We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cortijo Vista Alora
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Alora
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I was looking to book a relaxing holiday, our first in 4 years of runnning a restaurant in Spain! I chose Casa Bliss after reading reviews, checking various websites & comparing prices. It seemed to be exactly what we were looking for, relaxation, nice surroundings & central to visit some of the major cities of Spain. How wrong could I be? All I can say is this was probably lovely, ONCE. It seemed uncared for, neglected & shabby. After negotiating our way in our car up a track that was dissintigrating in places & would have been totally dangerous in the dark, we pulled up through the almost fully open gate to see a wheelbarrow filled with rotting garden waste. Open doors to two "cottages" were the only thing that greeted us, oh and thousands of flies, totally unexpected in November. No sign of the pleasant owner that had been described on the websites. The patio furniture had faded cushions piled on them, when pulled apart they revealed snails & spiders. We didn't stay. We called the owner to explain why we wouldn't be using the accomodation, she didn't seem surprised! I'd like to say it totally ruined our holiday, but it didn't, we went on to have a fabulous time exploring Sevilla for 3 days, not the week long holiday we'd hoped for, but wonderful nevertheless.

Room Tip: Use a well known hotel chain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 85 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2011

I am a rock climber and wanted to stay somewhere fairly close to El Chorro yet easy access to Malaga and a peaceful home to return to after a long day of climbing. Casa Bliss did the job!! It is in a great location right off of A-343, you need to hire a car, but that is even better, forces one to venture around the quaint neighboring villages.

Upon arrival, the owner showed me to Rose Cottage which was very clean, cozy and peaceful. This cottage has an open layout, kind of like a studio. It has a small kitchen with small stove & fridge, a microwave and the basic utensils. There is a small living room area and bed and also a small area with dining table & two chairs. The bathroom was very large with clean large towels and immediate access to hot water (aka, most places I go to Spain you have to turn it on or off). The house is also equipped with reliable wifi and TV with satellite TV.

There is a private patio in the front of Rose Cottage and also french doors leading to another cool patio with brick bar-b-que (aka, grill). The owner gave me a tour of the other cottages and they were all just as equally lovely. The grounds are marvelous and well kept, plus there is a stunning pool and 360 views of rolling hills and mountains.

Down the street from the cottage is Los Caballos, very typical local food and cheap. Also about a few minutes drive you have the town of Alora which is quaint and cute.

The manager of the property proved to be so helpful, she connected me with a world class climber and has the connections for all the possible activities in the area. She checked in on me every day and was extremely accommodating.

Another bonus, when I arrived, I had a nice bottle of wine waiting for me and a fridge stocked with some basics.

All in all, I plan to return 2-3 more times next year, and this is where I will return to stay.....a wonderful cottage tucked away in a beautiful, tranquil location!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentTravelerNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed here in September for 4 nights it was our first holiday in 18 years without the children! it was absolute bliss, lovely clean comfortable accommodation with your own large patio with bbq and comfy seating, the views are stunning, we relaxed around the pool during the day because it was just so hot and the pool was perfect in fact it was one of the nicest pools i have ever swam in when abroad, very clean. The kitchen was very adequate with fridge/freezer, microwave and cooking facilities and the bathroom had an excellent shower, the bed was very comfy and all in all we had a lovely relaxing break. I believe the place is up for sale if we win on the lottery we would definitly buy it!!!

If you are looking for a nice relaxing break in the sun, then here you will have it, i'm glad we decided to stay here after reading the other reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have just returned from a short stay at Casa Bliss and are already thinking about when we can return...this is a beautiful villa hidden away in the hills a ten minute drive from Alora, a typical whitewashed Spanish town. The location is perfect if you're looking to get away from it all and relax in peaceful surroundings.

We stayed in Daffodil cottage which was really spacious, bright and comfortable. Most of our time was spent on the vine-covered terrace which has fabulous views across the hills and it was lovely sitting out late into the evening with a glass of wine or three. The sky at night was beautifully clear and if you're patient you will almost certainly see shooting stars...

The pool and outside areas are gorgeous, it almost feels like Beverly Hills with the palm trees and the dark blue mosaic-tiled pool. Jaye, the owner, is the perfect hostess in that she is very welcoming and always around if you need anything, but leaves you to enjoy the villa as though it were your own.

Alora is a lovely little town with all of the amenities you would require (supermarkets, cafes, plenty of small shops) yet it retains its integrity as a small Spanish town that, whilst incredibly welcoming to visitors, does not pander to mass-tourism; perfect if you are looking for a slice of 'real' Spain! If eating out you will predominantly find small cafe-bars serving good local tapas. You won't find five-star dining but that only suits the authenticity of the town and that's what we were looking for!

We enjoyed eating at the Casa D Correos near the centre of town, which although having a Mexican theme still offers local specialities. The host, Gary, is most welcoming and will make excellent recommendations if you're not sure what to try.

Overall we had a wonderful time at Casa Bliss and wouldn't hesitate to return - for longer next time!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

If you want a really chilled out, peaceful holiday then this is the place to be.

We stayed in Bluebell cottage which is a studio type cottage but very large and airy as would be expected from a converted 200 year old farm house. We had our own lovely terrace equipped with comfy chairs and table, metal table and chairs to eat at and it's own BBQ, with amazing views over the surrounding countryside. Nothing to be heard other than the odd horse, goats passing by a few times each day and the neighbourhood donkey making itself known! The swimming pool is the real seller here as it is a lovely big pool and was immaculately clean all the time we were there, plenty of sunbeds to chose from. We never had to share it with more than a couple of people and more often than not had it to ourselves. In my opinion a car is a must as it is a 5 minute drive to the nearest town of Alora . There are a few restaurants closer to home but probably too far to walk for most people.

The only reason I am giving Cas Bliss 4 instead of 5 stars is that there are certain areas that could do with a bit of money spending on them but, in all honesty, that didn't detract from a wonderful holiday and I would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmileyMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This place is truly beautiful. The area is great if you want to kick back and relax, it feels off the beaten track but easy to get to. The pool is fantastic and the views of the town nestled between the mountains especially at night is magical. Our favourite day out was to the turquoise lakes of ardales, definitely not to be missed but we we're honestly happiest hanging out in our apartment on our patio or around the pool. The owner is lovely and very helpful. The wifi signal was very good, all in all our best holiday ever. I'd recommend this to anyone, a great find.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danihart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The most relaxing two weeks I have ever had. Such beautiful surroundings and the casa bliss site is stunning. Fast wifi in the cottage was unexpected and a huge bonus. So much to see in the region and the owner was really helpful and friendly. Pool is divine. Going back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulJ1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alora hotels
1.3 mi away
Caminito del Rey
Caminito del Rey
#2 of 18 in Alora
147 reviews
7.2 mi away
Complejo Turistico Rural La Garganta
0.8 mi away
Duran
Duran
#3 of 3 in Alora
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Don Pero
Hotel Don Pero
#7 of 11 in Alora
12 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hidden Valley Andalucia
6.7 mi away
Finca Rocabella
Finca Rocabella
#13 of 18 in Alora
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Vista Alora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Vista Alora

Address: Arroyo Cansino, 16, 29500 Alora, Spain (Formerly Casa Bliss)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Alora
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Alora
Price Range: $62 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cortijo Vista Alora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing