cheeseburger & Chips which had apparently been 'ordered in error' - we think it was his own dinner and he offered it to us - an extremely nice guy! The evening meal we ordered was the barbecue (Saturdays) - a bit pricey at €26/each but 'all you can eat' and very nice.

Our last night was spoiled by a couple upstairs/next to us who decided to row from around 2am until 9.30am - yes 9.30 am - shouting at the top of their voices. Not the kind of thing you would expect from a couple on holiday - but I hope you both enjoyed your night and your holiday as whole - but next time please keep your arguments to yourself!

Would definately visit again and hope the lovely couple have booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the Gran Hotel for 5 nights - it's the second time we have stayed. The room was one of the cabin rooms next to the pool - ours was very pleasant because we had the end room but the other cabin rooms are very dark. Excellent bathroom and both bathroom and bedroom had great views of the mountains. Beds were very comfortable and the airconditioning worked OK, if a little slowly and hesitantly when it go really warm. They make an additional charge for wifi and the signal was almost non-existent so unless you're in the main building I wouldn't bother - use the internet cafe in the village. We took the breakfast-included package - excellent choice and quality, really good value for money.

We had dinner once in the hotel, which was indifferent and a little overpriced.

The hotel is very attractive and has two very large and very clean swimming pools.

Drinks at the bar are predictably expensive and the service is a little slapdash - trying to pay the bill was occasionally a challenge, and getting served when the hotel was busy was often near-impossible.

This is more than compensated by the people-watching opportunities, since the hotel is used as a training base for lots of football teams and is also a major wedding-venue. While we were there Barnsley Football Club were having a training session, when they left they were replaced by Portsmouth.

It really does offer outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlBiz49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Gran Hotel Benahavis and it was nice enough. It's quite a big hotel and therefore rather impersonal, but is in a nice location on the outskirts of the town (5-10 min walk away), comfortable and friendly enough. We'd view it as a decent 3* hotel rather than 4*.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I was a bit dubious having read the reviews but no real complaints from us. Some people say the hotel is tired, I'd just say part of it has a traditional feel about it.

Check in - Quick and Efficient

Room - Very Spacious, separate living room, 2 showers, balcony, views of the village and football pitch. All in all great, only issue was the temp control on the air con wouldn't change so it was either on or off for us. Couldn't be bothered complaining as we spent very little time in the room.

Board - We chose bed and breakfast upon recommendation. An abudance of restaurants/tapas bars mean there was no real need to eat lunch and dinner in the hotel. Breakfast was fairly basic, however I stuck to fruit, selection of hams and coffee, which were fine. Some reviews complain about the breakfast room itself being dark and dingy, the simple answer to that is sit outside in the sun or the shade. Service at the pool restaurant was mixed, when we didn't want to walk to the village we ate here, not bad food to be honest, fresh salads, pizzas, slightly pricier than what you will pay in the village though.

Pool area - great with great views, plenty of sunloungers however the new comfy covers for the loungers only turned up on our last day so anyone visiting now will be very comfortable by the pool. Pool had lots of dead flies in it, not a major issue but a bit off putting.

Location - The hotel is situated at the bottom of the village near the local school, football pitch, driving range and communal pool area. To get to the restaurants is about a 10 to 15 minute walk up some fairly steep hills, we would do this walk 2 or 3 times per day with a buggy and a 4 month old baby. The walk certainly makes that sangria or beer even more appealing once you get there. Restaurants very reasonable for both food and drink, tapas especially cheap and all freshly prepared with local ingredients.

Overall great place to visit, hotel was fine (some people who've left bad reviews are just too fussy), the village fantastic. Our first visit to Benahavis and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a village well known for the number and range of restaurants. The hotel is big - perhaps one of its problems - and both the bedrooms and public rooms are cavernous. It lacks intimacy and customer care but if you are looking for an economical base with pool and spa facilities yet close to dozens of restaurants, then this may be ideal for you. Its a wedding location - and that says it all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annexe2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benahavis
0.2 mi away
Amanhavis Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
3.6 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
11.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
11.8 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Benahavis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Benahavis

Property: Gran Hotel Benahavis
Address: Huerta de Rufino S/N, 29679 Benahavis, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benahavis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Benahavis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Benahavis 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the exclusivity of this unique hotel 4* SPA located in Benahavís, a natural heaven. The Gran Hotel Benahavís SPA is the perfect place for those who want to forget it all and immerse themselves in elegance, comfort and luxury. With 4 stars rating the Hotel offers many facilities and services beyond guest’s expectations. Let our idyllic gardens and outdoor pools seduce you, savour its exquisite cuisine, rest in its large rooms and pamper yourself in our SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Benahavis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benahavis Gran Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing