We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Popular with all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rufino

Rufino
Ranked #6 of 65 Restaurants in Benahavis
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ancaster, Lincs, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Popular with all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Spanish owned and Spanish flavour. A local rustic atmosphere enhanced by a visit from the wandering musicians. Complimentary drinks to start and finish and ample portions of fine food make it popular with The Spanish as well as the various ex-pats of Benahavis.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    115
    44
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a must do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

what a great place to visit food is so cheap it is embarassing and woow is it good we visit here alot very friendly family run make sure you take a taxi prawns pil pil are to die for big portions fantastic

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ollie96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hexham
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have been eating at this restaurant over the past ten years when holidaying on the Costa Del Sol. When we stay in Benahavis itself we eat there frequently. We are almost certain that they haven't increased their prices since we first visited all those years ago. It looks as if the recent VAT rise has been absorbed too.
Complementary sherry and a plate of pâté and olives is a nice touch. Meals are excellent and good value, about 14 Euros on average for a main course. A liqueur on the house finishes off the meal perfectly.
This is a family run business and the staff have all been there for years. They work very hard and appreciate your custom. With about 30 restaurants to choose from in Benahavis, it must be vary satisfying to have a full house most nights. Give it a try you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tynevalleytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Each visit is better than the last...if that is even possible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Have been returning to Benahavis for 7 years now and it is simply my most favourite spot in the world. A deliciously sleepy village that comes alive and buzzes at night but in a relaxed cosy way. Rufino is at the heart of it and is still my favourite restaurant for a few reasons....the fantastic and good value food, the wonderfully attentive staff who recognise us every time we return, and the superb positioning of the terrace which looks directly onto the main street below. I have raved about it before and will say so again...the pork fillet in pepper sauce is my all time favourite but everything on the menu is very very good. It's always busy and open year round. The only other place that holds a candle to it is Amigos but a bit more expensive. There is something about Rufino though and it is my first choice every time!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nkm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Visited here because the restaurant we normally go to was closed. Visited because it had good reviews. This is the first time I have ever given a restaurant a poor review. There were four of us and not one could say that they liked their meal. Service was slow and the food in our opinion was terrible. We all make mistakes and I am happy to say that this was our only one while on holidays.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Recharge20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rufino also viewed

Benahavis, Costa del Sol
Benahavis, Costa del Sol
 
Benahavis, Costa del Sol
 
Benahavis, Costa del Sol
Benahavis, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Rufino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing