We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Benahavis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Benahavis
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Benahavis
Certificate of Excellence
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Just returned from a weekend break at this hotel. hotel was very easy to find and about a 20 minute drive from the coast road. Check in was smooth and room nice and clean. We had a pool side room which was very convenient. Watch out for the 5 EURO charge if you put any of your own stuff in the fridge. A little unfair I felt.

We arrived on Saturday afternoon and there was a wedding taking place that evening. As a result the second pool was closed off and as one of the other reviewers said, the main pool was very crowded and there was a lack of sun loungers. The wedding itself, however, did not disturb our stay even with our room very close by. On the other days, the pool was very empty and we always got a sun lounger.

For every night you stay, you get one spa session. The spa is quite small but very enjoyable and nice and relaxing. We never found it too crowded.

Breakfast was good and there was a good variety of food available. We also ate at the poolside bar at lunch time which was also very nice.

The town is close by, about a 10 minute walk uo some steps and we ate very well both evenings at La Sarten and El Abanico.

Would happily stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Relaxing break, with excellent restaurants in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VioletDexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    283
    101
    52
    19
See reviews for
95
435
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Just spent a week at Gran Benahavis. The location is really beautiful in walking distance of the pretty village of Benahavis with some fab places to eat and drink. Our favourites during our stay was Chicos for a lovely glass of wine, tapas and great atmosphere. And our favourite restaurant, after sampling a few was El Fogon D La Aldea.
The hotel was very peaceful until the end of our stay when they hosted two weddings on two separate days closing off one of the pools and sun lounge areas so with the numbers tripling the pool side area resembled Butlins, awful. Many hotel guests had to lie on towels because all loungers were taken.
We had a suite with small balcony overlooking pool area. Very roomy and clean. The description described a fridge in the room, joy.... but actually its a mini bar and if you choose to chill your water or wine in there you are charged 5 euros a day!
Pool side towels came with a 30 euro deposit [ours were thin and tatty] and to change you had to return to reception and hand the wet thing over to reception staff to receive a clean one. Not ideal for us or reception staff??
We found all but two members of staff to be surly which i note has been mentioned by other reviews.
If i were to visit the hotel again and absolutely make sure there was no major functions booked in at the same time.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choice hot and cold.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs.Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manilva, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

We had looked forward to staying here and had booked at the last minute on a Spa/Dinner deal. However, despite the hotel and grounds being lovely, the quality of the food was awful, dry, basic, and the attitude and overall apathy of the staff was frankly disgusting, and in a way it is a shame that they will not take heed of this review judging by the manner in which they deal with complaints.

Probably the worst aspect of our stay was the false advertising displayed on their website (and that of a popular hotel-booking website) concerning the spa. The deal was that you got one hour in the spa, along with your room and 3-course dinner.

However, we stayed at the hotel on a Sunday and were informed on our arrival that the spa was CLOSED. They offered to re-book us for the following morning which was impossible as we needed to leave. Complete rubbish and awful service, what a waste of money.

On to the 3-course dinner, which was terrible, with albeit a few notable exceptions. The prawn starter was nice, however we were informed whilst actually sat at our table and after ordering that one (of three) options had been taken off the menu and had been replaced with plain grilled chicken. Which was fried. Disgusting.

The room was nice, comfortable, a bit dated but no real complaints here.

However the ultimate insult and inspiration for this scathing review was the receptionists attitude upon our departure. Without doubt the most rude and apathetic receptionist I have ever met at a hotel. The whole idea of customer service is to LISTEN to your customers' opinions, good and bad.

After being told that we were lied to about the spa and the poor quality of the food, she could not care less and talked over me in her desperate attempt to ask for my money, her only concern. I then continued to explain how unhappy we were, she simply turned away to make a phone call, ignoring me entirely.

I was (and still am) outraged at the atrocious service we received at this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone, which is a shame as the potential is here for a lovely hotel.

All it needs is less false advertising and a complete overhaul of staff who actually give a damn!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank querolasolespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antequera, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

Have just spent two nights at this hotel on the edge of a town nestled in the hills.The hotel is a bit dated and in parts in desperate need of repair but one can forgive it as the staff are so friendly and I would definately stay there again. We opted for the Superior Room which had a small terrace overlooking the large patio. The room was fine and the bed comfy apart from the squeak!! There was ample storage room but the bathroom was in need of repair especially the shower screen which had no seal on it and the vent in the ceiling! The interior of the hotel was tastefully decorated and the pools very clean in spite of the fact it was off season. The breakfast was adequate with hot and cold options and drinks were served from a machine. You can´t beat fresh drinks but in the economic situation we are in, I can understand why they have it. Included in the package was breakfast and an hour in the spa. This we enjoyed but, you have to book your time slot and can not just turn up as numbers are controlled which is an excellent system as it is not that big. However we really enjoyed our sessions in the spa and the staff were very helpful especially Ana, both when I reserved the sessions on the phone and when we were there. It is compulsory to wear disposable flip flops which you have to buy there and a hat which you can also buy if you don´t have one. We both had a different type of treatment and thoroughly enjoyed them, there are many on offer. We have been to many spas and most have been more luxurious and this one is in need of repair yet it had an atmosphere whcih made you want to go again. One thing unless you stay in a suite you do not get a dressing gown, thanks to prior information, I was warned so took my own. There is also a gym but we didn´t use it. Parking was no problem at this time of the year but can imagine may be a problem in the high season. We loved its location, just on the edge of the town and within walking distance to the centre and all the lovely restaurants and bars. Benahavís is the gastronomical corner of the Costa del Sol, so they say and we were not disappointed and we were spoilt for choice. What amazed us the most was how quiet and peaceful the village was, we loved it and would not hesitate to return again and stay at the Gran Hotel .All I will say is I just wish they would oil everything, from the hotel bed to the treatment beds in the spa to the cleaners trolleys- everything squeaked!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tutupointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velserbroek
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

If you like Scandinavian soccer teams this is your place! There was one from Finland and one from the Faroer islands when we were in. Last time we booked here in march there was 'only' one soccer team from Sweden. They prepare here for the soccer season in Scandanavia. Good for them less for you. It was never relaxing in the hotel with such large groups of teenagers. The rooms are very spacious, but the smell in the bathroom was overwhelming. Very disappointing was also the attitude of the staff. When we wanted to cancel our last day here. The man in charge told us that it was impossible and at the end of the story he cancelled the last day pfff what an ego. Well the first time we stay here it was OK, but this time it was much less!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vandenhaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
186 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

Needed to get a couple of days rest and relaxation and the Gran Hotel Benahavis provided the perfect location.
It is about a 20 minute drive up into the mountains from Puerto Banus but as you are driving up into the village you can actually feel the stress levels starting to go down.
The hotel reception area is a large hall with sofas and tv screens dotted around and there is a workdesk by the reception where you can log on to internet if you need to check emails etc. The staff were all very pleasant and efficient.

The hotel has two good size swimming pools with sunbeds around and nice views up to the village.

The bedroom was a good size and nicely decorated and with plenty of storage space. Good size bathroom as well. The bed was very comfortable and we got a good nights sleep.

Breakfast was reasonable and we had a nice lunch by the pool (as it was a lovely sunny day). There is a small SPA on site and it was nice to relax in the jacuzzi and pool. They also have some treatments available but I opted for some quiet time reading a book and a siesta instead.

The local village is about a 10 minute walk away up some steps - gets the heart pumping but no real problem. We had a lovely walk around, stopped in a little bar in the back street that had a patio for a glass of wine and some tapas..very pleasant.

The restaurant in the hotel was quiet but we had a lovely relaxing meal and I would eat there again. I understand the hotel is very popular for short breaks and I can see why.
It offers everything you could need for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishgirlabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

what i great hotel to stay in .This is my 2nd time staying in this hotel,with it great scenery and peaceful area you feel very relaxed.The only thing is you need to drive as its tucked away but worth it.The staff need a little bit more training on Customer Service but apart from that i still loved my stay and will defo go back again

anne glasgow

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowScotlandAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benahavis
0.2 mi away
Amanhavis Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
11.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
3.6 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#16 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Benahavis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Benahavis

Property: Gran Hotel Benahavis
Address: Huerta de Rufino S/N, 29679 Benahavis, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benahavis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Benahavis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Benahavis 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the exclusivity of this unique hotel 4* SPA located in Benahavís, a natural heaven. The Gran Hotel Benahavís SPA is the perfect place for those who want to forget it all and immerse themselves in elegance, comfort and luxury. With 4 stars rating the Hotel offers many facilities and services beyond guest’s expectations. Let our idyllic gardens and outdoor pools seduce you, savour its exquisite cuisine, rest in its large rooms and pamper yourself in our SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Benahavis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benahavis Gran Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing