We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Independence Inn Motel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Independence
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Mt. Williamson Motel(Independence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ray's Den Motel(Independence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timberline Motel(Lone Pine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dow Villa Motel(Lone Pine)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Lone Pine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
73
18
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
18
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee cakethe ownercakesgreat guymicrowave and coffee makerflat screen tvone man showold schoolplace is cleanhome madeeastern sierrastrail headplace to stayrooms are smallfree wifionion valleyjim
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 96 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Jim, the owner, was not here when we arrived. But he arranged a clever way for us to find the key :)
Our rooms was spacy, clean and quiet. There were a coffer maker, a fridge and a microwave.
Honestly, we were a bit disappointed that Jim was missing but it has a little impact on our stay (we had a coupon at a nearby cafe insted of the breakfast provided by the motel)


FYI: there is at least one gaz station in Independence. From Independence you are 1h30-2h away from Stovepipes in the DV

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laliace_tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Nice clean and comfortable room. Excellent breakfast and extremely friendly owner. I would recommend this to anyone - Even the princess with the pea in the bed!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pooh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We saw this on our way to Tahoe, and said "Let's stay there on our way back!" The whole inn was recently renovated, and the proprietor is a very friendly, fascinating, and conscientious person. We loved the experience, and would look to stay here again on our travels.

Room Tip: It's not the Ritz--it's a good, old-fashioned hospitality place in a quaint town.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We had an enjoyable stay here. Clean rooms, reasonably priced, easy parking for our truck and trailer. The proprietor, Jim, was friendly and clearly loved his property. Will stay here again next year when we pass through.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sscavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We got a tip from another hiker about this Inn, and my friend and I were very happy with our stay here. Jim, the owner, is a friendly and accommodating guy. He went out of his way to make us feel welcome and helped us get everything we needed to get back on the trail. His breakfast of fresh bread and homemade coffeecake hit the spot! The rooms were compact and clean and inviting. I would happily direct through-hikers and others to stay here to recoup before hitting the trail or continuing their drive through the Sierras.

Room Tip: Get to breakfast early so you don't miss the yummy treats!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews