We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Charming Unique”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Independence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mt. Williamson Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Charming Unique”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This place is right out of the history books. They used to call them motor courts not motels. Drive in and park next to your door. I loved this place. Coming off a long backpacking trip we called as soon as we had cell service and found an available room which was a cabin like affair. Very clean, good firm beds, coffee maker, microwave small refrigerator, wi-fi etc. They brought over extra soap and shampoo knowing we just came off the trail. Full breakfast is provided. A shuttle service is available to and from trail heads. The price was right. Don't have high expections thinking this place is the standard chain type motel with a pool etc. Just enjoy the uniqueness of the place. There are not many left.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 111Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    30
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
44
91
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here after doing a section of the John Muir Trail. Booked it from on trail at Onion Valley. Friendly, very clean, neatly kept desert gardgen, wonderful included breakfast of eggs, sausage and potatoes. Coffee in room, very hiker friendly including cloths to clean your gear! This place has charm and a lovely atmosphere; it isnt just one of the typical small town motels that the others in town are. Audrey, the owner's daughter, knows a lot about the area and is very helpful. We didnt use the shuttle but others did the day that we were there. Audrey drives it herself. Our cabin was #2, with a double and single bed, TV, free wifi, frig, microwave, coffee in room, sofa, sitting area outside the cabin, basic toiletries provided plus extra for hikers (because I guess they know we need it after coming off the trail). Clean and tidy place. We kept the AC on all night because it was very hot outside even at night. There is some noise from passing trucks and cars but it didnt bother me. The cabin had two large windows with blinds, that revealed the sunrise and sunset on the surrounding mountains when opened. It's not the Best Western, but it has more charm than most of those!

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdkLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

It's neat, it's clean, it's small. It's a Motel right on HWY 395. You will hear traffic all night unless you turn on the AC and close the windows. If you want 4 star lodging, this is not the place for you. We had a cabin with two queen size beds and a small shower room with toilet/sink. It was very tight.
But it was just fine. I slept well, and honestly, it was like a trip back to a simpler time.
If you are an outdoorsy person, this will be luxury compared with camping in the mountains. The owner stayed up to give us our key at midnight.
Good place, good people. I'd go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are close enough to the highway that it's just not going to matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChicagoAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great people; wonderfully hospitable, very accommodating and informative. Audrey made sure I was able to get to the trailhead and was accommodating when I arrived after my hike a day early. I thought this was great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The new owners, Audrey (daughter of former owners), Charles and Jake (the dog), we're great hosts, friendly and very accommodating. The cabin was clean, basic and met our needs. We left our car and car keys there; the car was safely parked for a week while we completed the last leg of the John Muir Trail. The shuttle service was super convenient. Charles dropped us off at the Kearsage Pass Trailhead and wished us well on Monday and Audrey picked us up at the Mt. Whitney Portal on Friday. Breakfast was home-cooked, hardy and tasty. The reservation process was smooth and the follow-up was timely. Overall great experience and value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We enjoyed every minute!! Our hostess ( Audrey) did a great job of getting us into our cabin, sharing information about the area and served us a really good breakfast each morning. We really felt welcome here and that meant alot! The cabin was very clean and neat. Very comfortable after a day of activities. This is a great start point for local adventures. We came to this motel by chance but, we will be back whenever we're in the area. Other guests were on their own adventures and were friendly and amusing to visit with.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

My two children (5 and 8) and I stayed here one night after visiting Manzanar on our way home from Death Valley. I chose this lodging based on reviews and wasn't disappointed. Our little cabin, while small and simple, was charming and very clean with much attention to the comfort of guests. I only met Hennrietta briefly because she is in the process of retiring and turning the property over to her daughter. But the apple doesn't fall far from the tree, as they say. Reviews written about the owner could have applied to her daughter. She was delightful. We had a wonderful experience and the home cooked breakfast was delicious!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
16.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
682 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
867 reviews
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Independence Courthouse Motel
Independence Courthouse Motel
#3 of 3 in Independence
77 reviews
15.6 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Williamson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Williamson Motel

Property: Mt. Williamson Motel
Address: P.O. Box 128, 515 S Edwards Street (Hwy 395), Independence, CA 93526-0128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Independence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic, clean, comfortable, historic cabins in a base camp setting at the foot of the Eastern Sierra Nevada. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mt Williamson Motel
Mt Williamson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing