We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give it a miss” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Bliss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Bliss
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Alora
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Give it a miss”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

I wrote this review in June 2009 following a short stay at Casa Bliss. It was subsequently removed by Trip Adviser as I apparently missed a reminder email to confirm it was my review. It seems odd that you have to respond to reminders to keep your reviews on the site. Maybe it is because it is a negative review. As a solicitor and someone who has been to some pretty good places to stay in both the UK, Europe and the rest of the world I stand by my review. In my view, and we are all entitled to our opinions, this is not a five star place to stay.

"On arrival we were met by the owner's son, who was extremely welcoming and friendly. We had a nice welcome pack and he kindly offered to run us into town, if we needed anything. Casa Bliss is a considerable distance from Alora (too far to walk even for a young couple like us in our early 30's) although there are two fairly decent restaurants at the bottom of the track. We stayed in Rose Cottage which was very disappointing. We had to borrow a toaster off our neighbours to toast the bread we had been left in our welcome pack. The cottage is only equipped with a microwave, so is not ideal for self catering. The cups, plates and cutlery were stained and dirty; the shower did not produce anything other than a steady drip of water; the towels did not match and one had a hole; the toilet stank, as did the toilets in the other two cottages; the TV, Sky box and remote had had something sticky spilt on them that had not been cleaned; the glass coffee table was so badly smeared you could write your name on it; the wax candle on the outside table had a rotting tennis ball stuck in it; and we had to step over dog mess by our sun loungers. Casa Bliss is no cheaper than other places in Alora, so it is not simply a case of you get what you pay for. Casa Bliss has the potential to be a good place to stay on holiday, the pool in nice and the views lovely. However, the owners need to invest a lot more in the facilities and time in cleaning the cottages before anyone should consider staying there."

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Casa Bliss, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Thank you for your opinion, however if you read the other reviews that our guests have put on over the last year and more on trip advisor you can see that your opinion is not consistant at all. I am disappointed that you felt this way ! As a small family run business we take all comments and feedback very seriously. Should you have raised your concerns during your stay we would have been more than happy to help you feel more comfortable and resolve any issues you had. Your stay was brief as you was Best Man at a friends wedding and was not in your cottage for much of the weekend that you stayed. The kitchen to the contrary does have all facilities including toaster and cooker and i would beg to differ about the matching towels! Occassionally the toilets do get a little smelly simply due to the fact that our finca is in the country side and the plumbing system is not up to English standards nothing a few extra flushes would not have remedied. We drove you to and from Alora at not cost during your stay, as you had no car and we do advise our guests to hire a car to get around. However you choose not to. There is also a bus that you can get by the two restaurants you mentioned that takes you into Alora village in approximately 10 minutes. Again thank you for you feedback but i would like to re-iterate you should have brought your views to our attention during your stay as we like to ensure all of our guests are happy and would have been more than willing to resolve them there and then. I would ask future guests to look at all of our reviews as you will see that they have all been very happy with what Casa Bliss has to offer. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    9
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
59
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

We had such a lovely time. The place is beautiful and easily accessible by public transport from Malaga. We stayed for four days in Rose Cottage and were made to feel at home. The pool is a good size and we mostly lazed around it and enjoyed the views. We would definitely go back but next time for longer so that we would actually explore more. We were also treated well and made to feel at home. It was a great 30th Birthday!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

I cannot recommend Casa Bliss enough! Spent a week with my partner in this magical place and received such a warm and lovely welcome from the owners, who couln't have been more helpful. The accommodation is rustic and beautiful, set into the hills just ouside the picturesque town of Alora. The swimming pool is without doubt THE NICEST pool we had ever encountered, meticulously clean and plenty of comfortable seating all around. we had our own barbecue on our big terrace area and used it every single day. Casa Bliss is fantastic value for money - we had the most relaxing holiday ever. Plenty to do and see in the area, but equally, if you fancy going away and doing absolutely nothing (but lolling around the pool reading and eating great local food!), then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joantrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

I can't recommend Casa Bliss highly enough. The owner was charming and very helpful. Casa Bliss itself was a bit of paradise - beautiful surroundings ,great pool and accomodation. The perfect place to chill in the heat of Andalucia. There was a lot to see locally and you can walk to the nearest restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricky1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed at Casa Bliss.

The property is in the most perfect position if you want peace and tranquillity combined with stunning views from the vine - covered terrace. The location is ideal for exploring the surrounding area (car is essential) or just chilling by the fabulous large swimming pool.
The owner is on-site and always helpful without being intrusive.
We can certainly recommend this for a superb holiday.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank scholarship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

My wife is a teacher so we always find it hard to get a great deal in the type of places we want to visit so finding this was a godsend. We had two weeks here, the apartment itself was excellent with a great outdoors eating area and about ten feet walk to a huge pool (which we had almost exclusively). All of this was amazing but the views from the pool and the villa are something else with views of the stunning surrounding country side and the sleepy town of Alora and the Moorish castle. The only sounds were horses braying and goats herded across the fields, a stunning site. The evenings couldnt be more perfect with amazing views of shooting stars and the castle. The family that own the place couldnt have been kinder or more helpful, giving us lifts to the supermarket and providing the best welcome pack I have ever encountered, its also a great base for touring being less than two hours from Granada, an hour at the most from Ronda and 40 minutes to the cost. I would definately say that it is two of the best weeks my wife and I have had away and although we don't usually go back to the same place this is somewhere we will revisit again and again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garryad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

We enjoyed a week's stay at Casa Bliss. It was fantastic - we were made to feel very welcome. Having been slightly put off by a few rogue reviews we were slightly apprehensive but neednt have been. The owner and her son were warm and hosted you like old friends whilst at the same time completely leaving you free to do as you want in peace and privacy. We had all sorts of places to visit on our agenda but rarely wanted to leave. Owing to having booked late we stayed in two of the three apartments and both were fantastic. The design and decoration of the rooms is original and shabby chic with much of the furniture being antique - it was so nice to stay somewhere that wasnt bland and sterile. The views are spectacular over Alora and the mountains and the pool is a dark turquoise - heavenly. Also worth visiting is the la conejitos restaurant 5km outside of alora - gorgeous food. Thanks for our great stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etchellsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alora hotels
0.0 mi away
Complejo Turistico Rural La Garganta
0.0 mi away
Finca Rocabella
Finca Rocabella
#10 of 18 in Alora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Andalucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fuego Blanco
Fuego Blanco
#3 of 12 in Alora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caminito del Rey
Caminito del Rey
#3 of 18 in Alora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alora Valley View Accommodations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bliss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bliss

Property: Casa Bliss
Address: Alora, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Alora
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Alora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Bliss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing