We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much talking”
Review of Restaurant El Castillo - CLOSED

Restaurant El Castillo
Price range: $34 - $57
Cuisines: Spanish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set in a historical setting, beneath the old Castillo is this Swedish owned restaurant El Castillo. With views over the mountain or the square, you can always find a table for your occasion. International food, cooked on local produce which follows the season. A restaurant which understands the importance of all three senses, a casual fine dining atmosphere.
Malaga, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Too much talking”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We went a while back so maybe they have improved since they are now ranked 2nd in Benahavis? We did not go back because we felt the food and service were lacking professionalism. The owner also spends too much time talking and too little getting the orders right.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    15
    10
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food, Freindly Service and Perfect Ambiance”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

During a recent visit to Benahavis we dined at El Castillo on two occasions and were treated to excellent food. I would go far as to say that the food was damn near perfect! and the best in the town.
It was a pleasure to be served by the hostess in such lovely surroundings; Thank you to all of you at El Castillo!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great food, great service, good prices. Did just get back home. Try their lobster soup. Will be back.

/

Michael

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maikel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Having tried the top 3 restaurants in Benahavis on trip advisor, it is this one we came back to. The food great and the service is fun. This is a great restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2000000008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Great Restaurant in a Wonderful Setting!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Ah Benahavis, what a lovely place! Such a picturesque setting away from the madness of the "Costa". It is a magical little village up in the mountains and it is immaculately maintained. If I had one criticism of the village it would be the ridiculous number of restaurants. It must be a nightmare trying to make a living in the retaurant business here as there are so many.

However, one restaurant in particular stands out. Restaurante El Castillo is a beautiful restaurant in a romantic setting, serving excellent north European food and in a lovely relaxed atmosphere. We ate here twice during our stay and thoroughly enjoyed the experience on both occasions.

Food is excellent and if I were to be hyper critical I would say the menu needs to be expanded to allow guests enough options to try if making more than two visits. We came into contact with two of the staff and both were at opposite ends of the spectrum. Pernilla, the owner is very extrovert (some might even say a little loud) and clearly passionate about giving her customers a different and unique experience. To Pernilla the experience breaks into two key areas (a) The culinary adventure and (b) the ambience and theatre.

From the culinary perspective, restaurante El Castillo scores very high with a limited but excellently executed menu. As for the ambience and theatre, well the setting is exceptional and Pernilla provides an abundance of theatre.

Our waitress Anna is a gentle soul and although much quiter than Pernilla she is a good contrast and a lovely lovely person. She made us feel very welcome and she was attentive and very efficient.

There are some negative reviews about this restaurant (and everyone is entitled to their opinion) but these are far far outweighed by the extremely positive reviews. At the end of the day I insist on three things 1. Excellent Food, 2. Excellent Service, 3. Excellent Ambience & Location and I have to say this restaurant delivers on all.

Finally, I really want to spend my hard earned money in places that genuinely appreciate my business. While very few places do these days I'm glad to say that Restaurante El Castillo did and did it sincerely.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulNimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant El Castillo also viewed

Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Benahavis, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing