We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sierra Mountain Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt. Williamson Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Independence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mt. Williamson Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sierra Mountain Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Rented the 1 bedroom with living room/kitchen. New updates by the new owners! Nice mattress, new futon and linens for both, Fully equipped kitchen. Nice, cheap and efficient!
We went to Independence Park next to property both evenings; it was hot, and the grass was lovely with mature trees, flush toilet bathrooms; no one seemed to care we brought our beer over.
Free breakfast was awesome and new owners are super cool.
Hot springs in nearby Bishop. Just $10, clean and so relaxing!
Trailhead is about 1.5 miles up the mountain, at 9200 ft.
4hour 10 min drive from Las Vegas. If you are looking for something different, this is it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiona89138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    30
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
43
88
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a great small cabin style hotel with a great owner. He cooks breakfast while talking to you and giving you travel information about the area. We stayed there before climbing Mt Williamson and shared breakfast with several families that were passing through to other vacation spots. Good clean rooms, great breakfast, and a very friendly owner. Great place to stay when you are in the Sierras.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derockint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My family spent two nights here, using three of the separate cabin-like units. The new owners are fabulous and know the mountains well! Very accommodating to our large group as well as to the hikers who came down from the trail for an overnight. Rooms were clean, breakfast was made to order, and sitting out among the trees the views were spectacular. Easy access to Onion Valley, Whitney Portal, Manzanar and the Alabama Hills. Next time we are in the area, we will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash. State
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Owner was most friendly every time we interacted. Room was clean and comfortable. Was wonderful having a breakfast that was far more than just a muffin. This is really like a bed and breakfast except you stay in your own little cabin duplex. Highly recommend a stop here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatlParkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Very quaint and well run B&B we stumbled across on our way to Yosemite. Beautiful mountains backdrop your private cabin. Great taco truck down the street. The free breakfast is made TO ORDER in the am.
Great family run business. Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lo4763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Simply adorable. Last moment booking on my way to Mammoth in the middle of a snow storm. Henriette made me feel like home. The room was small, but extremely clean and cozy. Doggie had a private yard to run around. I will definetely go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stumbled upon the Mt Williamson Motel on our way to L.A. from Reno. This Motel is definitely a Jewell, a bargain, and a great place. The rooms are tiny but really aside from resting and showering what else do you need from a room? Where Mt Williamson Motel set itself apart from other places we have stayed in locally is the warm, embracing, family ambient that Henrietta brings to each and every patron. The hot breakfast she cooks in the morning (toast, bagels, eggs, sausage, and hash browns) is a great way to warm up the patrons but her warmth goes beyond just cooking breakfast its in her conversation, her demeanor, her interaction, and her delightful ways of interacting and making us feel at Home. Is this a 5 start hotel, No, but it's much better, it's a place where they make you feel at home and that to me is worth more than the appearance or amenities of a hotel. if you need to stop for the night in the Owens Valley make sure that you spend the night at the Mt Williamson motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TicoKenitrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
16.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
16.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Independence Courthouse Motel
Independence Courthouse Motel
#3 of 3 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
15.1 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Williamson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Williamson Motel

Property: Mt. Williamson Motel
Address: P.O. Box 128, 515 S Edwards Street (Hwy 395), Independence, CA 93526-0128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Independence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic, clean, comfortable, historic cabins in a base camp setting at the foot of the Eastern Sierra Nevada. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mt Williamson Motel
Mt Williamson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing