We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean with nice touches for this part of the world”
Review of Ray's Den Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Independence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ray's Den Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I agree with the other reviewers about how clean this place is! Nice towels, comfortable beds and a chocolate on the side table. The owner was friendly and helpful. The price is what one pays in the summer in the Eastern Sierra.

Room Tip: Only 8 rooms. Don't think it makes a difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 127 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

After reading all these enthousiastic reviews, we were really looking forward to our stay here. It turned out to be a bit of a disappointment.
The owner was friendly and really nice to our children, the motel looks cute, the room was clean, but the beds were way to soft and soggy and the room was cramped and hot and the airconditioning made a lot of noise. All in all I think paying almost 100 dollars is very expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaskiaNLNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Sparkling clean, everything worked, free wifi worked perfectly.

Charming wooden armchairs and table outside the door, but we didn't sit in them because it was too hot outside. In the morning it was cool, but we were driving away.

Bed firmness: 7 on a scale of 1 to 10.

Pillow firmness: 3 on a scale of 1 to 10.

Bright lights over beds and between armchairs--nice! Not to be taken for granted.

Fridge unusually large for a motel room, 3 feet tall, froze our blue ice--nice! Not to be taken for granted.

Noise: at bedtime, we turned off the power strip into which the air conditioner, microwave, and fridge were plugged in, to turn off the noise of the air conditioner and fridge, and the bright-light display ("0") of the microwave, and sleep better. On Friday night, we could hear trucks rumble by on 395, but not too late into the night. I slept fine, even though when I was occasionally awake, I could hear air conditioners rumble in neighboring rooms, as well as road traffic, like white noise. My hearing is more sensitive than average.

BOOKS! A shelf-ful of books about the area, i.e., the Eastern Sierra, is available in the office. You can borrow them while staying there. What a great idea and what a fantastic service!!! I borrowed and read half of The Land of Little Rain by Mary Austin, who published it in 1903 and whose house in Independence still stands. I had long dreamed of staying in Independence and reading this book (and other Sierra books, by John Muir, etc.), and now I have! Reading about areas visited, before, during or after visiting, so-o-o enriches travel experiences.

For dinner we looked at Dugan's (interior surprisingly sparse and more modest than the exterior), Still Life Cafe (white tablecloths, stem wine glasses), and ate at Jenny's Cafe and enjoyed the local all-American color and flavor.

On Saturday we drove 30 min to the Onion Valley Campground and trailhead, then hiked the ~5 miles in 2 h 55 min, past several gorgeous lakes, to Kearsarge Pass (~11.823 ft). From there the view into Kings Canyon Nat'l Park is heavenly: green valley, six lakes, and the promise of more valleys, canyons, streams, and lakes. They film western movies out there! In 11 h 20 min and 18.5 miles of hiking that day, we saw 3 rabbits, 1 hare, 9 deer, 1 marmot, 1 woodpecker, and many golden mantle squirrels.

The Eastern Sierra Museum and Manzanar are both rich in info about the history of the area.

I would stay here again before or after hikes or backpack trips into the Sierra.

Room Tip: I'm glad I asked for a room away from the main road, to avoid traffic noise--even though the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Factual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for one night and was extremely impressed by Ray's Den. The room was absolutely spotless with a stack of immaculate towels in the excellent bathroom. The two beds were very comfortable with crisp, like new, bedding. My only observation was the external air con unit was attached, I believe, to the wooden building which made it a tad too noisy. Some light sleepers could find it intrusive, but as we come from England were air con is not needed, it takes time to adjust to the constant hum of the device.
Lynda was very friendly and welcoming which made our stay all the better.
One of the previous posters said "why stay in Independence" which suprised me as we found it a quaint little town that was obviously very proud of it's imacculate surrounds. We had a brilliant burger at Dugans which was a couple of small blocks away. All in all for the money, outstanding.

Room Tip: Try Dugans for a beer and a burger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancs4258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here on the way to Death Valley for the night.

The rooms were clean and comfy. I stayed there in July and the air conditioning works great there was free wifi. Kinda of expensive for the night at $84 but for the area i understand it. I would stay there again if i pass through.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobP388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This charming motel is clean as a whistle and as cozy as it can be! No matter the season, or the reason you might find yourself in Independence, you will sleep like a baby and wake up ready to take on the day. Always the perfect place to relax and unwind when road weary. Great fishing nearby and the Eastern Sierra Museum has GREAT exhibits. Both the owner, Linda, and the place itself are gems.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Death_Valley_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stopped here en route to Death Valley. Very modern inside even though it has the quiet charm on the outside of a 1950's Route 66 motel. Rooms had very comfortable beds, a clean and modern shower, fridge, and TV not to mention the comfy adirondack-type chairs outside each room where you can sit in the eveing and watch the sun go down. The owner, Linda, was very low-key, kind, and accommodating. They have lots of books in the office regarding the surrounding sights - books on the Eastern Sierra Museum, Death Valley, and Mt. Whitney.

We will definitely stay here again on our way through the Eastern Sierra!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingerpeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
17.5 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
712 reviews
15.9 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
893 reviews
0.2 mi away
Independence Courthouse Motel
Independence Courthouse Motel
#3 of 3 in Independence
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
0.1 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
52 reviews
16.1 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray's Den Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Den Motel

Address: 405 North Edwards, Independence, CA 93526
Location: United States > California > Independence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ray`s Den Hotel Independence
Rays Den Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing