We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Muntele Rece
Ranked #3 of 89 Bran B&B and Inns
Aviano, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We spent two nights in Bran at Muntele Rece and had a wonderful time. The property is nicely furnished and well-kept. We'd definitely stay here again if we ever return to Bran.

Breakfast was delicious with meats, cheeses, eggs, bacon, breads and jams along with coffee and juice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilitaryMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    20
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
22
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

In our way from Brasov to Bucharest, we decided to spend 1 day in Bran, looking for a quiet, traditional, beautiful pension. We found at Muntele Rece the perfect retreat, warm people, beautiful designs, quality food and wonderful scenery. The bed & breakfast is located about 1 km from the center of Bran, off the beaten path, in a quiet side road full of other beautiful houses. It s just a short walk to Bran through safe surroundings. Muntele rece is a family run business, hence your hosts will make you feel just like home. The courtyard houses enough parking spaces. The house itself is rather big and accommodates several rooms, a restaurant, a conference room. Everything is built in traditional rustic style, and all endowments are high quality. We particularly liked the soft cotton drapes, linens. Pillow cushions, as well as the traditional, colorful rugs. Also great taste in the chosen wood furniture. Moreover, the rooms facing the mountains (and the back deck of the house) provide a terrace and an amazing view. All in all, the quality of the rooms is high end. The big advantage for this place is having its private restaurant, which allows you to stay late, inside or outside on the deck, enjoying the very warm feeling of the house. We truly feel that a longer stay at Muntele Rece is a true battery charger given the friendliness of the hosts, the beautiful views all around and the quality of the property itself.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains and the back courtyard offer amazing views and you get your own terrace !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eliza_Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent five wonderful days in the great ambiance of this pension, enjoying excellent comfort and exquisite gastronomy and the beautiful view on the Bucegi mountains. This location, surrounded by pictorial orchards, is situated in the middle of a landscape of breathtaking beauty, close to many points of touristic interest like the famous Dracula castle, the bears natural reservation from Zarnesti, the fortress of Rasnov and plenty of hiking paths and relaxing options in the mountains. Wooden artfully carved furniture, traditional carpets and finely embroided curtains in an authentic romanian style decorate the whole interior of the house, making your accomodation to something special. We had both a luxurious suite with a big balcony, very spatious, comfortable and artfully decorated, and a double room with a big bed and eye catching rustic decorations.
The personnel was very friendly, the rooms were spotlessly clean, the evenings entertaining and in familiar atmosphere, so we felt like home.
We thank for the wonderful vacation and we will be coming for sure again with much pleasure!

Room Tip: The suite is just gorgeous! Very suitable for a honey moon or staying during a wedding. The whole ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ilinca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The quality of service received while staying at Pension Muntele Rece during our 2 weeks of travelling in Romania made all the other hotels pale by comparison. We were sorry, that because of our schedule, we could only stay and enjoy one night. The premises are superbly maintained and everything is in as new condition. The rooms are spacious and decorated tastefully with new looking furniture designed in the traditional Romanian style. Our room had a magnificent view of the snow-capped Bucegi Mountains, with the sun reflecting off them in the afternoon. We were able to park our car in the hotel's parking lot and walk to see Bran Castle. Upon our return, we were able to have a tasty Romanian style dinner at the hotel's restaurant. Internet access was free, worked flawlessly and was accessible in our room.There was a choice breakfast available for us to enjoy in the morning. We extend our compliments to Muntele Rece and its Proprietor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank askme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed last weekend in Muntele Rece. I was longing for this since I left it one year ago. Beside the excellent service and the friendly personnel we had the pleasant surprise of a concert organized by the owner. It was magic! The pension has an excellent architecture and traditional Romanian furniture. The wooden decoration of the pension in an classic-modern offers balance and serenity to the whole atmosphere. It is perfect for relaxation and recreational activities. If you want to spend time and find a space for open discussions with your friends or your family - this is the perfect place. It is as if the pension invites you to it. The kitchen was great each time, the rooms were impeccable clean. The large and well organized conference room can assure the premises for a successful training. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergiu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent an excellent time in Pension Muntele Rece, the personnel was professional and extremely warn. The chef offered us a great variety of specific plates, exquisite and full of local flavour, and the aritistic programm very well chosen.
We felt like in a new family, and we intend to come back every year.

Room Tip: the rooms with view to the inner garden are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank liliana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The pension Muntele Rece is an oasis of quietude and beauty in a generally crowded environment, especially during summer time. Decorated in authentic and elevated Romanian style, with original furniture, carpets and towels, all the rooms are comfortable and open to the splendid view of Bucegi Mountains. Everything is functional and clean and the services are irreproachable. The lobby, the dining rooms (inside or on the terrace) are hospitable and a large conference room can occasion professional or friendly meetings. I spent lovely musical hours in this room and the owners are always next to visitors. Last but not least the chef provide to guests the best local or international table. I recommend a visit to pension Muntele Rece to all families, couples, friends or businessmen who intend to have a beautiful and quite period dedicated to trips in the mountains, to visit the imposing castles of Rasnov and Bran, to business meetings or just to have a quite rest in a fresh environment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Cristian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bran
0.9 mi away
Pensiunea Ana
Pensiunea Ana
#1 of 7 in Bran
76 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Hillden Lodge & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Hotel Transylvania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Popasul Reginei
Popasul Reginei
#7 of 7 in Bran
10 reviews
0.7 mi away
Club Vila Bran
Club Vila Bran
#2 of 7 in Bran
182 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel International Sinaia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Muntele Rece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Muntele Rece

Property: Pension Muntele Rece
Address: (Church) Street Bisericii 5 | Predelut, Bran 507026, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Bran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Bran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Muntele Rece 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muntele Rece Pension is located in the heart of the historic Transylvania in an extremely characteristic, quite and lively area within short distance to all sites and is surrounded by the extraordinary beauty of churches, buildings, Bran Castle and monuments. On entering this charming pension in Bran, you will immediately sense its special intimate atmosphere that makes you feel like being in your own transylvanian home. Each detail has been passionately chosen. The rooms of Cold Mountain( Muntele Rece) are extremely comfortable, equipped with warm and precious materials and personalized with authentic transylvanian expertly chosen one by one in the many markets of Transylvania.This passion for detail contributes to the intimate, tranquil atmosphere which transforms each room into a pleasant refuge,in a place where guests can relax after a day spent touring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Pension Muntele Rece reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing