We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Cortijo Valverde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cortijo Valverde
Ranked #1 of 11 Alora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A bit late writing the review (only 12 months!) but we had such enjoyable stay. Ali and Caroline make everyone feel so welcome, fantastic food, comfortable accommodation and good company. The area is beautiful, so many fascinating places within easy reach - what more could you want?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilbet48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 269 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

I spend a memorable summer holiday in the Cortijo Valverde, together with my daughter (16), son (14) and brother-in-law at. We rented two 2-bed bungalows (a bedroom with seats and a bathroom) that were clean, trendy and spacious. We did not feel the need to switch on the airco system although it got quite hot outside during the day. In the morning we walked through the garden to the main villa where a healthy breakfast was served. During the day, we visited Malaga, Cordoba, Granada, Ronda (all daytrips) as well as Alora and the Ardales lakes. We also stayed a day in the B&B garden and swam in the lovely pool. Most evenings we had dinner at the cortijo, sharing a long table with other travelers. Caroline is an excellent cook. She prepares local Andalusian dishes, and Ali serves the food and takes good care of the guests. They really treated us like family. Some time in the future I will return to the Cortjo Valverde...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and myself spent a lovely 10 days at Cortijo Valverde in June/July 2013.
The surroundings are stunning, and the accommodation is first class.
Caroline and Ali are the perfect hosts.
The Finca is perfectly positioned for travelling to many interesting places in Spain. For us, we loved going to the nearby Lakes (40 minutes away in the car), as they were quite beautiful.
Having lived in Spain for a number of years, we have travelled extensively to most parts of Spain, but found this area where Cortijo Valverde is situated, to be one of the most beautiful.
We also spent some days by the large swimming pool, which is perfectly kept, with lovely views of the surrounding hills and fields.
We have no hesitation in recommending this holiday to anyone who wants to spend time seeing the magnificant area of inland Spain in and around Cortijo Valverde.

Room Tip: I would appear that all rooms are of a very high standard for this type of holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Many thanks to Caroline and Ali for welcoming us to their lovely home in the Andalucian countryside. We really enjoyed staying in one of the casitas which was very spacious and well equipped. The swimming pool was an added bonus. The food at the cortijo is all home cooked by Caroline and was delicious. We very much enjoyed dining with the other guests in the evening. Caroline and Ali are excellent hosts which added to a lovely holiday experience.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SandyD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed with Ali, Caroline, Freddy and the cats for five nights in mid June, having found their website via Tripadvisor, and what a find it was! We felt that we had acquired our own Andalucian villa for a few days! When we arrived we joined four other guests who were already in residence, to be joined a couple of days later by another couple. The whole experience is akin to visiting a private house and meals are taken as a group which inspired some lively and entertaining conversation, which Ali and Caroline joined in the evenings after the three course dinner. What a bonus to have Ali and Caroline's personal knowledge of the area to benefit from, as well as the reviews of our fellow guests on the absolute delights of the surrounding area.

The accommodation is second to none in its class. Fabulous food; don't miss tapas night! We stayed in one of five casitas, which was a very good sized room with equally good sized bath room, with all mod cons supplied. Beautiful salt water swimming pool (pool towels also supplied), all set in lovely gardens on a hillside. Gorgeous setting. We brought home a couple of bottles of bottled Spanish sunshine in the form of Cortijo Valverde olive oil supplied by Ali and Caroline, which gives us the perfect excuse to return in the not too distant future for further supplies and another dose of this outstanding Andalucian gem. Thanks Ali and Caroline for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTravelsYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during the third week of May for five nights. We arrived after a long day of work and travel at around 02.30 in the morning and as soon as we got out of the car Ali came out to greet us.

Unfortunatly the weather wasnt great while we were there, and oddity for southern Spain in May. I had been planning on lounging by the pool and reading as many books as I could get through. Instead we went into some of the quaint towns around as well as Malaga and Marbella for a day and had a great time.

The rooms are quite big and while not posh are certainly clean and comfortable. The grounds were well taken care of with wonderful flowers and small pathways. The food on site was as good (if not better) than we had in town. Ali and Caroline were excellent hosts. Arranging anything we wanted arranged and providing information on places to eat, places to go, etc etc.

I wouldnt stay here without some form of transportation be it a car or a bike. I would recommend this B and B without hesitation.

Thanks for the great get away Caroline and Ali!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloverGjertsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Cortijo Valverde is a relaxed and friendly place. Caroline and Ali are welcoming, thoughtful and knowledgable hosts. Booking and car hire arrangements made by Ali were helpful and straightforward. The rooms - casitas - are well appointed and the home cooked meals delicious; Caroline's baking is great too.

Caroline and Ali have prepared comprehensive guides to the area providing something for everyone, I would imagine. There was certainly plenty for us to do for a week. Walking and bird spotting at the nearby Natural Parks of El Torcal and Sierra de las Nieves, the lagoon area of Laguna de Fuente de Piedra and the beautiful lakes area near Ardales/above El Chorro - all delightful. Caroline and Ali know their area very well and so you can be sure of having realistic and fun plans for a day out.
We did spend some time in Malaga and were surprised (I know, we shouldn't have been!) at the variety of beautiful buildings and the comfortable size of the centre for some sightseeing, a good lunch and a further cafe stop, all achieved by train from Alora which is a 15 minute drive from the Cortijo. We easily found the nearest beach for a good long walk on a windy day and a seafood lunch to boot. The Cortijo is well positioned for different areas where you can walk or sightsee.

The generous welcome, the robes and slippers, the drinks before dinner are extra touches that sit well with the relaxed charm of the Cortijo and of Caroline and Ali. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmandeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alora
4.8 mi away
Complejo Turistico Rural La Garganta
9.4 mi away
Apartamentos Ardales
Apartamentos Ardales
#1 of 2 in Ardales
127 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Olive Branch
The Olive Branch
#1 of 3 in El Chorro
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Alora Valley View Accommodations
3.0 mi away
Fuego Blanco
Fuego Blanco
#3 of 11 in Alora
116 reviews
17.8 mi away
Cortijo Sabila
Cortijo Sabila
#1 of 4 in Villanueva del Rosario
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Valverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Valverde

Address: Apartado de Correos 47 | CTRA Alora-Antequera Km 35,5, 29500 Alora, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Alora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alora
Price Range: $113 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Tranquil Country Hotel is only 45 minutes from Malaga Airport and within easy access of Malaga, Ronda, Granada, Cordoba, Marbella, Mijas and Costa-del-Sol. The amazing El Chorro Gorge, walking trail Caminito del Rey and the beautiful Ardales Lakes are only a short drive away. The wondrous El Torcal is a mere 40-minutes drive through the magnificent A343 road to Antequera. Our Small Country Hotel near Malaga in Rural Andalucia, is a very special place. We have outstanding views of the surrounding countryside providing that special vacation destination for either a restful holiday, or a base from which to explore the many treasures that Andalucia and Inland Spain have to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing