We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stopover on the road to Yosemite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Independence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Independence Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Independence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent stopover on the road to Yosemite”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Nice clean and comfortable room. Excellent breakfast and extremely friendly owner. I would recommend this to anyone - Even the princess with the pea in the bed!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pooh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
39
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
4 Corners
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We saw this on our way to Tahoe, and said "Let's stay there on our way back!" The whole inn was recently renovated, and the proprietor is a very friendly, fascinating, and conscientious person. We loved the experience, and would look to stay here again on our travels.

Room Tip: It's not the Ritz--it's a good, old-fashioned hospitality place in a quaint town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We had an enjoyable stay here. Clean rooms, reasonably priced, easy parking for our truck and trailer. The proprietor, Jim, was friendly and clearly loved his property. Will stay here again next year when we pass through.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sscavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We got a tip from another hiker about this Inn, and my friend and I were very happy with our stay here. Jim, the owner, is a friendly and accommodating guy. He went out of his way to make us feel welcome and helped us get everything we needed to get back on the trail. His breakfast of fresh bread and homemade coffeecake hit the spot! The rooms were compact and clean and inviting. I would happily direct through-hikers and others to stay here to recoup before hitting the trail or continuing their drive through the Sierras.

Room Tip: Get to breakfast early so you don't miss the yummy treats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
17.0 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
661 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
846 reviews
0.4 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
0.3 mi away
Independence Courthouse Motel
Independence Courthouse Motel
#3 of 3 in Independence
76 reviews
15.2 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Independence Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Inn Motel

Property: Independence Inn Motel
Address: 440 S Edwards St, Independence, CA 93526-1774
Location: United States > California > Independence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
best porch-best view, WiFi,TV, and breakfast ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing