We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcoming resting place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Independence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mt. Williamson Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stopped off en route to Yosemite NP from Death Valley. Compact (!) rooms, but functional and perfectly comfortable - at least Room 1 was. Fantastic cooked breakfast by the owner the following morning, and great advice about where to go and what to see. Lovely peaches, too, straight from the garden. The location means the motel is used a lot by hikers before they hit the trail. Reasonable rate, practical room, good location, friendly and helpful team - can't ask for much more.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 216 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

After a greuling 16 hours on the Whitney trail it was the perfect place to get some R and R ! Doug and Strider were great hosts.The motel has VERY comfortable new beds and new quilts.The breakfast was great! When I left I felt that I made two new friends

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank SPSTEVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay in our clean, beautifully furnished cabin. Our 2 children loved it and played at a little picnic spot next door. The homemade breakfast with indoor and outdoor seating (we sat outside with a pristine view) is awesome! The owners Doug and Strider are so kind and helpful. They were giving rides for hikes and let us know the best place to fill up. Thank you so much! Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familysquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This place was great ! The room was very clean with AC,TV and a excellent breakfast. I would recommended this place for anybody who would like a nice place to stay.We try to stay in Lone Pine but could not get a room because with had two small pugs (dogs) with us and Doug and Stryder took us in for night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ema M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Owner Doug is a fantastic guy, and he is always glad to help you out. Breakfast isn't just a few donuts and a banana like other places, but rather a full breakfast served indoors or outdoors with the cost part of the very modest room rate. Not just a great location for backpackers, but these proprietors go out of their way to help backpackers in particular but also all other travelers with their needs. I have found my new base camp for most of my Owens Valley trips, and I can't recommend the Mt. Williamson Motel highly enough!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DirtPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great place! Excellent rooms, deceptively spacious, AC, TV, separate bathroom. Fantastic breakfast, home cooked and sat outside to enjoy views. Owners helped with restaurant choices, etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nerradtreborsniktaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

An extremely well run motel. Doug and Styder bent over backwards to ensure I had a pleasant stay. They were also of great assistance in helping with the logistics of a JMT resupply. I highly recommend. I would go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notimeout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
16.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
711 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
892 reviews
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Independence Courthouse Motel
Independence Courthouse Motel
#3 of 3 in Independence
81 reviews
15.2 mi away
Lone Pine Budget Inn & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Williamson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Williamson Motel

Address: P.O. Box 128, 515 S Edwards Street (Hwy 395), Independence, CA 93526-0128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Independence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic, clean, comfortable, historic cabins in a base camp setting at the foot of the Eastern Sierra Nevada. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mt Williamson Motel
Mt Williamson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing