We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“mr”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Penthouse

Front Terrace with views of the Moorish Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Terrace with views of the Moorish Castle
Moorish Castle at night Views from the front terrace at dusk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Front Terrace with views of the Moorish Castle
Moorish Castle at night
Views from the front terrace at dusk
Back Terrace with views of the town and mountians
The sitting room
Kitchen
Building Facade
Foyer
The main bedroom
Views of the castle and town
El Chorro Lakes
El Chorro Lakes at dusk
The whitewashed town of Alora
El Chorro - the climbers' paradise
El Chorro's gorge
Fishing in El Chorro
Alora Town Square
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Alora, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johnkaren...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“mr”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

Our second stay at Helen and Steves penthouse.Absolutely gorgeous.Perfect views.Spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. Welcome hamper fabulous.All the facilities you need.We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2018
Thank you so much for the review you posted Karen and John. It was a joy seeing your photos in Facebook during your stay in Alora enjoying the lakes, the tapas bars, doing your day trips in Andalucía and seeing you enjoying a meal in Casa Nelly with new found friends. Cheers and lovely meeting you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
60di
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderful.....again”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in March 2018

Stayed in March when the rain had hit Spain but it soon passed and we where able to make the most of the fantastic view of the castle during the day and night from the rooftop terrace.

This has to be one of the best equipped apartments we have stayed in around the world , its a real home from home . We keep trying other areas but we keep on returning to this one. Helen and Steve the owners go out of their way to ensure all your needs are met for an enjoyable holiday.
We dont hire a car as its easy to use local transport.There is a supermarket minutes walk from the apartment and local shops.
If you want to get away from the tourist areas of the costa( althought accessible) and live like the locals this is the place.

There always seems to be some sort of event on at weekend , whether a festival or marathon

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2018
Thank for your kind words. It was lovely having you and getting to know you better as well for taking good care the the place. Till we meet again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T
2 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Thank you both a wonderful stay in your beautiful apartment.We had everything we needed. Thanks for the pick up from the car park and the tour. What a nice personal touch. Kind Ŕegards Melissa and Steve

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2017
It was lovely having you both and thank you for choosing our place in the sun.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menn56
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A '5-star', relaxing break”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Everything described in the property details and reviews fully met our expectations in a pleasantly furnished home with all the amenities for a restful and secure stay. Having already spent time in Cordoba and Antequera, we just wanted to enjoy a relaxing time in Alora, doing as little as possible. The Penthouse fits the bill perfectly – a comfortable apartment with bright terraces to soak up the sun and admire the views.

A car is not necessary unless you want to tour the surrounding area – we travelled to Alora by train. Helen and Steve kindly met us at the station and gave a quick tour of the town on the way to the apartment. Everything you need for a ‘fuss-free’ stay is available and the included welcome pack of provisions is very useful after a journey. Although located in a quiet street, the main part of Alora is a few minutes walk and there are plenty of small bars and cafes to visit, as well as places to stock up on food and drinks.

We certainly plan to return to The Penthouse when we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busteryno...
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything and more re owners, apartment, views and position.”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Helen and Steve, are always on hand, are very helpful and have put a lot of thought into what makes a stay enjoyable. A brilliant apartment for a restful stay or use as a base. Amazing welcome pack provided. Need to be reasonably fit as village is built on 3 hills, and has some steep roads. Good bars and restaurants and very friendly local folk/traders. Good assortment of shops. Public transport good, taxis also available. A good base also for visiting countryside, cities and the coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayEff196...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Penthouse perfection”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The Penthouse (to quote Mary Poppins) is practically perfect in every way, from it's traditional Andalusian location in the Pueblo Blanco that is Alora, to the fact that it has commanding views of both the village and surrounding countryside with its mountainous terrain. Alora is very easy to get to from the airport either by car or train. Steve and Helen, as many have said are great hosts and very professional with an excellent understanding of great customer service. The apartment reflects that with everything catered for, including its tasteful decor. Each visit to this part of Spain, makes me want to return and I will certainly put this property at the top of my list for when I do visit Alora once more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its central location and cleanliness
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissPetal...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Chose the penthouse, not only based on its amazing reviews and equally amazing views in the pictures, but also precisely *because* it was top floor and so obviously one of the highest properties in Alora - needed R&R and no noise from the street during precious siesta-time and that's *exactly* what I got.

I also needed to work and having forgotten a travel plug for my notebook, I went in search.... 1 minute later, I found one - Hosts Helen & Steve really have thought of everything.

Welcome pack ( which was able to make bespoke) is so thoughtful - arriving tired but peckish at 10pm I was able to munch on cheese, crackers, fruit and wine... and in the morning, wake up to coffee, with fresh milk ( not an easy thing to find in Alora) sipped in front of that incredible view, rather than having to hunt down a supermarket (or worse - waiting for one to open!) ratty and caffeine-withdrawn.... Little things like *loads* of loo rolls (rather than 1 in holder + 1 spare, like so many other places) which means you don't have to think of practical shopping and makes staying in Penthouse more like staying in a hotel suite than a SC.
The Penthouse / Helen & Steve deserve every one of their perfect 5 star reviews.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing