We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good choice for Bacau” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dumbrava

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dumbrava
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bacau
Certificate of Excellence
Kastela, Croatia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good choice for Bacau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed for two night while visited Bacua for business. Hotel is newly renovated (a part). Very modern front desk area, polite employees, rooms are well equipped. Breakfast was very good. Location also perfect, next to the main boulevard road. If you are looking for dinner stay on the hotel terrace it is fantastic, we also had life music. Very good wifi connection.
I didn’t like the fact that all rooms and other hotel areas are very dark with closed windows and no fresh air (also breakfast area). Our room was dark and the air-condition was too noisy! The bathroom smell was very annoying, withdraw water in other rooms passes stink through our bathroom… there must be some technical problems. More light and solve the smell in bathroom and this hotel would be on a very high standard.

Room Tip: Don't take first floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goran_1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    41
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
10
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 5 days. the stay was comfortable, with complimentary high speed wi fi connection. The room requires power outlets near the table and bed. The hotel does not provide tea/coffee maker. The buffet breakfast is good with options for vegetarians. Parking is a problem at the hotel. All in all, the stay was OK.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsnagaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights during a business trip. The room was clean, however it is very dark and not so pleasat to stay in. The mattress was too soft for me and my back was aching when I woke up. The room is not fit for comuter working, there is no power inlet near the desk, so I have frequently worked on the bed. Checking out is handled the old way, and the bill is not ready in advance and is printed on a single page feed printer; The whole process took more than 10 minutes. Breakfast was excellent with a large selection of dairy products, vegetables, salads and pastry. Altogether it is and old fashioned hotel with a good service and good food

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dov F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've stayed 5 nights in this hotel and in the first night I found a dead bug in the wordrobe, but the worst was when, one morning at the breakfast I saw a bug on a cake :((. I've showed it to a lady from the staff and the only thing she did was to take the plate with the cookies, no apologies, nothing! So, I advise you to think twice before staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescia, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

Located in the Centre of the industrial Town of Bacau, this hotel is situated parallely to the main road. Its structure developes in horizontal direction, which may let it lokk smaller than what it actually is and which distinguishes it from other hotels nearby in similar category. But the quality of furnishing (newly renovated and in some rooms works are still running) and the quality of the service is definitely higher. Exquisite restaurant in unique atmosphere. Very helpful personnel, friendly and ready to give aany possible advise. English is normally well spoken. All main services available (minibar, WiFi,...). Derficits: they have no bar/lounge or common area and parking can sometimes be a problem, above all in case of late arrivals.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runningnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

The hotel is not so easy to be reached being located well behind the main buildings of one mainest boulevard of Bacau. In fact it is quite hidden beneath some other buildings like couple of banks and one state authority.
Even if the hotel went by a thoroughly renovation which apparently wasn't finished yet,  its main entrance and also the plate imprinted with its name - Dumbrava - still looks dusty and visibly outdated like coming from the communist era.
The amenities of the hotel are very modern having a touch of a minimalist design. Still the efforts of bringing back the hotel to our times didn't went further meaning that the look of the hotel is not accompanied unfortunately by some basic lodging characteristics. This means that the rooms from the fourth floor do not have enough water pressure and their ventilation is affected by the smell coming from the kitchen which is invading practically all the building including the restaurant. 
The bathroom is not equipped with hairdrayer even if the room is considered to be a four star one but more important its window do not have curtain so you're risking to take a shower in front of the neighbours.
All in all probably the hotel can be tried once but not more...
For my next visit to Bacau I will probably choose another accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cat_ioan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

I have stayed before in lots of hotels in Romania and twice in Bacau, in another place.
I have experienced the former communist hotels with just a superficial renovation and poorly trained personnel.
Well, hotel Dumbrava is nothing like this. Since entering, you feel that whoever manages it, really invested his time and efforts to make thing right.
I received a very nice room, with good quality furniture and tastefully decorated. Loved the glass wall (it was snowing, so the view was perfect).
Good diverse breakfast for Bacau. Otherwise, the restaurant is not excellent but good enough (fresh food, but basic courses).
The personnel was fantastic - these people go out of their way to make you feel confortable and to help you with whatever you need. Smiley, polite, welcoming, warm, everything you could possibly wish.
If I returned to Bacau, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alecsaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacau
1.3 mi away
Helen Hotel Bacau
Helen Hotel Bacau
#2 of 9 in Bacau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
President Hotel Bacau
0.2 mi away
Decebal Hotel
Decebal Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bacau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bistrita
Hotel Bistrita
#7 of 9 in Bacau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pension Rosarium
Pension Rosarium
#8 of 9 in Bacau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hotel Roman Plaza
Hotel Roman Plaza
#1 of 2 in Roman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dumbrava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dumbrava

Property: Hotel Dumbrava
Address: Strada Dumbrava Rosie 2, Bacau 600045, Romania
Location: Romania > Northeast Romania > Bacau County > Bacau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bacau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dumbrava 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Dumbrava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing