We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the rough”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Independence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Independence Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Independence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Independence Inn is a classic motel...park your car outside your room and walk in. What makes it a gem is the extra care lavished on each room, and each traveler, by Jim the owner, who is also the manager and staff. He ensures that things work, that needs are met, that you leave satisfied. Great home baked bread in the morning, good coffee. And he watched over a half dozen boxes and duffel bags for our group for a week while we were hiking up over Kearsarge Pass into Kings Canyon National Park. Also provided a reference to the one good restaurant in Independence (and told us to go early, due to its SLOW service...good call). You will find a lot of nice places in Bishop, but if the time and circumstances take you to Independence, you won't be disappointed with the Independence.

Room Tip: Inn has a multi-bedroom suite which would be great for larger families...just ask for it when making...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orcas_Island_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 96 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

The location can't be beat. Right outside the motel you get a view of the massive Eastern Sierra Crest, which looms over all of highway 395. It's the reason we visit this area every year, to hike and explore this fantastic area. As far as this motel goes, it's good, not great. The rooms could use a little updating, the bed felt like it was a bit older, and the bathroom could also use an update. There's nothing wrong with anything however, everything works fine, and the room was very clean, for being an older place. There was a slight problem with truck noise, which we could hear in the middle of the night, but they came through fairly infrequently.

Overall, the place is nice, but not in any way remarkable. We'd probably stay again, if we needed a night around the area, but it's not a "home away from home".

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank cthenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Everything about our stay was great, the owner Jim is a really nice guy that takes very good care of you. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the location of hotel is great, complete with an awesome view of the Sierras. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olof S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at the Independence Inn this past weekend on our way home from the Sierras and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was great; the room was clean and quiet; and Jim, the owner, was very friendly and welcoming, providing a refreshing experience in motel accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 395Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

It's true. Jim's place really is a wonderful place to stay. Friendly, clean and simple. I can't make a stronger recommendation than to say we would come back without question.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter-Egypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

I do my best to make my little motel friendly and relaxing, Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed at the Independence for 3 nights last week and must say that it exceeded my expectations. Jim (on premises owner) was so helpful ... he let me borrow 2 books on hiking in the Sierras and gave advice about places to eat and explore. Room was great, A/C worked well (100 deg. temps outside), refrigerator was great for keeping my beer cold. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adhphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

I strive to keep my rooms nice and comfortable. Living here, I do my best to help with recreational activities in the local Sierras.
thanks, Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Small Motel - clean, well maintained - Jim, the owner is on premises.

I asked about grab bars in the shower (traveling with 87 yo parents) - Jim installed the bar.

Jim bakes fresh bread & coffee cake in the morning

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oversixtyNRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jgetzinger, Manager at Independence Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Anything I can do to help. That's the idea behind a service business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
17 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
726 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
908 reviews
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Independence Courthouse Motel
Independence Courthouse Motel
#3 of 3 in Independence
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Independence Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Inn Motel

Address: 440 S Edwards St, Independence, CA 93526-1774
Location: United States > California > Independence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Independence
Price Range: $75 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
best porch-best view, WiFi,TV, and breakfast ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing