We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing suckling pig”
Review of Los Abanicos

Los Abanicos
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Benahavis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $59
Cuisines: Italian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Benahavis, this restaurant is part of the gastronomic history of this lovely town nestled in the rolling countryside Guadalmina Valley, also known as the dining room of the Costa del Sol. Since his wanderings began back in the early 80s as a small eatery, and blunted for their good work and gastronomic treatment and family-friendly service. Now, in the hands of the second generation of the family it has not only managed to maintain that spirit, but has even improved, growing and refining their dishes and service. We will provide an extensive and exquisite menu that combines both local cuisine and the best of typical Spanish recipe. All this washed down with one of the most extensive and selected wine menu from the Costa del Sol. If you decide to visit us, be sure to spend an unforgettable time with both family and friends, as if what they want is to look good in a business meeting, no doubt, this is your restaurant. We hope to see you soon at our house. Thank you very much.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wow, a true little find up in the gorgeous village of Benahavis. Had a gorgeous suckling pig, so fresh it was running around in the backyard earlier. A must try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cameronsdad50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham M, Gerente at Los Abanicos, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Thank very much to invest your time in give us a very good rated and review. We hope see you very soon in restaurant los abanicos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 675 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We visited on a rainy Thursday evening recently and it was still packed. They were accommodating with our reservation as we were running late and needed to move it on. My salted Sea Bream was beautiful nd my husbands lamb shoulder just melted. Great side dishes too. We will hopefully be back next year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarahinwilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham M, Gerente at Los Abanicos, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Thank very much to invest your time in give us an excellent rated and review. We hope see you very soon in restaurant los abanicos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Without question many will like this restaurant in this attractive village. We have eaten there on a few occasions BUT there is too much food on offer. The main dish was overflowing; chips with everything, even with rice......smacks of a Scottish pub ? Wonderful friendly service with excellently priced wines. Some will really enjoy this typical Spanish restaurant - especially if you are hungry and with a large appetite. Even better if you like chips and frozen vegetables ! Nevertheless, well worth a visit - delicious meats including venison.

Neil M (Ruislip, UK)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham M, Gerente at Los Abanicos, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Hello dear sir:
Firstable we must to say thank you for your review, but, we are not agree in a couple of points of it.
Our wines aren.t priced (a lot of restaurats with less service have the same or higher prices).
Of course, our vegetables aren,t frozen. Are fresh and cooked every day, we invited to see how we prepared to the people who have curiosity.
By last, if you very hungry one of this days, we hope see you again in our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Last night was the fourth time we have been to this restaurant, and each time has been a delight. Inside or out, the service is excellent , and the food never fails in quality and quantity, without over-facing you. Excellent value, highly recommended.

Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham M, Gerente at Los Abanicos, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Thank very much to invest your time in give us an excellent rated and review. We hope see you very soon in restaurant los abanicos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Don't be fooled by the fact that this gem is situated in a narrow side street in a small rural village. Whether at a table outside or inside, the quality of the food is just outstanding, which explains why it is usually busy.The menu choice is excellent, the service and prices are also first class. Cannot think of any negatives.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 352PeterE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham M, Gerente at Los Abanicos, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Thank very much to invest your time in give us an excellent rated and review. We hope see you very soon in restaurant los abanicos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Abanicos also viewed

 
Benahavis, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Los Abanicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing