We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is Okay for a Night or Two”
Review of Decebal Hotel

Decebal Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Decebal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bacau
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Renovated? Maybe 15 years ago. But the staff are very friendly, the non-smoking room was actually non-smoking, the rooms are small but clean and functional. TV is ancient with not one other language news channel unfortunately. Supper was very good; had the salmon steak and vegetable schnitzel (tofu in Bacau of all places).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emandernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Decebal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 33 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is renovated and i gladly discovered accommodating in here for some nights.
Rooms are spacious and very clean.
Hotel offers a premium restaurant with fresh and good plates every day.
Is located in the center of Bacau City and has panoramic view above the city and nice staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Demetrio-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel is well located with easy carpark.
it's an old building, When I enter in the bedroom, I feel like I was going to my grand-ma place in the 90's. but it was clean and the bed was of good quality.

The staff were nice. I asked for croissant and I get a industrial wrapped one with custard... There is some vivarium with snakes in the reception area which is impressiv.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NICOLAS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Been staying there for a short business trip,centrally located in Bacau,very close to all important places in town

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roby1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I've stayed here so many times in the past 20 years that i should receive some sort of a bonuscard :)) and i just checked it again. Always a pleasure!
My main reason is, as always, the top floor facing the south, for the panoramic view - you get half of the city plus the surrounding hills, simply beautiful ! The sunset in autumn is far right and is splendid but if you get up earlier dont miss the sunrise too!
The hotel is ultracentral located, in the middle of the city, well connected!
The rooms are clean, medium sized and very comfy, though somehow there is smth remembering the old communist attitude in the way they see accomodation, i dont know... They need a more modern approach, i guess, but all in one is a very good hotel.
I like their rooms because they have a nice office with free wi-fi wich is very practical if you travel on business, but make sure you ask for some extra electric wire so you can plug in.
Big clean bathrooms, keycard and poping-up cleaning ladies hahahaha (pls wait for the answer before open the door!!).
Not to forget the helpful reception - big thanx to all the staff!
I will so be back!

Room Tip: anything topfloor!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manuel_munteanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We spent six days, five nights traveling from Bucharest to Brasov to Sighisoara, Bucovina, and then back to Bucharest with a guide. Of all of the unique and wonderful places we stayed, this one was the least favorite.

It is a box hotel in the middle of Bacau and it is aging, not gracefully. The hotel reeks of smoke, the rooms are small, breakfast was terrible, though we had a nice dinner with a wonderful waitress serving us.

It would not have been one that I would have chosen but since we had to stop in Bacau, it was ok. We were returning from the Bucovina area to Bucharest and needed a midway point in which to stay. There has to be something better than this in Bacau.

Room Tip: Not sure that there is a good room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micheljane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We spent 4 nights here and it was a good experience. The rooms were ok, but a bit dated. The beds were good enough. I had an allergic reacrion to the bed linnen though. It was heavily perfumed and I got a rash up my arms. I'm normally not allergic to those kind of things.The towels were also heavily perfumed.
The hotel is very centrally located in the town centre, and you find lots of shops near by.
The food in the restaurant were tasty, but the breakfast was a bit on the cheap side.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mengha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bacau hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dumbrava
Hotel Dumbrava
#1 of 8 in Bacau
118 reviews
1.4 mi away
Helen Hotel Bacau
Helen Hotel Bacau
#2 of 8 in Bacau
62 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pension Rosarium
Pension Rosarium
#7 of 8 in Bacau
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
President Hotel Bacau
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bistrita
Hotel Bistrita
#6 of 8 in Bacau
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hamlet Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bacau
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decebal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decebal Hotel

Address: Bulevard Ionita Sandu Sturza 2, Bacau 600268, Romania
Location: Romania > Northeast Romania > Bacau County > Bacau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bacau
Price Range: $52 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Decebal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Cancelon, HRS and TripOnline SA so you can book your Decebal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing